Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
piznit

Could I get a clarification, Im a noob

Recommended Posts

So a few questions that came up in our early games I couldn't find exact answers for and I would love some feedback:

 

1. Do defenders still roll dice (defend as usual) against secondary attacks?  I,m assuming yes, and if so, do you still use range to modify dice, ie +1 red for range 1, +1 green for range 3?

 

2.  Etahn A'baht.  Does his ability work for other attackers that are shooting at a target in his arc?  Like if a friendly Y-wing is shooting at a TIE that is in Etahn's sights, the Y-wing gets to modify his dice?

 

3.  I understand Tycho can still do actions while having a stress token, but if he has a stress and performs a red maneuver, does the rule about the enemy getting to change Tycho to a different move of his choice take effect?  Again, I'm guessing yes.

 

Im sure I'll have more questions, and I appreciate any responses from you guys, thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Last one for a while, but on a pilot like Whisper for instance when it states you get a token after you hit your target...does that mean you earn the token after you roll red dice and score a hit/crit, or after the defender has rolled and could not mitigate all the hits. I guess I'm asking is there a difference between successfully "hitting" and actually doing damage

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Hit" has a specific definition in the game (on page 12). If there are no uncancelled boom or kaboom results after the defender has rolled defense dice then the attack has "hit". Usually this means that the attack hits if it causes damage and doesn't if it doesn't, but there are several corner cases where that us not true. Lt. Blount's attacks, for example, always count as having "hit" whether the cause any damage or not (lt Blount with a blinded pilot crit on him (roll 0 attack dice on next attack) will still strip a stealth device even though he rolled no dice during the attack). Likewise, draw their fire and xizor's ability can move the damage to a different ship, meaning the original target might not be taking any damage, but it was still "hit" because there were uncancelled boom/kaboom results.

Edited by Forgottenlore

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Hit" has a specific definition in the game (on page 12). If there are no uncancelled boom or kaboom results after the defender has rolled defense dice then the attack has "hit".

More precisely, that's at the end of the compare results step of the combat sequence, not immediately after the defender rolled his dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Last one for a while, but on a pilot like Whisper for instance when it states you get a token after you hit your target...does that mean you earn the token after you roll red dice and score a hit/crit, or after the defender has rolled and could not mitigate all the hits. I guess I'm asking is there a difference between successfully "hitting" and actually doing damage

 

A "hit" is a very specific game thing which comes after there are uncancelled attack dice after during the compare results step.  What happens with those results is unimportant and what came before them is unimportant.

 

You may notice some of us use [boom] to represent what is often called a 'hit' with a Red die and [kaboom] or [kablam] to represent what is commonly called a crit.  Specifically we used them to describe filled or unfilled explosion symbols on the red attack dice to help avoid confusion when things start calling for an attack to 'hit'.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...