Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
piznit

Ten Numb ruling

Recommended Posts

Let's say Ten is attacking Boba at Range 1, cause that's what happened. If he rolled blank, 1 hit, 2 crits and Boba then rolls 2 evades, how does Ten's pilot ability effect that (if at all)? Do the evades simply cancel the hit and 1 crit, then 1 remaining crit lands, or does Ten's ability prevent the cancellation of that 1 crit evade?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The card explicitly says 1 crit because it knows you may roll more then one. The normal regular damage before hits still counts so in your scenario one hit and one crit are evaded. If you rolled 2 hits and 2 crits and the opponent rolled 2 evade, the two crits would get through.

Edited by Darth Emphatic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To answer the question directly:

The attacker has 1 Hit, 1 Crit that can be canceled, and 1 Crit that cannot

The Defender can cancel 2 damage, and cancels the Hit and the Crit that can be canceled.

 

Had the defender mitigated 3 damage, Ten's ability would have entered the equation, but it is satisfied by the mere presence of an uncanceled Crit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's say Ten is attacking Boba at Range 1, cause that's what happened. If he rolled blank, 1 hit, 2 crits and Boba then rolls 2 evades, how does Ten's pilot ability effect that (if at all)? Do the evades simply cancel the hit and 1 crit, then 1 remaining crit lands, or does Ten's ability prevent the cancellation of that 1 crit evade?

Ten's ability doesn't come into play unless the defender manages to roll enough evades to ordinarily cancel all (or more) <boom> and/or <kaboom> results. The best way to adjudicate this is when you roll attack dice for Ten and you manage to roll a <kaboom> result, slide it to one side as it can't be cancelled by evades, regardless of how many the defender rolls. The defender can only try and evade the remaining dice results. If you roll a <kaboom> result, it's going to get through.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

See, here is where I have the issue. Under normal circumstances, Boba would not have had enough dice to evade the critical to begin with. I had a similar situation crop up in a game today. Ten rolled 3 crits (mangler) my opponent rolled 2 evades. My question boils down to the defense dice. One crit would go through, no matter what because my opponent doesn't have enough defense dice to cover it. Then you move on to the red dice that could be cancelled. One of those crits would not be able to be cancelled by defense dice due to Ten's ability. The other would. Does that make sense? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I said above, Ten's ability doesn't come into play in this scenario. If Boba had a Stealth Device and rolled 3 evades, then Ten's ability would become a factor and a <kaboom> would be uncancelable, thus hitting and applying damage and stripping the Stealth Device as well. Even if you do try and apply Ten's ability to the 2-dice defence, one result still wasn't cancelled by dice, so the conditions were met anyway. The end result would be the same. Just because you are rolling two dice, doesn't mean Ten gets to negate one of them automatically if you roll two <kabooms>.

 

If you don't have enough defence dice to start with, it's not going to be an issue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One of those crits would not be able to be cancelled by defense dice due to Ten's ability.

You're starting off with setting 1 <crit> aside and saying that can't be blocked because there isn't enough dice, then saying 1 <crit> can't be evaded because of Ten's ability.

But it doesn't work like that.

You start by putting all the dice, both defense and attack in a pool. The first thing you would do is compare the number of <hit> results to the number of <evade> results. Each <evade> would cancel one <hit>. You also account for any special rules that might be in place. Then you compare the number of <crit> and any remaining <evade> results with each <evade> canceling one <crit>, also account for any special rules.

If at any point there are <hit> or <crit> results in excess of the <evade> results the target is hit and you figure out how much damage is done.

Ten's ability effectively tells you to set one <crit> aside because it can't be evaded and then go though the normal compare dice step.

Edited by VanorDM

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ten's ability is of limited use especially compared to the cost which is one of the reasons you almost never see him played.  If you can reliably get [kaboom] results he can reliably get something through any defense but if damage normally cuts through a target's defense it doesn't gain much.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ten wasn't too bad when first released and depending on the defender, he was good at sucking away evade tokens. Recent changes to evade results have probably led to less use for sure, but I'd be pretty sure anyone that bought a B-wing expansion has probably given him a go at least once or twice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...