Sign in to follow this  
PhilMetalJacket

Finally played the one trick I've been waiting to for so long

So, tonight, I started a new game of Edge of the Empire with all first-time players. I'd managed to secure 3 RPG-experienced players a while ago with a total novice to RPGs as a 4th. The plan, the three experienced guys formed the core of the crew. They arrive at a space station run by a minor Hutt crime lord, so that they can recruit a new crewmember. They take a table at a dive bar to wait for their contact, a Rodian lawyer who found this new guy. 

Here's the part I've been waiting to use: The lawyer slides a datapad in front of the new guy, a surprisingly bloodthirsty Gank assassin as it happens, and explains that it's his contract. To teach him rolling tests, I got this guy to test Education to see if he could find any clauses or things that would be bad for him. He failed, so as far as he knew, there was nothing hidden in the dense legalese of the document. He signed. I then, as the lawyer, congratulated him for taking on the post of Captain for this crew's ship, The Perfect Patsy. I went on to explain that, as Captain, he would be legally responsible and accountable for all the activities of the ship and its crew. The experienced guys were in on it, but the new guy was as surprised as I hoped. I dropped enough clues about the contract that he knew something was up, but not that he'd be captain. And a scapegoat. He said, "I'm going to insist that you guys call me 'Captain.'" I was ready for this, though. "Actually, it says in the contract that they don't. Very specifically."