Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Atom4geVampire

AtomAgeVampire's random questions

Recommended Posts

Thats what I was saying, but the heroes we're interpreting it differently. (It must be said that though we are all pretty fluent at English, its not our native language :P)

 

I play with people who were born in the USA, have lived their entire life in the USA, were brought up with English being their first and only language, and they can still argue/debate for hours on end as to the meaning of some of FFG's text.  Trust me, it has nothing to do with what your primary language is ...  :lol:  :D  :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SoN travel event where you become lost in a dark and seedy district.

"The heroes choose one hero to test Awareness. If he fails, he suffers 2 Damage. Then draw another city event card for this travel icon."

 

Drawing another city event card happens whether the hero fails or not, right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a perfect example of how FFG could be far more clear in their text.  Some people read the above as if there is causality ... that is to say, if the hero fails the test, then they draw another city event card.

 

I read this as a hero tests awareness.  If he fails he suffers 2 Damage.

 

After all of that is over, the heroes always draw another city event card.

 

So I agree with you ... they draw another city event card whether or not the hero passes the test.

 

EDIT: This is just one example of tens if not hundreds of cards that have text like this.  I am sure it was quite clear in the mind of the designer, but it assumes information we just don't have.

Edited by any2cards

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My default interpretation in these cases is to treat that last sentence as a separate instruction:

1. The hero tests awareness. If he fails, he suffers damage.

Draw another city event card.

My assumption is that if they were designed to be the same effect, they would be the same sentence, such as:

If the hero fails, he suffers 2 wound and another city event card is drawn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My assumption is that if they were designed to be the same effect, they would be the same sentence, such as:

If the hero fails, he suffers 2 wound and another city event card is drawn.

 

Ok, exactly what I was also thinking: if they would have added 'and' or something. 

Thanks for the confirmation!

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, we started a new campaign yesterday, playing Shadow of Nerkhall. So you can expect a few questions about that.

This time, I'll be taking on the role of hero instead of Overlord for the first time :P

 

First question: What happens when an Ironbound uses 'Protect' when he is at 1 hp?

The Ironbound dies and the attack is considered a miss? (Because the target is not on the map anymore)

 

 

We played A Demonstration and No Mercy yesterday, both resulting in a pretty bad defeat for the heroes. 

The Rat Swarms seem pretty powerful so early ingame, with a constant Rend + Feast the overlord was easily knocking us out, especially since if one got killed or merged it would just get reinforced and feast at max damage again.

Meanwhile he easily sacrificed all prisoners and the Executioner turned out to be corrupted, which he then was able to walk off the map unhindered because we were in too bad shape to do anything about it.

All we could do was search the remaining tokens, but the Treasure Chest just gave us the stupid Map Stone, lol.

 

Orkell the Swift - Skirmisher (Me)

Ispher - Bard

Astarra - Conjurer

Laurel of Bloodwood - Wildlander

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With that party, as the campaign goes on I'm sure you'll do alright.

I do not know that an ironbound can use protect at 1hp- it is odd because he wouldn't be alive to defend the attack, but he is being defeated during step 1, after the attack has started. That is definitely an ffg question if it is not on the card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a question about the Skirmisher:

 

Since I've never played as a hero, would it be a bad idea to save my experience (I've only bought a 1xp card) to buy Carve a Path (it looks pretty useful), instead of first buying for example a 2xp card?

Or is that a bad idea? (it's at least one extra quest where I might be lacking in skills then.)

 

This might even be relevant for any class, So basically: Is it a good idea to immediately go for the 3xp skill, instead of first buying another 2xp skill in between?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, normally, I would say you only get 6XP, so spend wisely. However, also in the nerekhall expansion was the shop card "arcahic scroll", which allows a small respec. You can work that into plans if you want to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it's often a better idea to go directly to the 3xp cards at first

 

but sometimes the OL force the heroes to take some between, or because the 3xp cards are not so powerfull

 

in case of the Marshall as Alys, the "by the book" card must be the first buy, and in the case of the geomancer, none of the 3xp cards are really usefull

 

which hero is played as a skirmisher ?

Edited by rugal

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a question about the Skirmisher:

 

Since I've never played as a hero, would it be a bad idea to save my experience (I've only bought a 1xp card) to buy Carve a Path (it looks pretty useful), instead of first buying for example a 2xp card?

Or is that a bad idea? (it's at least one extra quest where I might be lacking in skills then.)

 

This might even be relevant for any class, So basically: Is it a good idea to immediately go for the 3xp skill, instead of first buying another 2xp skill in between?

 

My two cents...

    ... depends on how you want to play your hero and what you think it's the better card you want to have first !

There is no right path!

 

In general, buying little XP cards gives you little power so you will be quickly more power full in act I .. but will have to wait during act II where the monsters will be more difficult

On the other side buying Big XP cards from the start means you will have probably difficulties at the end of act I ... but will be ready for act II !

