Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
kell553

Superior Positions mission objective

Recommended Posts

The wording on the card:

"Special Rule: After a Ship or Squadron performs an attack against the rear hull zone of another ship, if the defender suffered at least one damage, the attacker's owner gains one Victory Token."

 

Questions raised:

Does a loss of a shield point count as "damage?"

If the damage is redirected to a side shield, does that still count towards the gaining of a token?

How is this treated in relation to Dodona's Pride cancelling all dice in exchange for dealing a damage card face up if the shot came into the rear arc?

 

We play it as ANY hit/crit that makes it through from the rear arc, regardless of where the damage is actually taken, counts towards the Special Rule.

In short, ANY hit/crit that can't be cancelled by an Evade token (or Scatter if a Ship should ever get it) would automatically trigger a Victory Token.

This can be game changing in a situation where a ship lands in a pile of squadrons, the owner of the squadrons places them all at the rear arc, then they each do 1 point of damage for a token each. 1 round of shooting could give you enough points to make up for the loss of a VSD with a second round of shooting giving you enough Victory points where you can end up losing the match based on all ships getting destroyed, but having as much as 150+ VPs more than your opponent after scoring.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, loss of shield counts as damage.

It's the attack on the rear hull that matters, not where the damage is suffered--so yes, 1 token.

I thought that damage was when you draw a damage card?

Hence if you don't draw a damage card then you're not damaged.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Yes, loss of shield counts as damage.

It's the attack on the rear hull that matters, not where the damage is suffered--so yes, 1 token.

I thought that damage was when you draw a damage card?

Hence if you don't draw a damage card then you're not damaged.

 

 

"Suffering damage" means that some number of damage points are headed your way, to be absorbed by shields or to be turned into damage cards if they reach your hull.  "Deal one damage card" is how they describe damage that bypasses shields entirely.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Yes, loss of shield counts as damage.

It's the attack on the rear hull that matters, not where the damage is suffered--so yes, 1 token.

I thought that damage was when you draw a damage card?

Hence if you don't draw a damage card then you're not damaged.

 

 

When a ship suffers damage, it suffers that damage one point at a time. For each point, reduce the shields in the defending hull zone by one. If the defending hull zone has no shields to lose, deal a facedown damage card to the ship instead
 
That's the definition in the rules reference guide.  Page 4, under Damage

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...