Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Quendil

Points value for a-wing

Recommended Posts

Say that I us a Prototype Pilot A-wing with Chardaan Refit

 

I suffer a Munitions failure.

Nex turn the A-wing is Killed

 

How many points will this give to the other player ? 15 or 17?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Say that I us a Prototype Pilot A-wing with Chardaan Refit

 

I suffer a Munitions failure.

Nex turn the A-wing is Killed

 

How many points will this give to the other player ? 15 or 17?

 

Chardaan Refit isn't a secondary weapon, so it isn't affected by Munitions Failure. Your opponent earns 15 points for killing your Prototype.

 

ETA: Actually, I'm not sure that's a complete answer. Other cards, when discarded, don't change the ship's point value--if you had Proton Rockets instead of Chardaan Refit, your opponent would still get 20 points rather than 17 when your Prototype was killed. So even if there were a way to force you to discard Chardaan Refit, it still wouldn't change the cost of the Prototype.

Edited by Vorpal Sword

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, even if there were currently any cards with negative squad point costs that could be discarded by any means other than destruction of their ships, the tournament rules spell out how to score discarded cards. Hint: it's the same way you score any other discarded cards.

Ships don't change their point cost during play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

...Chardaan Refit is not a weapon, even though it takes up a secondary weapon upgrade slot.

It doesn't take up a "secondary weapon upgrade slot". There is no such thing. It takes up a Torpedo Missile slot.

You determine whether an upgrade is a secondary weapon based on whether it has an "Attack:" effect on it. The icon (torpedo/bomb/etc.) doesn't actually matter.

Edited by Quarrel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

...Chardaan Refit is not a weapon, even though it takes up a secondary weapon upgrade slot.

It doesn't take up a "secondary weapon upgrade slot". There is no such thing. It takes up a Missile slot.

You determine whether an upgrade is a secondary weapon based on whether it has an "Attack:" effect on it. The icon (torpedo/bomb/etc.) doesn't actually matter.

 

Fixed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

...Chardaan Refit is not a weapon, even though it takes up a secondary weapon upgrade slot.

It doesn't take up a "secondary weapon upgrade slot". There is no such thing. It takes up a Torpedo slot.

You determine whether an upgrade is a secondary weapon based on whether it has an "Attack:" effect on it. The icon (torpedo/bomb/etc.) doesn't actually matter.

 

In context, Parravon is explaining exactly the same point you are: Chardaan Refit is not a secondary weapon, even though it lives in a slot normally devoted to secondary weapons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you, VP. That's exactly what I meant. Man, some dudes take things too literally round here some days.

 

Taking things literally is how you answer this question, though. The rulebook says what a "secondary weapon" is. If you go by that instead of "anything with a missile, torpedo, cannon, or turret icon", you won't be one of those people who have to run to the FAQ to see if Hot Shot Blaster or Bomb Loadout is a weapon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The original question was whether or not a discarded card changes the initial point value of the ship. And that's what I addressed, without going into too much detail, which I've found can be somewhat confusing to newer players.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...