Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Atom4geVampire

AtomAgeVampire's random questions

Recommended Posts

The rules for rumors state:

 

If one or more Act I Quest cards are still in play immediately before playing the Interlude, the heroes must choose one of them to attempt (before proceeding to the Interlude). After completing this quest, all other available Act I Quest cards are discarded from the game without effect.

 

 

In the FAQ there is this Q and A:

Q: If an Act I Rumor card with an available quest is in play, are the heroes and overlord forced to play it before the Interlude?

A: No, but that quest will no longer be an eligible choice after the Interlude has been completed.

 

 

Isn't that in conflict with the above rule? The Faq/Errata never says "this section should read ..." to fix that sentence in the rules. So which is it?

Or does this refer to the ones that might be left after playing the mandatory one before the interlude, in case multiple rumor quests are still in play before the interlude?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Alright :) (Though maybe that could have been written a bit more clearly)

 

Next question. The errata says: 

 

Page 5, “Exploring a Secret Room”: Add, “A hero cannot explore a secret room if there is already a Secret Room card in play.”
 
When could this ever happen? As far as I know drawn search cards don't ever get discarded. So that means the heroes can't draw the Secret Passage twice.
How then would they ever be able to get a second secret room in play? 
(Or is this to prevent a second hero going through the secret passage entrance and saying "I'm drawing a second room", or something)
 
 
The reason for all these sudden errata questions is that I'm adding this stuff to my quest tracker website, so players get the relevant FAQ/Errata presented to them when they start a quest.
Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It may be prohibiting a hero being next to the secret room entrance and deciding to explore a secret room, even if he didn't just draw a secret passage search card. Alternately, it could be there just in case an ability is used which puts search cards back into the deck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another question concerning rumors.

Later rumor cards all have the "You cannot play this card if the interlude is an available quest' mentioned in their text, but the LotW and Trollfens card dont have this.

It is not mentioned in the errata or anything, but is there any official ruling that 'fixes' the cards of those expansions to conform to this new rule, or do they still follow the rules on card as written?

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As far as I am aware, they follow the rules as written on the card.  No errata of any kind has come out to say otherwise.

 

Having said that, the FAQ entries for the later expansions leaves much to be desired - it needs to be expanded by a lot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its not the later expansions that are the issue. But the older ones (LotW and Trollfens), though I understand that the overlord playing those right before the interlude has less of an impact, since they (also unlike the more recent rumor quest) don't assign cards/relics if the quest was not attempted by the heroes. I guess the text was added to prevent the overlord playing 3 rumors right before the interlude, the heroes being allowed to only play one of those would give the overlord 2 free rewards. But the LotW/Trollfens ones don't suffer from that issue i guess

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The OL cannot play more than 1 rumor card during each campaign phase. In any case, the rumors that have come out with the hero and monster packs seem to be decidedly more OL favored than those that came with Lair and Trollfens, strictly in terms of rewards. The newer rumors limit the search tokens on the map, and give bonuses to the OL even if the quest is not played. The text on the card about playing before an interlude likely has something to do with that- I doubt that the intention is to retroactively apply it to the other rumor cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I totally missed that sentence about only one rumor per campaign phase (nevertheless I never actually played 2 rumor during a campaign phase :) so no harm done)

Thanks! (Even if it means having to alter code on my site again :D )

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But you can actually play 2 rumor cards in one phase, as some cards have the 'You must play a rumor card with a quest if you have one)

 

So lets say, I have scarce goods, crusade of the forgotten and guardians of deephall.

The heroes travel and get the Mysterious Herald card, with which they force me to play a quest, so i play the deephall one.

Then I play scarce goods, and put the crusade one in play.

 

Bam, 3 rumor cards in one phase, two of them being quests :)

Or does the fact that they forced me to play a rumor quest, count against my one card I can play?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Page 5, “Exploring a Secret Room”: Add, “A hero cannot explore a secret room if there is already a Secret Room card in play.”


 

I think the reasoning behind that is not allowing a hero exploring over and over a secret passage entrance (as "exploring" just means spend a movement point over it), until they find the secret chamber they are looking for. So they have to keep the first room appeared, and move on with it.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We will be playing LoR - Tipping the Scales tomorrow, and I have the following questions:

 

1. Ariad can lower the value of weights (objective tokens) carried by the heroes. it says that weights are limited by the supply.

What happens when playing with multiple expansions? (Some would say 'all tokens are added to their supply', but for example, in Death on the Wing only the base game ones are used.)

And for that matter, the manual only states that LoR comes with '7 Objective tokens' not which exact colors. I don't remember which ones are from the base game, which ones from LoR and which are from SoN (if any).

Right now there are 2 of each on the board, and I have 6 white, 5 green, 3 blue and 2 red tokens left in my supply.

 

2. The rules state that monsters can be reinforced by paying damage tokens for each square they occupy (so small = one token, huge = 4 tokens,..). The rules also say that Ariad can be reinforced for 3 tokens.

What if I'm using Queen Ariad (I've won Web of Power). I'm assuming it stays the same, but just checking to make sure.

 

3. I plan on using Wendigos as an open group. Does their 'Stealthy' ability (Each attack needs +3 range than normal) count for Melee attacks too?

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Because the expansion is designed to be fully functional with just the core set, I would say that the "supply" of objective tokens includes those that came with the base game (I believe there were 10) and those that came with LoR only. The component lists should tell you exactly how many tokens that should be.

