Jump to content
DWRR

Do you have questions about attacking, defense tokens and critical hits? READ THIS FIRST

Recommended Posts

So the Net effect in the end is:

If the Ship has No Shields on that Zone at the Start of the Attack: One Face up from the APT Crit effect, Two Face Down from 2 Damage Points.

If the Ship has One Shield on that Zone at the start of the Attack: Once Face Up from the APT Crit effect, One Face Down Card, and the Shield Removed.

If the Ship has 2+ shields on that Zone at the start of the attack:  One Face Up card from the Crit effect, and the Shields Depleted by 2 Points.

 

 

 

 

 

So no matter how many shields a ship has. APT will deal a face up card if I read this correct.  With a roll of a Crit.  That is not how I was playing it but this is cool. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In one of the (many) discussions about Flotillas, someone mentioned a defense token interaction that seemed incorrect to me.  They said that if one attacks a flotilla with an EVADE and a SCATTER and in their attack dice they receive one accuracy, the defender could still SCATTER.  EG: A Gozanti gets hit for 5 hits showing and one accuracy at long range.  The attacker chooses to use the accuracy against the SCATTER token.  The defender then chooses to EVADE the accuracy, allowing them to use the SCATTER and avoid the damage all together.  Is this correct?  It seems wrong that you would be able to do this, but the definition of EVADE does say that you may cancel "one attack die" not "one damage die" or "die face that is showing damage."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks!  So the only time you could conceivably use an Evade to dodge an Accuracy would be if someone was using SW7's on you and Mon Mothma was your admiral.

 

Well, the only time you're using an Evade to Dodge an Accuracy is when that Accuracy is actually counting as a "hit".

 

So really, you're just dodging a Hit.

 

You can't concievably "dodge" an accuracy.  They will always have the option of Spending that Die for something useful to them, before you can do anything about it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

  1. Declare Target
  2. Roll Attack Dice (in this order):
    1. Attacker gathers certain dice to create his dice pool:
      • The battery armament dice printed on your ship card.
      • Dice granted by any upgrade cards that specifically increase your "battery armaments".
      • Upgrade cards that add dice to your attack without specifically saying they change your "battery armament" are not rolled here, but rolled during the modify dice step later on.
    2. Roll Attack Dice
  3. Resolve Attack Effects (in this order):
    1. Modify Dice:
      • Dice can be AddedRe-RolledChanged, and Spent in any order.
      • Any upgrade cards that Add dice to an attack do so during this step
      • Dice Added during this step are not restricted by range unless specified by the effect.
      • Spent dice are removed from your dice pool.
      • Dice can be Re-Rolled multiple times by different effects.
    2. Spend Accuracy Icons

 

 

 

 

As the new liberty article went up, I was interested in some jerky quad TL cannons in combo with veteran gunners. You know, gather dice, roll, add one red die with ACC to the pool if at least one ACC was rolled already, spent ACC, THEN reroll entire remaining pool. The idea came from the discussion about vet gunners a few weeks ago, https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/221332-breaking-news-veteran-gunners-retire-darth-vader/?hl=veteran+gunners

 

In this threat, it is stated that spending ACCs and adding/rerolling dice are part of the same step, and therefore interchangable. 

Now I was looking into the unofficial FAQ, were it explicitly states the opposite, as quoted above. Modify dices and spending ACCs are different steps (as per FAQ quote), and not interchangable.

 

Could somebody of the more elaborate rule-gurus take a look at this again?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is interchangeable. That self information is dated and many of us (read all of us) that it was not interchangeable. In the rules it's not a whole new step but an additional process in the modify step

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Could somebody of the more elaborate rule-gurus take a look at this again?

 

 

 

Yep, its straightforward.

The flowchart written here, that lists it as 1.  and 2. is wrong.

In the Rulebook, "Modify Dice" and "Spend Accuracy Icons" are both listed as unnumbered bullet points, rather than numbered.

 

This is because 'Spend' is a way of modifying dice, too - but its called out specifically as you're doing it as a basic rule rather than an upgrade card letting you do it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is certainly no order to the modify dice effects...

As far as the rules are concerned, Modifying Dice is any of these:

Add
Spend
Reroll
Set

 

Because they all happen at the same time - "The Modify Dice" Step, YOU, as the active player, choose their order...

 

This is imperitive to getting the most out of certain upgrades.

