Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Invictus5000

Ironbound's Automaton ability--limited by command cards?

Recommended Posts

Hey Battlelorians!

Just got my expansion packs at Origins this past weekend, and got a match in today finally! Really a fantastic set--so many more options now for army building.

We were confused, however, by the Automaton power. From the card:

"Automaton: During your order step, you may spend 1 lore to order this unit as if it were in any section. If you do, this unit may move 1 additional hex during your Move step."

So when I first read that, it seemed pretty straightforward. During orders, spend a lore to order an Ironbound, in addition to whatever was on the chosen command card. Fur instance, if I played a Patrol Right card, I could order two units on the right, and pay 1 lore to order an Ironbound in any section.

But, the rules clarification in the Hernfar Guardians insert added a little twist:

"...the unit with the Automaton ability counts toward the total number of ordered units as specified by the active player's command card."

That was a surprise. From the phrasing of the ability on the Ironbound card, I would not have suspected any conditions from the command card would apply at all.

So, based on the clarification, it seems like Automaton is simply removing the Left/Center/Right restriction on command cards--but the number remains. For instance, I could play a Patrol Right command card, and command one unit in the right column, and pay 1 lore to command an Ironbound in the center or left sections.

I guess this is clear enough more with the clarification--but if Automaton is linked to the command card in number--what if there is something that specifies unit type?

If, for instance, a command card like Onslaught or Cavalry Charge is played, can Ironbound be ordered using the Automaton ability? Or is it not allowed, since those command cards specify infantry and calvary units only?

My guess is that the answer is no, Ironbound cannot be ordered by non-battlefield command cards (unless their unit type is specified)--but it's not very clear, if that's what's intended.

Anyone encountered this yet? Thoughts?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was puzzled by this too originally, mostly because an earlier preview of the expansion hinted at Automaton like how you described... you pay lore to move the unit in addition to those ordered by your chosen command card. The ability is certainly watered down now, but it still gives you some flexibility when playing section-type command cards.

It doesn't apply to other command cards like Cavalry Charge that don't mention sections, but if you play a card that lets you move an Ironbound (like Battlelore if you rolled the right result) you can still pay 1 Lore to get the added movement.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I'd wondered if the initial idea of paying lore to power automata was potentially unbalancing, and FFG pared it back by restricting the number of troops the could be ordered on a turn. Activations limited only by lore have the potential to get out of hand quickly, especially if you're cranking out lore.

So nonetheless, the rules together make sense--but I wish they'd called

out specifically that the unit restrictions still applied when using non section cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

During the Here far testing, different wording were tried for Automaton, but no one was good enough to fit the space on the card. Hence the clarification in the rules. Also please note that the wording specifically calls out for the NUMBER of units ordered, hence the unit must still meet requirements of type

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...