Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
jomayo112

Twin Shadows: Has anyone played??

Recommended Posts

Firstly: thank you, I love you.

 

Some of my thoughts (if anyone cares):

Saska looks fun and useful (though probably worse than Gideon the majority of the time). Gadgeteer seems essential.

My initial impression of Biv was much less favourable. He has poor mobility and poor multi target damage. If you upgrade him he can probably kill a regular royal guard with one activation (which is good) but other than that his contribution seems minimal. Into the fray makes him obscenely tanky though.

 

I love the flavour of chance cubes but they give expected 17ish credits (2/6*150-4/6*50) which is garbage.

 

The hunting rifle seems amazing, you'll seldom get the focus but it's a cheap long range gun that can weaken a target. The carbine is also good , it has slightly worse range than the a280 (i.e. enough) but noticeably more damage.

 

Leadership seems very weak early but very strong late. Field general + Lead by example is nuts.

 

I'm not sure I'd want to do the mini campaign unless I could do it in one session or over a weekend.

 

Edit: The other thing is both of these heroes are extremely based around their basic abilities.

 

Biv makes me think of a close-range tankier Mak, with close and personal I think he could take out a big target each turn. His strength seems to be more in dealing with single big threats as opposed to several smaller ones.

 

Hunting rifle looks like a great option for any support hero that doesn't need to be on the frontlines. Jyn could use it to weaken a target with her quick shot ability right before they get to take their turn, Gideon/Saska can use it whenever they have an action to spare to weaken or pick off a far away near dead target and maybe get a focus for a stronger shot next turn.

 

That's funny about inspiring leadership, cause I think quite the opposite. In my opinion the stronger cards are early on and the later cards are weaker per value. Supervisory agent is pretty much 2 free threat each mission for only 1 EXP. Press on is a free (but weak) heal each round for 1 exp. Compare it to technical support which requires nearby droids or military might's heal that costs threat. Strategic planning allows a near dead deployment group to still be useful. Got a deployment card with just a single stormtrooper? Sacrifice his turn to have an e-web, or something go again. Even better if you can get that stormtrooper off to a safe distance and hidden away... thats pretty much 2 activations for a deployment group per turn (of course if their deployment is low enough.) Noble sacrifice seems good to me, 5 focus can really change the tide of battle. And optimal tactics seems the better 4 exp choice to me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you so much for the preview images!!!  I pre-ordered the expansion 2+ months ago when it was "On the boat" initially but have no idea when my game store will get the copy. I have a ton of work to do for my heavily customized campaign that requires Twin Shadows in order to start, seeing the card stats allows me to do quite a bit of prep while I wait for the tile pieces to come in!....

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This expansion has the best tile in the game:

 

pic2617215_lg.png

 

On one side it's the Cantina, on the other it's the bridge of a Star Destroyer!

 

Here's all the components laid out:

 

pic2617216_lg.jpg

 

The mini campaign is great. It's only 4 missions, plays in under 10 hours (can be done in one long session or broken out), and it *very* Star Wars. Won't spoil much, but the very first mission is in the Cantina and you aid Han Solo. It's perfectly dripping with theme. The figures are great, Sandpeople and really Sandtroopers (they have the backpacks and DLT-19s, they're just missing the shoulder pauldrons). 

 

It's just a great expansion all around.

 

-shnar

Edited by shnar

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh I see. Thought there was a mix of thoughts. Reading it again I see how you were saying that. Imaginary pause after "and" and it makes sense :D

I can't wait to get my hands on this and all the expansions. Gotta have my Fett Fix.

 

You think we could get photos of all the tiles and both their sides?

Edited by kowagaru

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How does integrating Twin Shadows into a full campaign work, exactly?

 

I believe the missions are added as side missions.  However, they can instead be played strung together as a mini-campaign.

Edited by Muz333

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

How does integrating Twin Shadows into a full campaign work, exactly?

 

I believe the missions are added as side missions.  However, they can instead be played strung together as a mini-campaign.

 

 

Yeah, I knew that much; I was asking for details. :P  Like, do you decide up front you're using Twin Shadows instead of the normal sidequest progression, in which case the IP pulls all side/forced missions out of their agenda deck as when playing Twin Shadows by itself?  Or do you set up the side mission deck normally, and choose whether to play one of the ones from the deck or advance in Twin Shadows each time you pick a side mission?  Or do you just shuffle the Twin Shadows missions into the side deck, and probably end up playing them out of order?

Edited by The Gas

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

None of the tiles in the Core Set are interior?

 

 

No, it's just a case of those were already specified in the Core Rulebook.

 

 

Some spaces are considered interior spaces and are affected by some mission rules or keywords such as Massive. Interior spaces form the following tiles: 19A–36A and 19B–36B.

  • During a campaign, figures with the Massive keyword cannot enter interior spaces.
  • Any space that is not an interior space is an exterior space.
  • All spaces on tiles 38A, 39A, 38B and 39B are exterior spaces.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

None of the tiles in the Core Set are interior?

 

 

No, it's just a case of those were already specified in the Core Rulebook.

 

 

Some spaces are considered interior spaces and are affected by some mission rules or keywords such as Massive. Interior spaces form the following tiles: 19A–36A and 19B–36B.

  • During a campaign, figures with the Massive keyword cannot enter interior spaces.
  • Any space that is not an interior space is an exterior space.
  • All spaces on tiles 38A, 39A, 38B and 39B are exterior spaces.

