Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
clontroper5

I officially LOVE Warlord

Recommended Posts

You can do two vsd - 1s

With tarkin on an h9 warlord for 200

Dominator on the other for 212. 218 for fc on warlord.

And then 10 tie fighters for 298. Drop to nine for 10 point bid.

 

 

alternative

 

Tarkin --> Motti

 

Vsd - 1 Dominator --> VSD - 2 Dominator w/Wulf

 

295 total, 289 if you drop FC

 

 

really hard choice

 

 

the VSD - 2 dominator is just borked esp with initiative, but Tarkin gives your VSDs an unprecedented level of flexibility + cf re-rolls for long range exchanges

Edited by ficklegreendice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

well we have cracked our consensus wide open into a debate.

I think this definitely needs an clarification in the faq now...

Eh. I think the rules make the steps involved crystal clear, but since it is a question multiple people can't agree on, I've asked FFG for a definitive answer. ;)

I submitted thusly:

There seems to be some debate about this on the forums, so I'll ask here for all our sakes:

If a ship declares fire on multiple squadrons, can the H9 Turbolasers and/or Warlord title card effects be triggered/used against each squadron attacked/rolled against or just ONE squadron it fires at.

Put another way, can the Warlord and H9 Turbolasers card effects be used against more than one squadron during a single activation?

Did you ever receive a response about this by chance?

Guess it hasn't been that long since you submitted but feels like weeks for some reason

Edited by clontroper5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

well we have cracked our consensus wide open into a debate.

I think this definitely needs an clarification in the faq now...

Eh. I think the rules make the steps involved crystal clear, but since it is a question multiple people can't agree on, I've asked FFG for a definitive answer. ;)

I submitted thusly:

There seems to be some debate about this on the forums, so I'll ask here for all our sakes:

If a ship declares fire on multiple squadrons, can the H9 Turbolasers and/or Warlord title card effects be triggered/used against each squadron attacked/rolled against or just ONE squadron it fires at.

Put another way, can the Warlord and H9 Turbolasers card effects be used against more than one squadron during a single activation?

Did you ever receive a response about this by chance?

Guess it hasn't been that long since you submitted but feels like weeks for some reason

 

 

Still waiting.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also submitted a request a few days ago about the legality of changing to the red double hit, (cause the card says A hit result) and please don't bring up screed because his example with the black dice is still only A single crit result on the hit/crit face, not two crit results on that dice facing, so screed is not the same argument. By this token if the red dice had a hit/crit face then I would readily agree that changing to it would be legal (like screed), and if black dice had accuracy then changing to the hit/crit side would be legal on them too (again, like screed).

The fact I got queries about Bel Iblis and Mon Mothma and Demolisher answered and not Warlord leads me to guess that it was not the actual intent of the card, so they are having to very carefully consider the consequences before stating explicitly the ruling.

Edited by MaverickNZ

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

not to mention warlord would be absolute garbage without that little tidbit

 

you'd have to go up to a VSD - 2 to even have a chance of using the thing, and then hope you roll redundant numbers of the least likely result on both dice (well, tied with the double hit on red dice)

 

H9's great because it's far easier to roll hits on both colors but especially on red, Warlord being the inverse is not worth nearly as much

 

 

with the double hit face, however, it can essentially add one damage to your roll in addition to dice fixing, which may well be worth dropping for 16 points (w/h9 cause 1/8 chance of getting acc on a red)

Edited by ficklegreendice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I am saying is that there is a "possibility" that it's not allowed or intended and that it's odd that my 3 other queries got answered and the one on warlord didn't. If the design team thought it as cut and dried as some people in this thread then why has noone who submitted a query got a confirmation back yet?

Personally as I play dual or triple vics I hope it is allowed, but see an argument against it too.

Edited by MaverickNZ

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also submitted a request a few days ago about the legality of changing to the red double hit, (cause the card says A hit result) and please don't bring up screed because his example with the black dice is still only A single crit result on the hit/crit face, not two crit results on that dice facing, so screed is not the same argument. By this token if the red dice had a hit/crit face then I would readily agree that changing to it would be legal (like screed), and if black dice had accuracy then changing to the hit/crit side would be legal on them too (again, like screed).

The fact I got queries about Bel Iblis and Mon Mothma and Demolisher answered and not Warlord leads me to guess that it was not the actual intent of the card, so they are having to very carefully consider the consequences before stating explicitly the ruling.

 

Isn't Screed's and Warlord's wording EXACTLY the same?

 

Change to a side with 'a symbol'. 

 

Or do you imply that a hit-hit is somehow different from a hit-crit because of the word 'a'?

 

I suppose I can stop that difference too - but it is VERY small!

 

IMO, if Screed allows a hit-crit (which he does AFAIK), then Warlord allows a hit-hit. 

 

Which is a nice bonus, but hardly a game-breaking one.

 

Relatedly, from the ref. doc, there are only three types of icons: hit, crit and accuracy. So hit-crit and hit-hit isn't separate icon types, there are just more icons on the dice face.

