Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
JupiterExile

Timing on Mechadendrite Reactions

Recommended Posts

Mechadendrites with weapon profiles can be used to attack as a reaction - does this attack occur before or after the triggering action?  If I say 'attack any target that attacks me in melee', then does the mechadendrite attack occur before or after I receive the melee attack?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

EDIT: Sorry, I misunderstood the question. My real answer:

 

You seem to be able to use a Reaction, which can only be done during another person's turn. The advantage of this is they can not dodge or parry the attack, since its a reaction, and its their turn, so they can't use a reaction to react to a reaction. I hope that makes sense. So you would laser an enemy during their turn, and if you hit, it would be unavoidable (except by power shield).

 

Alternatively, you can assume that the writers meant to say that you can spend your reaction to make a standard attack with the mechadendrite as a free action during your turn. I feel this was their intention.

Edited by Utherix

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So can an attack made by a mechadendrite be evaded if the attack comes on the defenders turn?

 

(side note, I'm saying this because I absolutely hate how they've worded this part of the rules, its uselessly complex for so little gain)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So can an attack made by a mechadendrite be evaded if the attack comes on the defenders turn?

 

(side note, I'm saying this because I absolutely hate how they've worded this part of the rules, its uselessly complex for so little gain)

I answered your question in an edit to my response. In short, per RAW, no, they couldn't evade the shot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's an especially important question for melee mechadendrites when the enemy begins their turn further away from you.  When an enemy is closing in, it's pretty important to know who has the "right of way".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's an especially important question for melee mechadendrites when the enemy begins their turn further away from you.  When an enemy is closing in, it's pretty important to know who has the "right of way".

 

Are there any Reaction actions that do not interrupt or change the triggering action? e.g. both parry and dodge are (using DnD 4e terminology) Immediate Interrupts. Their effect occurs before the trigger effect, which may nullify the effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...