Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Jolly P

Adeptus Astra Telepathica: The Constant Threat

Recommended Posts

Does this stack for multiple characters?

 

e.g. Two characters with AAT Background are within 10m of one another. One triggers a Psychic Phenomenon. Can they both modify the result by their WPB (i.e. if they both have a WPB of 4, then they could modify the result by a total of 8 between them), or does only one instance apply?

 

If it stacks, then an all AAT team seems pretty tempting if you're going to meddle with Psykers in the group. 5 characters, average WPB of 3. That knocks the 25% chance of a Perils roll on the PP table down to a 10%...pretty sweet!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally I'd be fine with it stacking. This is one of these odd cases where the roll for Psychic Phenomena isn't actually a "check," so the normal rules for applying bonuses doesn't apply (heck, technically you can't even Fate point to reroll a Phenomena roll).

 

I'd say the downside to an all AAT (and presumably all psykers in order to make the most out of their collective bonuses) party would be a lack of flexibility in the actual skills they possess. At some point a group like this is going to hit a barrier they can't solve except with brute (psychic) force, and this is eventually going to build up against them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd say the downside to an all AAT (and presumably all psykers in order to make the most out of their collective bonuses) party would be a lack of flexibility in the actual skills they possess. At some point a group like this is going to hit a barrier they can't solve except with brute (psychic) force, and this is eventually going to build up against them.

 

The AAT Background gives a nice selection of generic Skills/Talents that most characters are going to want to pick up at some point anyway; Awareness, Deceive/Interrogation, Scrutiny and Weapon Training in two (if basic) groups is a solid basis for any given character, Psyker or otherwise.

 

Role plays a greater part in how your character develops anyway and there's nothing stopping you from purchasing the Psyker Elite Advance with starting XP instead of getting it "free" from the Mystic Role. As AAT, you'll still be Sanctioned and start at Psy 2. Psykers can be as diverse a group as any other.

 

If you do go down the All-Psyker route, then each character could specialise in one of the Disciplines, in theory granting the party swifter access to the higher echelons of each Discipline.

 

edit: thanks for the swift reply btw!

Edited by Jolly P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jolly P: No one in this all AAT group even has to be a psyker. That's the glory of DH2.

 

Heck, you could have 2 psykers, their untouchable handler, who they HATE, and two other roles (probably chiurgeon for one) all trained to worked together at an Inquisitor's behest by the Black Ships. Sounds fun to me!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jolly P: No one in this all AAT group even has to be a psyker. That's the glory of DH2.

 

Heck, you could have 2 psykers, their untouchable handler, who they HATE, and two other roles (probably chiurgeon for one) all trained to worked together at an Inquisitor's behest by the Black Ships. Sounds fun to me!

 

I actually conceived the idea for only one Psyker and his group of handlers, as it goes. I like the idea of at least one "handler" being a big, no-nonsense, burly type who's quite willing to slap his ward around a bit when he "dabbles with things he shouldn't be" too much. I imagine lots of "Oi! None of that!" and "That's quite enough of that laddie" in a broad Yorkshire accent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Jolly P: No one in this all AAT group even has to be a psyker. That's the glory of DH2.

 

Heck, you could have 2 psykers, their untouchable handler, who they HATE, and two other roles (probably chiurgeon for one) all trained to worked together at an Inquisitor's behest by the Black Ships. Sounds fun to me!

 

I actually conceived the idea for only one Psyker and his group of handlers, as it goes. I like the idea of at least one "handler" being a big, no-nonsense, burly type who's quite willing to slap his ward around a bit when he "dabbles with things he shouldn't be" too much. I imagine lots of "Oi! None of that!" and "That's quite enough of that laddie" in a broad Yorkshire accent.

 

 

I think if you're introducing really stereotypical accents into the game and asking this like "Now now, wots all this then!?" you're probably doing it right.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally I'd be fine with it stacking. This is one of these odd cases where the roll for Psychic Phenomena isn't actually a "check," so the normal rules for applying bonuses doesn't apply (heck, technically you can't even Fate point to reroll a Phenomena roll).

 

I'd say the downside to an all AAT (and presumably all psykers in order to make the most out of their collective bonuses) party would be a lack of flexibility in the actual skills they possess. At some point a group like this is going to hit a barrier they can't solve except with brute (psychic) force, and this is eventually going to build up against them.

I was under the impression that you are never allowed to re-roll those charts, unless you have talents or otherwise. Or am I mistaken and I owe my psyker players a very big apology?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was under the impression that you are never allowed to re-roll those charts, unless you have talents or otherwise. Or am I mistaken and I owe my psyker players a very big apology?

 

You're not mistaken; there's nothing I'm aware of that will allow you to re-roll a roll on the Psychic Phenomenon chart. There's a few things that modify it (such as the Adeptus Astra Telepathica "Background Bonus" The Constant Threat), but nothing that will allow a re-roll. A common misconception is that spending a Fate point will allow a re-roll, which is what KommissarK was pointing out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I was under the impression that you are never allowed to re-roll those charts, unless you have talents or otherwise. Or am I mistaken and I owe my psyker players a very big apology?

 

You're not mistaken; there's nothing I'm aware of that will allow you to re-roll a roll on the Psychic Phenomenon chart. There's a few things that modify it (such as the Adeptus Astra Telepathica "Background Bonus" The Constant Threat), but nothing that will allow a re-roll. A common misconception is that spending a Fate point will allow a re-roll, which is what KommissarK was pointing out.

 

 

2 talents interact with Phenemena directly:

Warp Lock - Ignore any phenomenon (1/session) but take damage, lose all sustained powers and no more powers until next turn.

Favoured by the Warp - reroll phenomenon, as long as it wasn't perils. Choose which one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Warp Conduit also increases your PR by 1d5 and then adds +30 on the Psychic Phenomena chart.

 

I know, it's something you'd rather avoid, but it's a manipulation of the roll on the chart nonetheless. :)

Edited by Gridash

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I was under the impression that you are never allowed to re-roll those charts, unless you have talents or otherwise. Or am I mistaken and I owe my psyker players a very big apology?

 

 

RAW fate points only allow you to re-roll tests. Rolling on tables is not a test (nor is damage, for that matter). Every group I've ever played with thinks this is a dumb distinction and house ruled it so fate can be spent to re-roll anything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

I was under the impression that you are never allowed to re-roll those charts, unless you have talents or otherwise. Or am I mistaken and I owe my psyker players a very big apology?

 

 

RAW fate points only allow you to re-roll tests. Rolling on tables is not a test (nor is damage, for that matter). Every group I've ever played with thinks this is a dumb distinction and house ruled it so fate can be spent to re-roll anything.

 

I was about to say, I was fairly confident there was a very specific list of what fate points could be spent on and I didn't recall those charts being one of them. As such, all the times my players rolled on the corruption, insanity and other charts, they could just reroll. This question nearly gave me a heart attack; I promised myself I'd never be that jerk GM whose goal is to screw the players. Thanks for the reassurance. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...