 

Dice Icons
Attack dice have the following effects during an attack:
• Hit F: This icon adds one damage to the damage total.
• Critical E: If the attacker and defender are ships, this
icon adds one damage to the damage total and can
trigger a critical effect.
• Accuracy G: The attacker can spend this icon to choose
one of the defender’s defense tokens. The chosen
defense token cannot be spent during this attack.
• A blank face is a die face with no icons on it.
• If players are instructed to roll dice for a purpose other
than an attack, the icons on the die have no inherent
effects.
Related Topics: Attack, Critical Effects, Defense Tokens,
Modifying Dice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Screed and Warlords wording is the same but it's the dice that make it different. Screeds black dice does not have a crit/crit face.

"a" can be an important distinction, if a card said you can reroll "a" dice with a blank result, you wouldn't go "I have two with blanks so each is a dice I can reroll" - it's the same thinking people are saying to justify the double hit. Again, I would like it to be true, as I play Vics a lot, but it "might" not be.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Screed and Warlords wording is the same but it's the dice that make it different. Screeds black dice does not have a crit/crit face.

"a" can be an important distinction, if a card said you can reroll "a" dice with a blank result, you wouldn't go "I have two with blanks so each is a dice I can reroll" - it's the same thinking people are saying to justify the double hit. Again, I would like it to be true, as I play Vics a lot, but it "might" not be.

 

The same reasoning the says "A face with 2 hit symbols doesn't have a hit symbol on it." would also say "A face with a crit and a hit symbol doesn't have a crit symbol on it." Both of them are nonsensical.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Screed and Warlords wording is the same but it's the dice that make it different. Screeds black dice does not have a crit/crit face.

"a" can be an important distinction, if a card said you can reroll "a" dice with a blank result, you wouldn't go "I have two with blanks so each is a dice I can reroll" - it's the same thinking people are saying to justify the double hit. Again, I would like it to be true, as I play Vics a lot, but it "might" not be.

 

that is not a relevant comparison

 

the double hit side is a dice face with a hit result

 

two blank sides on two different dice are not "a die face"

 

 

warlord does specify "1 die" though

Edited by ficklegreendice

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Screed and Warlords wording is the same but it's the dice that make it different. Screeds black dice does not have a crit/crit face.

"a" can be an important distinction, if a card said you can reroll "a" dice with a blank result, you wouldn't go "I have two with blanks so each is a dice I can reroll" - it's the same thinking people are saying to justify the double hit. Again, I would like it to be true, as I play Vics a lot, but it "might" not be.

Your distinction is between dice and the double hit is not exactly the same, if I reroll 2 die I have now changed from rolling "a" die but if I change to a double hit, there is still "a" hit on that side. It just has another as Well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally Id rather Screed didnt allow the hit crit...but if he does, then Warlord must allow a hit hit.

 

Not at all, the hit/crit still only has A (as in single) crit icon on it. The hit hit red has two hits on it. There is a distinct difference between the two dice. If Black was a crit/crit and screed allowed it then sure, warlord must follow the same, but its not the case. If the red dice was a hit/crit, then sure, warlord must follow the same, but thats not the case either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The red dice has a hit and a hit. There is no double hit icon. Just two instances of the hit icon.

So exactly the same as Screed...

And yes...hed allow a double crit, if there was such a thing.

 

By your own statement, the red dice has a hit, and a hit.

Warlord allows changing to a dice with a hit, not "a hit, and a hit". See the contention?

 

By the same argument you pointed out (correctly) there is no "double hit", but then you mention a "double crit" on screed, which also doesnt exist. If the Black dice had a crit/crit facing then I would say whatever the ruling that FFG finally agrees on for Warlord would also then apply for Screed. His current usage on black dice says "a face with a crit" and a crit/hit has A crit on it, so is totally valid.

 

I just find it odd that I emailed 4 rules queries to FFG, Garm Bel Iblis, Dominator, Mon Mothma and Warlord, and got replies on the other 3 within a day or so, all one right after the other, but not Warlord - which makes me guess that they never anticipated this situation being used like this, particularly the combination with the H9 Turbolasers to practically gaurantee a double hit each turn, and are seriously thinking this one out.

Edited by MaverickNZ

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I certainly hope they are considering it very carefully.

I wrote that Screed should allow a double crit 'if there was such a thing' - which there is not.

Anyway. I still hold its the same. A dice with two symbols on one face. One face has two identical symbols, the other different ones. You claim thats a significant difference (ruleswise). I disagree.

Feel free to bug FFG about this one

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It would be pretty astounding if it was FAQ'd to only allow switching to a single hit. And frankly, would reflect poorly on the game's current rules developers.

 

Heck, it seems the whole point of moving to this fancy and varied attack dice model is exactly to allow for situations like this, giving abilities like Screed and Warlord varying levels are effectiveness depending on which kind of attack dice are being rolled at the time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...