It's a choice

 

I hadn't played with the Skirmisher yet.. but "Carve at Path" seems to me a must have !

not all classes have 3XP cards that deserve to run for them... here I think you have one !

and between this one and Unstoppaable from my point of view there is no hesitation ..

 

I will finish with two points :

   - discuss with other heroes, try to have a global strategy : one point being avoiding all heroes going for 3XP cards all at the same time ! ;-)

   - don't forget class cards are not the only way the heroes upgrade ! shop items count also for much ! .. and those you should be getting them since the beggening of act I !

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

See above, I'm playing as Orkell the Swift.

 

I've already bought Back in Action.

I was planning to buy Carve a Path and either Ever in Motion or Unrelenting.

 

Also, shouldn't it be at least 8xp? (Introduction + 3x Act I + Interlude + 3x Act II)

I don't know if any Nerekhall quests give extra xp to the heroes or not.

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can I borrow your topic for a second? Thanks ;)

 

I was watching a video about descent on youtube and came across a stituation that's new for me. A guy expended 3 fatigue to move (without spend a move action) and then, at the side of a monster, performed TWO attacks. Is that right? I always assumed that fatigue can be used as bonus of spaces in a move action, not AS a move action. I hope I'm right :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats allowed yeah. 1 fatigue gives you 1 movement point you can use at any moment. A move action just gives you movement points equal to your speed.

So if you are able to suffer 3 fatigue you can move 3 spaces and still have your 2 actions left for 2 attacks.

Moving with fatigue is also not considered a move action (for overlord cards or whatever)

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats allowed yeah. 1 fatigue gives you 1 movement point you can use at any moment. A move action just gives you movement points equal to your speed.

So if you are able to suffer 3 fatigue you can move 3 spaces and still have your 2 actions left for 2 attacks.

Moving with fatigue is also not considered a move action (for overlord cards or whatever)

 

Very well, then. Descent, a new emotion every day!

 

Thanks, dude :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can I borrow your topic for a second? Thanks ;)

 

I was watching a video about descent on youtube and came across a stituation that's new for me. A guy expended 3 fatigue to move (without spend a move action) and then, at the side of a monster, performed TWO attacks. Is that right? I always assumed that fatigue can be used as bonus of spaces in a move action, not AS a move action. I hope I'm right :rolleyes:

 

Just for example on one of my currents campaigns I have Quellen (4 Stamina), equipped with Ring of Power (+1 Stamina) and "Undying Skull" (Apply +1 to you Stamina.You cannot spend 'Surge' to recovery 'Fatigue'.)..

every time I use his Heroic Feat (Use at the start of your turn to increase your Stamina by 4 for the remainder of this turn. At the end of your turn, recover all of your 'Fatigue'.) I can move 10 spaces (normal ones) and yet do my two attacks !

 

our OL his not very happy with me... but this has not avoided him to win the last three Quests ! ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personnally, I think that Unstoppable is a must have (never missing is a real threat to the OL, furthermore if you are so unlucky as I am)

 

Carve a Path is a bit to much of fatigue to be really usefull

 

Unrelenting is cool, and really strong with Carve a path but way too much of fatigue needed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

First question: What happens when an Ironbound uses 'Protect' when he is at 1 hp?

The Ironbound dies and the attack is considered a miss? (Because the target is not on the map anymore)

If the Ironbound has 1 Health left and uses Protect, that Ironbound is then defeated and, with its defeat, the attack is resolved.

Thanks for playing,

Kara Centell-Dunk

Game Developer

kcentelldunk@fantasyflightgames.com

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting! That means the attack reaolves before dice are rolled- not a miss, but no damage dealt, and no chance to spend surges (such as to gain MP or recover fatigue.)

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting! That means the attack reaolves before dice are rolled- not a miss, but no damage dealt, and no chance to spend surges (such as to gain MP or recover fatigue.)

Another one for your rules FAQ methinks :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Interesting! That means the attack reaolves before dice are rolled- not a miss, but no damage dealt, and no chance to spend surges (such as to gain MP or recover fatigue.)

Another one for your rules FAQ methinks :)

 

Yeah, whenever it gets updated, this will go in there. If the only affected figure of an attack is defeated, the attack is immediately considered resolved.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was just wondering, does Ronan's heroic feat "... Choose 1 other Hero. You and that hero may immediately trade any Shop item cards, Relic cards and Search cards." override Immunity Elixir's (Trollfens relic) 'This card cannot be traded between heroes'? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was just wondering, does Ronan's heroic feat "... Choose 1 other Hero. You and that hero may immediately trade any Shop item cards, Relic cards and Search cards." override Immunity Elixir's (Trollfens relic) 'This card cannot be traded between heroes'? 

I would say no, i believe the word 'any' here is being used in the quantitative value (so if ronan had a potion, a relic and a shop item he could swap them all) and nothing in his ability stipulates that it overrides existing rules printed on the traded cards.

If it was supposed to do that i would think it would have something like, regardless of shop, item or search card rules, added to the ability.

But it might be worth a quick FAQ via FFG.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×