 

For example, even just fairly straightforward...  The Concentrate Fire Dial allows you to ADD a Die of a colour that is ALREADY in your Pool...

 

So you can Roll your initial attack.  Add, for example, a BLACK Die at Long range, (Because you're Defiance and you can add a die of any colour), which adds a Black Die to your Pool, so now you can add a second Black Die with Concentrate Fire, as you put one in your pool...  

Being able to choose the order of those effects are important - but it is also important to realise that there are some effects that are done when you do so.  Spending a Die is one of them.  That die is gone at that point, and if it was the only die of that colour, then that die is no longer in the pool.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is certainly no order to the modify dice effects...

As far as the rules are concerned, Modifying Dice is any of these:

Add

Spend

Reroll

Set

 

Because they all happen at the same time - "The Modify Dice" Step, YOU, as the active player, choose their order...

 

This is imperitive to getting the most out of certain upgrades.

 

For example, even just fairly straightforward...  The Concentrate Fire Dial allows you to ADD a Die of a colour that is ALREADY in your Pool...

 

So you can Roll your initial attack.  Add, for example, a BLACK Die at Long range, (Because you're Defiance and you can add a die of any colour), which adds a Black Die to your Pool, so now you can add a second Black Die with Concentrate Fire, as you put one in your pool...  

Being able to choose the order of those effects are important - but it is also important to realise that there are some effects that are done when you do so.  Spending a Die is one of them.  That die is gone at that point, and if it was the only die of that colour, then that die is no longer in the pool.

So, in this vein of logic, one cannot add a die with QLC, spend the acc, and THEN reroll that die since it has been spent. You either reroll it or spend the ACC. 

 

I sense a great change in the FAQ come Wave 4......

Edited by moodswing5537

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

There is certainly no order to the modify dice effects...

As far as the rules are concerned, Modifying Dice is any of these:

Add

Spend

Reroll

Set

 

Because they all happen at the same time - "The Modify Dice" Step, YOU, as the active player, choose their order...

 

This is imperitive to getting the most out of certain upgrades.

 

For example, even just fairly straightforward...  The Concentrate Fire Dial allows you to ADD a Die of a colour that is ALREADY in your Pool...

 

So you can Roll your initial attack.  Add, for example, a BLACK Die at Long range, (Because you're Defiance and you can add a die of any colour), which adds a Black Die to your Pool, so now you can add a second Black Die with Concentrate Fire, as you put one in your pool...  

Being able to choose the order of those effects are important - but it is also important to realise that there are some effects that are done when you do so.  Spending a Die is one of them.  That die is gone at that point, and if it was the only die of that colour, then that die is no longer in the pool.

So, in this vein of logic, one cannot add a die with QLC, spend the acc, and THEN reroll that die since it has been spent. You either reroll it or spend the ACC. 

 

I sense a great change in the FAQ come Wave 4......

 

 

Correct.  Once a Die is spent, its gone.  It can't be Rerolled...

But, it has been spent, and the effect of it being spent will go off...

So, say you roll your Four Dice and get Blank, Blank, Hit, Acc.

Quads will kick in, and your pool is now Blank, Blank, Hit, Acc, Acc.

You spend one acc to lock down the enemy;s Brace...  Your Pool is now Blank, Blank, Hit, Acc again.

You then Reroll THE LOT with Veteran Gunnery...  Hopefully rolling something better than Blank, Blank, Hit, Acc...

(At which point, if you roll any further ACCs, Quads will NOT kick in, as they've already done so this attack.....)

But it lets you reroll all 4 dice of your initial attack, AND still safely have a Brace locked down...  Whereas if you just rerolled all of the dice before spending, you're losing out on your ability to know a token is locked down - you will however increase your potential damage pool.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello,

 

I am a newbie and just learning the basic game so perhaps the answer to this question is obvious with the expanded rules in play but I am not there yet.  I am struggling to understand how an exhausted defense token can get to a point that it gets discarded as it appears that they are always "readied" again when you get to the "Status Phase" and rules say that you can only use one defense token per attack.  What am I missing here?   Would the scenario be that if you were attacked in the same round by more than two different ships, you would then have to decide when to spend the "readied" and exhausted" defense?  Thank you everyone in advance for your help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay so in the sat you state that to create the dice pool you gather the dice of the armament that is printed on the card. So based on this all dice on your card are part of the pool and dice that can't be used during the attack could be change as per something like dual turbolaser turret because you don't have a step that removes dice that are out of range. I'm pretty new to this game but this way of creating a dice pool seems wrong.

