Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Forensicus

"These are the 10 most common mistakes/misconceptions we all make"

Recommended Posts

Hi there. I wanted to make this thread in order to gather your input on the mistakes you either see other people do or make your self. By mistakes I mean mostly minor stuff like;

 

  • how you play a card and pay for it the correct way
  • when does unopposed bonus occur or applied
  • the order of steps for an attack
  • Force Struggle stuff
  • which reactions do you need to remind your opponent of

etc etc.

 

I will update this for post as your input comes in, feel free to bump/vote a certain thing up/down and I will try to keep up.

 

So please give your opinion/votes

 

 

The "list" so far: I know it is sort of a (bad??) mix of what examples of things done wrong and a "FAQ"

 

  • 1: Many players tend to pay resources before they put down the card they wish to play. This is wrong; when playing a card you should first put down the card, then pay the resources (if required) and then the card is "played". This helps your opponent to check/follow that affiliation resource match etc are met. Rulebook page 16:

When a player wishes to play a card

or is required to spend resources to

execute an ability, he first reveals the

card or designates the desired ability to

the opponent. Then he generates the

required number of resources from resource-providing

cards in his play area to pay for the cost. After doing

so, he plays the card or executes the designated ability.

 

  • 2: It is ONLY the first step of the Refresh Phase that the LS player skips in his/her first turn. Luckily the FAQ have "moved" the (Any effect with the text “after you refresh” can be used after completing this step.) to after Step 3

 

  • 3: Reactions/Interrupts are not mandatory unless it's a "Forced Reaction" or "Forced Interrupt". It is the joint responsibility of both players to ensure that the "game state" is upheld and adhered to. So in some (not all) cases it is not a "do over" or "takeback" but actually mandatory to grant yourself or your opponent a certain overlooked action or similar. From the "Tournament Rules

Special Note: It is both players’ responsibility to

observe all rules and maintain a proper game state.

This includes advancing the Death Star dial, observing

all Forced Reactions, Forced Interrupts, and passive

effects, placing the proper number of tokens on cards,

etc. If the game state is compromised through error on

the part of both players, their first recourse is to come

to an agreement between themselves as to how to best

address the situation and continue the game.

If the players cannot come to an agreement, they

may call a judge for a compromised game state. The

judge should give both players a warning for failure to

maintain proper game state, and may then arbitrate a

correction to the game state, announce a compromise,

or have the game continue in the current game state

as he determines best given the situation in question.

If the judge feels that the game state is irrevocably

compromised, he may score the game as a forfeit (loss)

for both players.

 

 

  • 4: Players tend to declare attackers before they declare the target. The correct procedure is:
    • Declare (target) Objective
    • Declare Attacker(s)
    • Declare Defender(s)
    • Edge Battle
    • Resolve Strike(s)
    • Reward Unopposed (if applicable)
  • 5: Resolving Strikes: Players tend to "Resolve Strikes" and THEN focus their unit. It is always the other way around. From the Rulebook page 20
    • To resolve a strike, a player follows these steps in order.

      1. He chooses one of his participating ready units.

      2. He focuses the unit to strike (i.e. places a focus

      token on the card).

      3. He resolves the striking unit’s combat icons by type.

  • 6: Unopposed Bonus: Many players are rushing or "prematurely" calculating or applying the "Unopposed Bonus" when attacking. As quoted on section 4 this isn't done until after all units have been focused to strike or exhausted (or dead, removed etc). Important when trying to free up Red Two.

 

 

Sincerely Niko

 

May the Force be with You

Edited by Forensicus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think Zach from TC posted an article about this here on FFG's pages, but I know one of the biggest temptations in the game is to hold onto your good cards for the right moment. An example would be keeping a palpatine you cannot play for multiple turns, or saving that Lightsaber deflection for just the "right" moment.

 

If you are not using a card for multiple turns, it is diminishing the total number of cards you are seeing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think Zach from TC posted an article about this here on FFG's pages, but I know one of the biggest temptations in the game is to hold onto your good cards for the right moment. An example would be keeping a palpatine you cannot play for multiple turns, or saving that Lightsaber deflection for just the "right" moment.

 

If you are not using a card for multiple turns, it is diminishing the total number of cards you are seeing.

 

While this is great advice, I think Forensicus is asking for actual proceedural errors, not misplays.

 

One thing I have to keep reminding myself of is that you cannot respond to an Action, except with an Interrupt effect. So if my opponent plays Force Choke, I can't play Our Most Desperate Hour to save my Character, because it's an Action, not an Interrupt. In almost every other game I've played, I can.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A few misconceptions that I encountered and only found out were wrong because there were relevant effects that impacted the way I played:

- You can only commit Ready Units to the Force during the Force Struggle (found out that was wrong when MtFBWY entered the card pool)

- You have to play a Reaction when the triggering condition happens (no, you don't have to take back all your units when The False Report enters play and you have Board control)

- You resolve unit damage bonuses when declaring the attack (Nope. Your Rogue Two will loose those additional Blast Damage if its two flanking speeders are Heat of Battle'd)

- When an enemy card effect affects one of your cards, it's the target of that card effect (Nope. When the only Vehicle you control is an undamaged Executor, destroying an X-Wing Escort means that you'll have to sacfrifice the Executor)

Edited by WookieeRoar

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A few misconceptions that I encountered and only found out were wrong because there were relevant effects that impacted the way I played:

- You can only commit Ready Units to the Force during the Force Struggle (found out that was wrong when MtFBWY entered the card pool)

 

I'm a new player and I read this as saying the rule is you can only commit Ready Units to the force.   I just wanted to clarify that Wookie is saying these were the things he was doing WRONG.  

 

The actual rule is:

 

The active player may commit any unit cards in his play area to the Force (except for a unit card that is already committed to the Force). 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...