Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Atom4geVampire

AtomAgeVampire's random questions

Recommended Posts

I don't want to start a new topic for each and every question I have, so I'm just going to post them all in this one.
 
Question and Answers so far:
 
Web of Power (LoR): when the transformation is complete and Ariad is replaced with Queen Ariad, does she keep any damage tokens she might have?
All damage tokens are removed and the card of Ariads is exchanged against Queen Ariad. (answered by Funkfried)

 

Web of Power (LoR): when the transformation is complete and Ariad is replaced with Queen Ariad, does she keep any Hex tokens she might have? (details)
???
 
Web of Power (LoR): What happens to unrevealed (not triggered) 'Web' tokens on the Overlords objective token stack? (details)
???
 
Web of Power (LoR): Does the Wolf familiar trigger 'Web' objective tokens? (details)
???
 
Travel (Trollfens): Does the hero suffer the damage dealt by the knight (travel card #x/3) if the fails to do more damage than the knight? (details)
He does (answered by Zaltyre)
 
Can the item 'Jinn's Lamp' by used in Act II? (details)
??? - Asked FFG, waiting for reply

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd say she doesn't. While thematically Ariad has "just" transformed, Queen Ariad is a new monster, with a new monster card. A new entity, if you prefer. The same I'd say for anything else Ariad could be carrying, as conditions, Hex tokens, etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The quest guide clearly states what happens when Ariads transformation finishes. All damage tokens are removed and the card of Ariads is exchanged against Queen Ariad. While performing the ritual Ariad is immun to any effects and conditions so she couldn't have any of those carrying over.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some other questions

 

1) Web of Power, regarding the webs:

a) When heroes do not pass a web matching the 'active' objective token on the top of the overlords stack, what happens to that top token?

Does it get discarded or kept for the next round? And if it gets discarded, does it need to be revealed or not?

 

The quest rules aren't clear about that, they only seem to mention what happens to revealed tokens.

I'm guessing they supposed to get discarded and a different one should be active each round, but I'm unsure about the fact if they then should be revealed.

We played it that way yesterday (discard + reveal) but I'd like to make sure.

 

b) Does the Wolf familiar trigger the spiders or not?

 

2) Web of Power: Does Ariad discard Hex tokens on her transformation (I assume she does, and we played it that way)

 

 

3)The Trollfens expansion features a travel card where a Knight challenges you with a melee item from the shop deck. You need to perform an attack against him, and he performs an attack against you.

The card says that you can keep the weapon if you do more damage than the knight (or something like that). It does not mention what happens with the damage in case that you fail. Does the hero actually suffer the damage received from the attack or not?

 

4) Djinns lamp can still be used in Act II right? Even though you draw from the Act I shop deck, it doesn't mention that it needs to be the current deck.

 

 

(Sorry for the vagueness, I do not have my quest guide at work :) )

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Travel (Trollfens): Does the hero suffer the damage dealt by the knight (travel card #x/3) if the fails to do more damage than the knight? (details)

???

 

No, it is just a challenge.

 

 

Can the item 'Djinn's Lamp' by used in Act II? (details)

???

 Why not? I'm sure it works.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree about the knight- nowhere is the hero instructed to heal and/or not take damage. In fact, the card even refers to the damage the hero suffers. That is the cost of getting the shop card.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree about the knight- nowhere is the hero instructed to heal and/or not take damage. In fact, the card even refers to the damage the hero suffers. That is the cost of getting the shop card.

 

I agree. Its an exchange of attacks. The heroes may choose to participate in this event to gain an additional weapon at the risk of suffering large amounts of damage.

Edited by Funkfried

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Can the item 'Djinn's Lamp' by used in Act II? (details)

???

 Why not? I'm sure it works.

 

 

Rules p22 says in paragraph Act II point 3

--------------------------------

 3. Return all unpurchased Act I Shop Item cards to the game box ...

--------------------------------

 

So from my point of view after the Interlude the only thing you can do with the "Jinn's Lamp" is sold it on one of the remaining Shop Phases

Indeed there is no more Act I Shop Item Deck ...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Zaltyre, Funkfried, that is indeed what I was thinking, it's the risk of attempting the card.

We did play it this way when we encountered the card, I just wanted to make sure for the next campaign (since it has returned to the box now)

 

Good point about returning all act I cards to the box, though this might be one of those times where the rules on the card overrule those in the quest book?

I don't remember where (might be in Heirs of Blood), but there is an Act II quest that says you need to use Act I Zombies for that quest. But then you could argue that they have also been returned to the box.. 

So I think in this case the returns to the box also gets overruled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you'd have to ask FFG to be sure about the lamp- it could go either way, based on how serious "act 1 cards are returned to the game box" is. I can't think of very many scenarios where you would have the lamp and decide to use it AFTER the interlude's browse of all act 1 cards-  if nothing else, during that step it should be sold to make a purchase of a card you get to choose.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, I haven't obtained it myself, I just saw it when going through all the items for my website.

Isn't the lamp only worth like 75 or 100? (At work, can't check). Lets say its 75, which would get you 25 when sold.

Then lets assume every time you used it during Act I you had some item you didn't need and you've returned that to the shop deck cause you wanted to try for a better one later. 