 

Also you don't have a stipulation if a evade tokens is used and an accuracy die to free up a different token. Is there a "back" button in this rule stack? So say you are taking 4 damage and it will destroy your ship because it has three hull and your brace was block but evade wasn't. Can you evade the accuracy then go back and use the brace to reduce the damage to 2?

 

I am only being this much of a stickler because this post is the first post seen on the forum for rules and should be perfectly thourogh 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
33 minutes ago, stridertv said:

Okay so in the sat you state that to create the dice pool you gather the dice of the armament that is printed on the card. So based on this all dice on your card are part of the pool and dice that can't be used during the attack could be change as per something like dual turbolaser turret because you don't have a step that removes dice that are out of range. I'm pretty new to this game but this way of creating a dice pool seems wrong.

 

Also you don't have a stipulation if a evade tokens is used and an accuracy die to free up a different token. Is there a "back" button in this rule stack? So say you are taking 4 damage and it will destroy your ship because it has three hull and your brace was block but evade wasn't. Can you evade the accuracy then go back and use the brace to reduce the damage to 2?

 

I am only being this much of a stickler because this post is the first post seen on the forum for rules and should be perfectly thourogh 

How do you evade an accuracy?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

rule reference off the website and in the starter pack

Evade : At long range, the defender cancels one attack die of its choice. At medium range, it chooses one attack die to be rerolled. At close range or distance 1, this token has no effect. 

how can you not cancel the attack die that has the accuracy icon on it?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, stridertv said:

how can you not cancel the attack die that has the accuracy icon on it?

You can, but generally it doesn't do you much good. Accuracy are spent (and removed from the attack pool) at Step 3 (Resolve Attack Effects) in order to prevent defense tokens from being spent. You evade at Step 4 (Spend Defense Tokens) when the accuracies have already been spent. You don't have an opportunity to discard the accuracy with your evade before its already locked your brace. The only time it would be helpful to evade an accuracy is if you're being shot at long range with a blue dice (Devastator, QBT, Disposible Capacitors, etc) by a ship equipped with SW7 Ion cannons which will cause the unspent blue dice accuracy to cause damage where it wouldn't normally.

Edited by Rikash
Clarification

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, Rikash said:

You can, but generally it doesn't do you much good. Accuracy are spent (and removed from the attack pool) at Step 3 (Resolve Attack Effects) in order to prevent defense tokens from being spent. You evade at Step 4 (Spend Defense Tokens) when the accuracies have already been spent. You don't have an opportunity to discard the accuracy with your evade before its already locked your brace. The only time it would be helpful to evade an accuracy is if you're being shot at long range with a blue dice (Devastator, QBT, Disposible Capacitors, etc) by a ship equipped with SW7 Ion cannons which will cause the unspent blue dice accuracy to cause damage where it wouldn't normally.

Thank you for explaining it. I get it now.  Can you clarify how the dice pool is formed? Do you only gather the dice off of the card for the range band you are shooting from? Or is it ALL dice from the card like the original post states? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, stridertv said:

Thank you for explaining it. I get it now.  Can you clarify how the dice pool is formed? Do you only gather the dice off of the card for the range band you are shooting from? Or is it ALL dice from the card like the original post states? 

You only gather dice of the range that is appropriate to the attack.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

2. Roll Attack Dice: Gather attack dice to form the attack pool and roll those dice. Gather only the dice that are appropriate for the range of the attack as indicated by the icons on the range ruler.

Emphasis mine. Got ninja'd by Dras but at least I have a reference. :P 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I see a lot of contradictions is this thread. Page one first entry stated

Resolve Damage (in this order):

  1. You may resolve a critical effect if at least 1 critical hit symbol is showing in your dice pool.
    • Resolve the effect in full before continuing.
    • Critical effects do not combine with your attack damage unless specified.
    • Because critical effects resolve at this point any damage caused by a critical effect cannot be moved or changed by a defense token effect unless directly specified by an effect.

Some critical effects might have delayed resolution, like the default critical effect, but they must all be declared at this stage, no matter when they will take effect.

 

If a Critical symbol is used to "Activate an effect" it doesn't add to damage (got it). a few pages later... by the same person. 