 

 

Ah, whereas forest and desert are new classifications, gotcha.  Still, they could have listed them all their there for convenience.  Reminds me of Zombicide - the rules in the latest sets don't tell you where on the table zombies from the older sets fall, it's a right pain when you're playing with them all mixed together.

Edited by mazz0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

How does integrating Twin Shadows into a full campaign work, exactly?

 

I believe the missions are added as side missions.  However, they can instead be played strung together as a mini-campaign.

 

 

Yeah, I knew that much; I was asking for details. :P  Like, do you decide up front you're using Twin Shadows instead of the normal sidequest progression, in which case the IP pulls all side/forced missions out of their agenda deck as when playing Twin Shadows by itself?  Or do you set up the side mission deck normally, and choose whether to play one of the ones from the deck or advance in Twin Shadows each time you pick a side mission?  Or do you just shuffle the Twin Shadows missions into the side deck, and probably end up playing them out of order?

 

 

It depends on the color of the side missions, I'm assuming all (except the hero missions) that come with Twin Shadows are grey. For grey side missions, you put them all in a pile, shuffle them, and then draw 4. The rebels then pick 4 green missions and the 4 red missions are dependent on which heroes are chosen.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are 6 new missions, listed in order of the mini campaign:

 

1 - Hunted Down : Green Side Mission, time period 2-4, Han Solo as reward

2a - Past Life Enemies : Red Side Mission for Biv Bodhrik's 

2b - Shady Dealings : Red Side Mission for Saska Teft

3 - Canyon Run : Gray Side Mission

4a - Fire In The Sky : Agenda mission (Pursuit of the Enemy set), time period 1-5, Bounty reward card

4b - Infiltrated : Agenda mission (The Empire's Reach set), Surveillance Operatives reward card

 

the "a" missions are if the Rebels win the previous mission, "b" for imps. They are separate missions though, so are represented outside the mini campaigns as side missions. Missions 4a and 4b use the same map layout, just different details. 

 

So basically, if you're playing the mini campaign, those are the 4 missions you'll end up playing. If you're playing a regular campaign, depending on the time period, you can include those missions while building your Agenda deck, and for the Rebels while they're building their Side Mission deck. 1 gray, 2 reds (only if you're including those heroes), and 1 green.

 

-shnar

Edited by shnar

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And how does epilogue work like? If I understand the rulebook text, depending on the objective of the missions there are two different epilogues for each mission. Are they like additional encounter (on same map or different?) which require you to play some more (and this is only in mini campaign)? If so, do they give different feel to the mission than if the mission was played as side mission in original cmpg?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How many deployment cards do we get for the Heavy Troopers? Is it only one regular and one elite or can you deploy both groups as the same level?

 

1 regular card and 1 elite card obviously. Why would it be any different?

Edited by patrickmahan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

How many deployment cards do we get for the Heavy Troopers? Is it only one regular and one elite or can you deploy both groups as the same level?

 

1 regular card and 1 elite card obviously. Why would it be any different?

 

 

Because in Skirmish you could have 2 regular or 2 elite squads with the provided figures.

 

Now was your answer based on what's actually in the box, or how you think it'll "obviously" be?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

How many deployment cards do we get for the Heavy Troopers? Is it only one regular and one elite or can you deploy both groups as the same level?

 

1 regular card and 1 elite card obviously. Why would it be any different?

 

 

Because in Skirmish you could have 2 regular or 2 elite squads with the provided figures.

 

Now was your answer based on what's actually in the box, or how you think it'll "obviously" be?

 

I imagine it is based on the precedent set by the base game in which you don't get deployment cards for more than one way of using all the available figures. So not certain but very very likely.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

How many deployment cards do we get for the Heavy Troopers? Is it only one regular and one elite or can you deploy both groups as the same level?

 

1 regular card and 1 elite card obviously. Why would it be any different?

 

 

Because in Skirmish you could have 2 regular or 2 elite squads with the provided figures.

 

Now was your answer based on what's actually in the box, or how you think it'll "obviously" be?

 

 

Look at the picture again, theres only 3 imperial cards. 1 for regular heavy stormtrooper, 1 for elite heavy stormtrooper, and 1 for Kayn Somos.

Edited by patrickmahan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

How many deployment cards do we get for the Heavy Troopers? Is it only one regular and one elite or can you deploy both groups as the same level?

 

1 regular card and 1 elite card obviously. Why would it be any different?

 

 

Because in Skirmish you could have 2 regular or 2 elite squads with the provided figures.

 

Now was your answer based on what's actually in the box, or how you think it'll "obviously" be?

 

 

Look at the picture again, theres only 3 imperial cards. 1 for regular heavy stormtrooper, 1 for elite heavy stormtrooper, and 1 for Kayn Somos.

 

 

I see, same for the Tusken Raiders. 

 

Siiiighh

 

I mean I knew they would do it again, but I'm still super disappointed.

 

FFG, if you're reading this, this is bollocks. Absolute, utter bollocks. Why do you do this to us? I wish I had the writing skills to write a long open letter as to why this is NOT OK.

 

I love FFG, they're like 9/10 stars company to me. Could be 10/10 but this, everytime! Netrunner (and every other LCG): buy 3 Cores because of a few single cards, Armada: missing 1 blue dice, IA: buy 4 Cores to get enough regular Royal Guards and now same for this expansion.

 

Could've just included that 1 card and all this frustrations would've been averted.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...