But now the interlude is done and you have only a small amount of gold to buy items from the 'all act 1 items browse', so you might not be able to buy the top items.

You could then still use the lamp in Act 2 to draw a card from the act 1 deck, that will most likely be worth more gold when you sell it than the 25 from the lamp itself,

which you can then spend on Act 2 items.

 

But like I said, I haven't actually acquired the card in any campaign yet, so it's just speculation on what might happen.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I already did, I'll let you know when I have a reply.

And yes, you are right, its 100. That might make it a bit less viable, but all expansions together there are still around 15 items that you could draw that would sell for 75 instead of 50.

(And since they are the expensive ones, they might even still be useful for a while)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure they'll say you can still use the Lamp in Act II; the point of returning the stuff to the box is probably more to emphasize you don't buy from them anymore, and Treasure Chests don't use them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In my opinion, the Lamp becomes obsolete in act II because the rule states to return the Act I shop cards to the box, no mention of the Act 1 Shop Items deck.

 

In this case, the Act 1 Shop Item deck becomes empty (no more cards in said deck). Therefore, it is impossible to draw a card from that deck.

 

I may be wrong but this is how I see it... until FFG proves me wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another small question I had:

I have both Lair of the Wyrm and Trollfens. All tokens go into their respective supplies.

When setting up a Secret Passage, it is then perfectly possible for there to be 2 awareness challenge tokens for example.

That seems a bit in favor of the heroes, no? But thats how its supposed to be, right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Like all the other components, you mix the challenge tokens. It's also possible that there is a goblin archer, a cave spider, a fire imp, and a harpy. (For the record, that happened to a single hero who was exploring a secret room.) The heroes have only once dared enter another secret room, and they all entered before they flipped any tokens.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I was reading up a bit on the Hexer ability 'Plague Cloud', because the Hexer in our group just bought it.

Can you guys confirm to me that this is how it works:

 

The hexer targets every hexed monster in his LoS.

Each monster adjacent to those monsters is hexed (but each monster that is hexed can only be hexed once, so not multiple times if multiple monsters are adjacent to it)

If there are monsters adjacent to those monsters that just got hexed, they now also become hexed. This repeats until there are no longer any non-hexed monsters adjacent to hexed monsters (that are in LoS).

If the Hexer also has Internal Rot, each monster gets 2 hex tokens, instead of 1.

The hexer then performs an attack against all hexed monsters, including the ones that became hexed by using the Plague Cloud ability

If one of the monsters is adjacent to the Beastmaster's Wolf (assuming he has the required skill), a green die is added to the attack pool for each monster (and not just for monster adjacent to the Wolf).

Then after rolling dice the Hexer can discard a number of hex tokens from all monsters that are affected by the attack, to add +1 Damage to the attack for each token discarded, which again targets every monster (so it's not that the monster is only affected by the amount of tokens it has on it).

 

 

So, an example:

In our case the Hexer just got the Staff of the Wild (BYGG) from a Secret Room reward, We also have a Beastmaster.

Lets say 2 monsters are hexed with 2 tokens from the previous turn. 3 Monsters are directly adjacent to those. Another monster is adjacent to one of those.

The Hexer performs Plague Cloud. The 3 adjacent monsters each receive 2 Hex tokens, due to Internal Rot. Since they are now also hexed, the other monster that is adjacent also becomes hexed and receives 2 Hex tokens.

Now, 6 monsters are hexed with 2 tokens each.

The Hexer now performs the attack targeting each of these 6 monsters.

Since one of them is next to the Wolf, he rolls BYGGG. Lets say the hexer rolled 5 damage and 3 surges.

Before he chooses how to spend his surges, he discards all 12 (6x2) Hex tokens from the monsters, meaning every monster now has to defend against a 17 damage, 3 surge attack.

The overlord (in this case, me) sees 6 of his monsters melt away before his eyes...

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The cloud doesn't "repeatedly" spread. 

 

You target all hexed monsters.

Each monster adjacent to a currently hexed monster is hexed.

Stop. No more hexed monsters.

Roll dice- if there are triggers for any of the individual monsters that affect the attack, yes, it applies to them all since you're targeting them all with the same attack.

Spending hexes indeed adds damage to the entire attack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm, are you sure? Because I did read an official comment about that (I already found some definitive answers to parts of the description in my previous post):

 

Justin Kemppainen wrote:

Plague Cloud targets each hexed monster with an attack, and there is a sort of recursive loop that ensures that each monster adjacent to a hexed monster is also hexed (and thus becomes a target) prior to the dice being rolled.

 

pic1754249_t.jpg

So, for your picture, the hexed master ettin would trigger hex placement on each of the other monsters. If the villager token then happened to be a monster, either the minion or master archer would then trigger a hex token placement on that one. If there was another monster adjacent to the villager and no other monster, the villager would then trigger a hex token placement on that one.

Does that make sense? Essentially, whatever shape a cluster of monsters is, each one adjacent to any other one would be hexed, but it doesn't check each one at a time, hexing each adjacent one.

Thanks,

Justin Kemppainen

Creative Content Developer

Fantasy Flight Games

Edited by Atom4geVampire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×