Sign in to follow this  
painter88

The scum

I'm a noob here. Been doing a lot of thinking about first build. I think I'm going to go with the scum and villainy faction. I've been doing some research and can't find a clear answer. But my first box will be core set for rule book and tokens and dice. Then I'm purchasing the most wanted to get me started. Now my question is. Can I use the X wing in core set but with a scum pilot? And can I use the slave as scum? I've looked up quit a bit but no clear answer. And are their any other ships villainy can use other than their faction?

There is no Scum X-Wing.

However, you are allowed to use models and whatnot from the other factions to replace the SAME model of scum.
Like, you can use the firespray from your Slave 1 expansion for Emon Azzameen, for example, but you can't use your X-Wing as a Z-95 Headhunter.

Yeah, if you're going to go scum and villainy primarily I would buy:

x1 Core Set like you said

x1 Most Wanted like you said

x2 Aggressor expansions (IG-88's ship)

x1 Star Viper expansion

x2 Scyck Interceptor expansions

That would give you enough scum to run some very competitive lists.  If you wanted to expand into the other two factions and also get the most out of your Most Wanted expansion I would also recommend:

x1 Slave 1 expansion

x1 HWK-290 expansion

These would allow you to use the extra scum pilot tiles from Most Wanted.  They would also give you some good basic upgrade cards to add to your fleet.

It's hard to play this game as ONLY Scum since they share a few ships with the two other factions.  Once wave 7 hits they will have more of their own exclusive ships.

With 1 core and 1 Most Wanted, these are the scum ships you can fly:

2x Z-95

1x Y-wing