 

STEP 1 - Critical Effects

  • If you showing at least one critical hit on your dice you can choose one critical effect to resolve.
  • ACM is a critical effect. Overload Pulse is a critical effect. Flipping the first damage card is a critical effect.
  • They all require you to have at least one critical hit (sometime on a specific colourd dice) in your dice pool at this point in the attack.
  • You can only ever resolve one.
  • You choose to use Overload Pulse.
  • You don't remove the critical hit dice from you dice pool, you don't spend it. It stays there.
  • To resolve Overload Pulse your opponent flips all his fresh defense tokens over to exhausted. Any that were already exhausted stay that way.

STEP 2 - Calculate Damage

  • Now you calculate damage.
  • You look at your dice pool (2 hits and 1 crit) and add up all the hits and crits.
  • The total is 3.
  • Was the Brace defense token used? If yes then this total is reduced to 2 (half round up).

STEP 3 - Inflict Damage

  • If the Redirect defense token was used your opponent can choose to move hits to an adjacent hull zone with shields.
  • Lets assume redirect and brace wasn't used.
  • So you inflict 3 hits on the target hull zone.
  • shields are removed first and any remaining hits inflict damage cards.

Okay which is it? Does the Crit do damage and cause the effect or not. If yes then what is the effect crits do not combine with?  (Overload pulse says nothing about damage.)  what I think needs to be spelled out here is What does "Critical effects do not combine with your attack damage unless specified.mean? obviously it doesn't mean ignore damage deck results (The entire point of a Crit) , what effects are not being combined? Is there a FFG moderator or official person who can answer this?

Ro.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
45 minutes ago, Admiral Ro said:

I see a lot of contradictions is this thread. Page one first entry stated

Resolve Damage (in this order):

  1. You may resolve a critical effect if at least 1 critical hit symbol is showing in your dice pool.
    • Resolve the effect in full before continuing.
    • Critical effects do not combine with your attack damage unless specified.
    • Because critical effects resolve at this point any damage caused by a critical effect cannot be moved or changed by a defense token effect unless directly specified by an effect.

Some critical effects might have delayed resolution, like the default critical effect, but they must all be declared at this stage, no matter when they will take effect.

 

If a Critical symbol is used to "Activate an effect" it doesn't add to damage (got it). a few pages later... by the same person. 

 

STEP 1 - Critical Effects

  • If you showing at least one critical hit on your dice you can choose one critical effect to resolve.
  • ACM is a critical effect. Overload Pulse is a critical effect. Flipping the first damage card is a critical effect.
  • They all require you to have at least one critical hit (sometime on a specific colourd dice) in your dice pool at this point in the attack.
  • You can only ever resolve one.
  • You choose to use Overload Pulse.
  • You don't remove the critical hit dice from you dice pool, you don't spend it. It stays there.
  • To resolve Overload Pulse your opponent flips all his fresh defense tokens over to exhausted. Any that were already exhausted stay that way.

STEP 2 - Calculate Damage

  • Now you calculate damage.
  • You look at your dice pool (2 hits and 1 crit) and add up all the hits and crits.
  • The total is 3.
  • Was the Brace defense token used? If yes then this total is reduced to 2 (half round up).

STEP 3 - Inflict Damage

  • If the Redirect defense token was used your opponent can choose to move hits to an adjacent hull zone with shields.
  • Lets assume redirect and brace wasn't used.
  • So you inflict 3 hits on the target hull zone.
  • shields are removed first and any remaining hits inflict damage cards.

Okay which is it? Does the Crit do damage and cause the effect or not. If yes then what is the effect crits do not combine with?  (Overload pulse says nothing about damage.)  what I think needs to be spelled out here is What does "Critical effects do not combine with your attack damage unless specified.mean? obviously it doesn't mean ignore damage deck results (The entire point of a Crit) , what effects are not being combined? Is there a FFG moderator or official person who can answer this?

Ro.

Page one of this thread is from four years ago, when there was a lot of gray area or misinformation about the attack steps. A few things on page one are incorrect, so be wary. 

The Rules Reference guide actually tells us that the attacker does not spend a die icon to resolve a critical effect unless the effect says otherwise. If you didn't spend the critical die icon, then it's still in the attack pool, and it still causes damage. So if the critical effect is Heavy Ion Emplacements, for example, if you have a blue crit icon in your attack pool, and it's still there once you begin to resolve damage (after the spend defense tokens step), you can cause the Heavy Ion Emplacements critical effect and still cause damage with that same blue die. 

https://starwars-armada.fandom.com/wiki/Critical_Effects

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...