Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
orangesmurf321

Dodonna's Pride order of resolution?

Recommended Posts

Hey all so me and a friend are wondering how the "order of activation" works for resolving.  

 

So i have Dodonna's Pride and roll a crit to resolve the effect.  would he have the chance to evade the crit die so i cant use it or would i have the chance to resolve my crit effect  first?

 

Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
From the First Page of the FAQ, as well as Rules Reference: Attack (page 2).
 
Note that Evade takes effect BEFORE Criticals, so yes, you can Evade that Crit away...  However, Evade, and the Defense Tokens only take place AFTER you have utilised your Accuracy...  So you can Accuracy the Evade Token away before he can Evade the Crit Die away...
 
 
 

Attack Timing

1. Declare & check target (see Targeting). 

 

2. Attacker rolls all applicable dice for the current range to target (see Attack Dice).

 

3. Attacker modifies dice by turning and/or re-rolling as applicable to their abilities  (see Attack Dice). For each accuracy icon rolled the attacker chooses one of the defender's defense tokens; those tokens cannot be used during this attack. Note this applies when attacking squadrons as well as ships.

 

4. The defender may assign any number of their defense tokens (except those targeted by accuracy icons as described in step 3), but only 1 of each type can be used per attack.

 

Note that Evade is resolved immediately, but Brace and Redirect are resolved during the damage dealing step (step 5 below). Also note that Brace halves the damage total, it does not modify any of the dice.

 

5a. If the attacker and defender are both ships (or a squadron with Bomber is attacking a ship) and there are one or more crit icons remaining in attack dice results, the attacker may resolve ONE critical effect (see Critical Hits).

 

5b. The defender suffers damage equal to the total number hit icons. If the attacker and defender are both ships (or a squadron with Bomber is attacking a ship), the damage total also includes ALL crit icons. 

 

6. If the attacker is a ship and the defender is a squadron, the attacker may choose another enemy squadron to shoot that is in the same firing arc and that has not already been targeted during this attack.

Edited by Drasnighta

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I read the Dondonna's Pride card as a card effect.. In the Attack Phase step 3 - Modify Dice - The attacker can resolve any effects that modify the dice. This include card effects etc.. Isnt cancelling all the dice for a single face up damage card modifying the dice? If I roll a crit and two hits and elect to cancel all dice to get the crit isn't that modifying the dice?

regards

DCG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I read the Dondonna's Pride card as a card effect.. In the Attack Phase step 3 - Modify Dice - The attacker can resolve any effects that modify the dice. This include card effects etc.. Isnt cancelling all the dice for a single face up damage card modifying the dice? If I roll a crit and two hits and elect to cancel all dice to get the crit isn't that modifying the dice?

regards

DCG

Not quite.  the bolded BLUE [critical symbol] denotes that the card text is a critical effect, which can only be triggered from [critical hits] on blue dice.

 

Since all that canceling of dice and the face-up damage card are part of that blue critical effect, they will occur during step 5 of the attack sequence, which is immediately after spending defense tokens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for throwing that topic, it made me reread the "Attack" in the RRG book and I just realized something that just made the Dodonna's Pride much more interesting than I thought !

 

If we look at the resolution steps of the attack phase, we have :

1) Gather the attack pool

2) Roll the dice

3) Resolve attack effects (using accuracies and dice modification)

4) Defender can utilize defense tokens

5a) Attacker can resolve critical effects

5b) Calculate total damage

 

So that means that I can choose to trigger the Dodonna's Pride Critical Effect after the defender has chosen to spend or to not spend his defense tokens ? Let's imagine I target a Victory Class and roll 1 accuracy, 1 crit and 1 damage from the front arc of the Dodonna's Pride. I choose to negate the Brace Defense token. 

Now, the opponent can choose to use his redirect token (and it is now spent). I can then say : "Well, too bad, I'm going to use Dodonna's ability and get you a damage card face up !".

 

The Defender has now one spent redirect token and one face up damage card. And if he decides to not use his redirect token, I can still inflict 2 damages on the hull zone that I've targeted rather than use the critical effect for the Pride. So more options !

Am I reading this correctly ? This definitely sounds a lot more amazing than what I previously thought of the Pride !

Edited by MoffZen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the confirmation Lyraeus :) I'm loving how this little bugger can be a massive nuisance to an opponent, obviously more in a support role but still an interesting role :) Actually, I'm loving the fact that the more I learn about the game, the more I feel the Empire is about raw power and sustainability while Rebels are all about fun tricks :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...