Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
GameCafe

Overlapping

Recommended Posts

And to add to the confusion…

Effects that measure to a ship (not a hull zone), DO include the plastic frame, but NOT the dials.

Do you have the rulebook citation for this last one? I believe you, but I have the feeling that it'll come up sooner or later.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My Ballpark Guess:



Pg 10.

SHIP

"A ship consists of a ship base, a ship model, a ship token, and a ship card."

 

 

Modified by 2 dot points below:

 

 

* "Some plastic ship models extend beyond the plastic base.  For this reason, the plastic ship model does not affect range measurement, firing arc, movement, overlapping, or any other game mechanic."

Edited by Drasnighta

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only reason you measure to the cardboard for an attack is because of the definition of Hull Zone. For an effect like Liea you measure to the ship itself and follow these rules:

RRG pg. 7

MEASURING FIRING ARC AND RANGE

• When measuring non-attack range or distance between

two components, measure from the closest point of

the first component to the closest point of the second

component.

• When measuring firing arc, range, or distance, ignore

squadrons’ activation sliders and ships’ shield dials and

the plastic portions of the base that frame the shield dial.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only reason you measure to the cardboard for an attack is because of the definition of Hull Zone. For an effect like Liea you measure to the ship itself and follow these rules:

RRG pg. 7

MEASURING FIRING ARC AND RANGE

• When measuring non-attack range or distance between

two components, measure from the closest point of

the first component to the closest point of the second

component.

• When measuring firing arc, range, or distance, ignore

squadrons’ activation sliders and ships’ shield dials and

the plastic portions of the base that frame the shield dial.

Excellent, thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(First of all, a comprehensive overlapping thread is needed, to be linked to the [unofficial] rules guide thread.)

How 'bout this situation:

post-254850-0-85883800-1438446313_thumb.jpg

Round 4 after Neb moved. Speed 1 on both. Both overlapping the station (shield dial counts for the Neb). We played it this way:

VSD activates. Can't shoot, because it has "Disengaged Fire Control" (can't choose target if attack would be obstructed). Moves at speed 1, overlapping the Neb; temporarily reduces speed to 0; executes a speed 0 "maneuver;" gives face-down damage card to each; removes one damage card (Disengaged Fire Control).

Round 5

Neb activates. Shoots, does damage. VSD at 2/10 hull (motti). Neb moves, crashes, damage to each, removes 1. Neb ends activation at 3/5 hull; VSD at 1/10.

VSD activates. Shoots, does damage with critical. Card is "Structural Damage" (extra damage). Neb at 1/5 hull; VSD at 1/10. VSD tries to move, crashes, both die.

Is that right? Damage is given for overlapping before the Station effect kicks in?

Edited by lpfankabe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...