Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Intys Rule

Expanded Launchers and Enhanced Armament

Recommended Posts

Expanded Launchers - "... front hull zone is increased by 2 black dice"

Enhanced Armament - "... left and right hull zones are increased by 1 red die"

 

Does this mean that these dice (2 black or 1 red) are added on the Roll Attack Dice step and rolled with whatever the default dice are or are these dice rolled on the Modify Dice step?

 

The reason I ask this is I recall reading somewhere that dice added on the Modify Dice step may be any color.... for instance, if I was attacking an enemy at long range, I could not roll black dice but if I had a card/ability that allowed me to roll black dice on the Modify Dice step, I could roll the black dice....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The reason I ask this is I recall reading somewhere that dice added on the Modify Dice step may be any color.... for instance, if I was attacking an enemy at long range, I could not roll black dice but if I had a card/ability that allowed me to roll black dice on the Modify Dice step, I could roll the black dice....

What you are thinking of is either Paragon for the Assault Frigate or Opening Salvo for the second player.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No we didn't.

My comment was reagrding the wording on the cards, which was correct. Effects that increase a battery armament add their dice before they are rolled. Effects that add dice are used during the modify died step...

Exactly what DL said...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would have to respectfully disagree with what seems to be the prevailing opinion in this thread.  To my understanding of the rules, they are rolled for in the modify dice step.  For the following reasons:

 

1) Both of these cards are the only upgrade cards that currently add to the dice pool, and both are the only ones with the "Modification" trait on them.  Modification being the key word here.

2) In the rules, especially under the Effect Use and Timing, there is no differentiation between the words "add" and "increase".

3) In the same section, very specific words are detailed that do change the timing of effect. They are "when", "while", "before", and "after".  The write up on these cards have none of those.

4) With that being said, the first bullet point applies, which states that any effect the modifies that attack dice takes place during the Resolve Attacks Effects step. (here is where I believe the Modification trait also points to, in addition to being a limiter on fleet builds)

5)  Finally, along this line of thought, then the first two Q&As under the Attacks section of the FAQ make sense.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When any upgrade cards says Modification is it just there because you are limited to one Modification upgrade per ship. See upgrade cards Rules Reference page 13. This has no bearing on the the modify dice attack step.

 

Modifying Dice (Rules Reference page 7) lists the different type of ways you can modify dice. Add is a keyword that is used. Increase is not.

 

Both of these cards increase the battery armament of the ships hull zone, see Armament page 2 rules reference.

 

When attacking in step 2 Roll Attack Dice you gather the attack dice indicated in the attacking hull zone's battery armament.

 

All of these leads to the conclusion that what everyone else has said is correct. These 2 modification cards directly increase the battery armament meaning they increase the initial dice rolled in the roll attack step and are not added during the modify dice step.

Edited by Gibbobobo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They are not rolled in the modify dice step because both upgrades specifically say they augment your battery armaments. Per the attack rules you form your initial dice pool based of the dice in your battery armaments (taking into account range). If these upgrades are adding to your battery armaments then how are they not being rolled with your initial attack pool?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After checking a few other threads I fully stand corrected. It was the wording in the FAQ that threw me for a loop regarding how these were handled. Thank you guys for helping me see the error of my ways :-)

Edited by Ollie124

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unless it specifically states anti-squadron armament, no.

 

Each hull zone has its own battery armament that it uses when attacking from that hull zone, so each ship has 4 hull zones.

However, each ship only has one anti-squadron armament that it uses regardless of which hull zone is attacking.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...