 

There do not appear to be additional listed rules for "if you've got Queen Ariad." Rather, the victory condition for web of power just says to replace Ariad with Queen Ariad for the rest of the campaign. That may be part of why she has a defined cost that is separate from her figure size.

 

Yes, stealthy also applies to melee attacks. It has been clarified by FFG that melee attacks (even those using reach) normally require 0 range. That (that is, as long as you are targeting a valid space, there is no range requirement- you cannot miss due to range.) Stealthy increases the required range by 3, so melee attacks (again, whether or not there is reach is irrelevant) require 3 range when targeting a stealthy figure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the fast reply!

 

Because the expansion is designed to be fully functional with just the core set, I would say that the "supply" of objective tokens includes those that came with the base game (I believe there were 10) and those that came with LoR only. The component lists should tell you exactly how many tokens that should be.

 

Yes, but like I said the component lists just says there are '7 Objective tokens'. It does not say: "there are 2 white, 1 red, 3 whatever.."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah:

 

Set=[#Blue, #White, #Red, #Green]

 

Base Game = [4, 1, 4, 1]

LoR = [1, 3, 0, 3]

SoN = [0, 3, 0, 3]

 

I'm pretty sure that's correct, though I have to check the numbers in my collection, I could swear I have an eighth green, and I don't know if one of the small boxes had a green objective token.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ah:

 

Set=[#Blue, #White, #Red, #Green]

 

Base Game = [4, 1, 4, 1]

LoR = [1, 3, 0, 3]

SoN = [0, 3, 0, 3]

 

I'm pretty sure that's correct, though I have to check the numbers in my collection, I could swear I have an eighth green, and I don't know if one of the small boxes had a green objective token.

 

The numbers above (in terms of the total) per expansion are correct.  I can't remember off hand the number of individual colors, but they seem correct.

 

Manor of Ravens came with one additional objective token, so that may be where your extra green came from.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Alright, thanks guys.

I'll be using 5 Blue, 4 White, 4 Red and 4 green ones for the quest then.

 

And I have MoR as well, and I only have 7 green tokens, and can't imagine that I already lost one..

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I'm pretty sure that's correct, though I have to check the numbers in my collection, I could swear I have an eighth green, and I don't know if one of the small boxes had a green objective token.

 

The numbers above (in terms of the total) per expansion are correct.  I can't remember off hand the number of individual colors, but they seem correct.

 

Manor of Ravens came with one additional objective token, so that may be where your extra green came from.

 

I was mistaken- it was an extra white, not an extra green. That brings the final totals to:

Set    [b W R G]

Base [4 1 4 1]

LoR  [1 3 0 3]

SoN  [0 3 0 3]

MoR [0 1 0 0]

Total[5 8 4 7] = 24

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So we played the quest yesterday and I lost. Half was because the heroes are too well equiped, the other half because I've never thrown that many misses in one game.
I've seen this image here before, but it's never been more true for me then now:

JkER77i.jpg

Attacking with my 3 Medusae and one Wendigo, I had a miss on all 4 of my attacks in the first turn, and 3 out of 5 in my second turn lol! The attacks that did not miss  were of course easily blocked with items like Inscribed Robes and stuff like that.

Another 'issue' with this quest is when you've got the Queen Ariad lieutenant instead of the Ariad one. Due to smart positioning of the heroes (or monsters that were in the way) she never even had the chance to move off the Mysterious Waters (or whatever the exact name is), because she couldn't expand. So she never had a chance to lower any weights (or do decent damage to the heroes) cause she can't use surges on that tile. Its also kind of lame that she starts right across from the heroes like 4 spaces away, cause she was killed after 2 hero turns, which made her immediately lose her relics she was wielding (Sun Stone and Gauntlets of Spite, which would have been handy to get the 3 required surges, if I would ever have gotten a chance to use surges :P ) according to these rules then. So she was pretty useless.

 

Now, to end this with a question: 

The rules state the overlord receives a fatigue token "when no heroes are carying a weight, or when the only hero carrying a weight is on the Mysterious Waters".

Now, what happens when there are 2 (or more) heroes carrying a weight but are standing on the water? Do I get a fatigue token or not?

We had some discussion about this (I'm also unsure wether I should get one or not) 

 

Does the 'the only hero' really mean: if there is only one hero carrying a weight and he is on the water I get a fatigue, more heroes only on the water is fine

Or is it actually supposed to be interpreted as: "the only hero(es)"

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Now, to end this with a question: 

The rules state the overlord receives a fatigue token "when no heroes are carying a weight, or when the only hero carrying a weight is on the Mysterious Waters".

Now, what happens when there are 2 (or more) heroes carrying a weight but are standing on the water? Do I get a fatigue token or not?

We had some discussion about this (I'm also unsure wether I should get one or not) 

 

Does the 'the only hero' really mean: if there is only one hero carrying a weight and he is on the water I get a fatigue, more heroes only on the water is fine

Or is it actually supposed to be interpreted as: "the only hero(es)"

 

First off, I should say that I have not even read this quest yet, let alone played it.  Having said that, I would rule that the second sentence "or when the only hero carrying a weight is on the Mysterious Waters" reflects not just a single hero but all heroes.

 

In other words, as long as no hero is carrying a weight, or as long as any heroes carrying weights are in/on the Mysterious Waters tile, the OL gets a fatigue token.

 

I have long found that in most cases trying to be "literal" with FFG's rules text, card text, ability text, etc. (thus reading too much into things), always leads to the wrong interpretations/conclusions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...