Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Cabae

R2 Astromech with Daredevil

Recommended Posts

can the R2 make the Daredevil Maneuver green?

if so, does it remove the stress it generates?

 

 

with the errata to Dauntless I've taken a look again at interesting cards like Daredevil and Expert Handling thinking maybe they have more uses than one sees at first glance 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe Daredevil has been changed via errata to read "Perform a white 1-turn, then receive a stress". In which case, no.

 

Also, when looking at other uses of R2 Astromech, remember that anything which turns a maneuver to red takes precedence over anything that would turn a maneuver green. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think that it would change the white maneuver green, however as daredevil is performed in the action step after the check stress step you would not normally be able to remove the stress.

 

I was thinking about the same thing following a discussion on the UK X-wing facebook group, you would need to put this on an e-wing with advanced sensors.

 

1. Do your action before revealing a dial (daredevil and R2 turns it green), receive stress.

2. Then execute maneuver on your dial, note that this cannot be red as you now have a stress.

3. In the check pilot stress step you have done at least 1 green and so should clear the stress token.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

can the R2 make the Daredevil Maneuver green?

Yes he can. The maneuver is green.

 

 

if so, does it remove the stress it generates?

No. It does not remove stress. Daredevil allows you to perform step 3 execute maneuver of the activation phase. It does not allow you to perform any of the other five steps. You do not perform step 4 check pilot stress just like you do not perform step 6 perform action.

Of course you cannot perform step 3 without step 2 (place maneuver template) and a part of step 5 (remove maneuver template). But no, you are not allowed to do so. RAW you have to pick up your model and put it down at the other end of the non-existing maneuver template.

 

Daredevil with R2 is a green maneuver which does not remove stress. Daredevil with damaged engine is a red maneuver which does not give you stress. The daredevil card itself adds a stress token regardless of colour.

 

The original wording of the card had a red maneuver that did not deal stress at all. That's the main reason for the errata.

 

 

Edit:

Executing a maneuver never adds or removes a stress token. The check pilot stress step does.

Edited by dvor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so then what happens when you hit a Debris Cloud with a Daredevil action as it only makes you take the stress during the check stress step with the new FAQ (3/27/15)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No check step = no stress.

 

That's good to know.  That also means you don't roll for damage if you hit the debris cloud (or an asteroid) with daredevil?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes you do roll for damage and/or add stress.

 

Yes, you would roll for damage. You've performed a maneuver that made you overlap; that part of the debris rules is triggered by Daredevil.

 

But you absolutely would not add stress. The wording on the debris field is very precise: you only apply the stress during the "Check Pilot Stress" step. If there is no step, there is no stress.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

can the R2 make the Daredevil Maneuver green?

Yes he can. The maneuver is green.

 

 

if so, does it remove the stress it generates?

No. It does not remove stress. Daredevil allows you to perform step 3 execute maneuver of the activation phase. It does not allow you to perform any of the other five steps. You do not perform step 4 check pilot stress just like you do not perform step 6 perform action.

Of course you cannot perform step 3 without step 2 (place maneuver template) and a part of step 5 (remove maneuver template). But no, you are not allowed to do so. RAW you have to pick up your model and put it down at the other end of the non-existing maneuver template.

 

Daredevil with R2 is a green maneuver which does not remove stress. Daredevil with damaged engine is a red maneuver which does not give you stress. The daredevil card itself adds a stress token regardless of colour.

 

The original wording of the card had a red maneuver that did not deal stress at all. That's the main reason for the errata.

 

 

Edit:

Executing a maneuver never adds or removes a stress token. The check pilot stress step does.

 

 

According to a recent discussion on the UK X-Wing facebook group where one of the participants emailed Alex Davy the daredevil turn remains a white turn even with damaged engine, so would assume that R2 does not make it white. 

 

This will apparently be in the next FAQ.

 

 

Yes you do roll for damage and/or add stress.

 

Yes, you would roll for damage. You've performed a maneuver that made you overlap; that part of the debris rules is triggered by Daredevil.

 

But you absolutely would not add stress. The wording on the debris field is very precise: you only apply the stress during the "Check Pilot Stress" step. If there is no step, there is no stress.

 

 

There's no implication here as daredevil is generally done in the action step but with a debris cloud you add the stress after the "Check Pilot Stress" step to prevent people trying to remove it as a consequence of doing a green in the same turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Previously the Daredevil card wording was "Execute a red hard 1 turn maneuver.  Then, if you do not have the Boost action icon, roll 2 attack dice. Suffer any damage and critical damage rolled.” 
- This implied that you were performing a red maneuver and stress resulted from the maneuver.
 

The current Daredevil from FAQ reads as follows:

“Action: Execute a white[ 1] or [ 1] hard turn maneuver. Then, receive 1 stress token. Then, if you do not have the Boost action icon, roll 2 attack dice. Suffer any damage and critical damage rolled.” 
- This implies that you perform a maneuver as your action and stress is a result of the ACTION - not the maneuver.
 
R2 Astromech treats all 1 and 2 speed maneuvers as green.  So on the original card - I would have interpreted it as a no-stress move, but with the new FAQ wording - you should receive a stress.
 
One question I would have is whether you can perform the Daredevil Action if it results in you overlapping another ship or obstacle?
On Barrel Rolls and Boosts - it was specified that you can't perform the action if it results in the overlap.
It would make sense to me that Daredevil should be treated the same - BUT-  there is nothing stating this, so it can be interpreted as an acceptable move.
Curious if FFG will clarify this scenario.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Yes you do roll for damage and/or add stress.

 

Yes, you would roll for damage. You've performed a maneuver that made you overlap; that part of the debris rules is triggered by Daredevil.

 

But you absolutely would not add stress. The wording on the debris field is very precise: you only apply the stress during the "Check Pilot Stress" step. If there is no step, there is no stress.

 

 

You apply the Stress after the "Check Pilot Stress Step"

 

In any case it doesn't matter because of the following ruling on Daredevil in FAQ.

 

Daredevil

A ship that performs the Daredevil action follows all
normal rules for executing a maneuver. Daredevil may
be performed even if the ship would overlap another
ship or obstacle; resolve the overlapping as normal.
 
So R2 would turn the Daredevil turn green. But since you cannot Daredevil when you are stressed (as only Tycho can action while stressed) and have an R2 the fact the manoeuvre is now green is irrelevant. Since you wouldn't have a stress to remove. The manoeuvre on the card is white and you stress after the check step to stop people dodging the stress on R2 and Daredevil equipped ships.
I note that read as written so far there are 2 interesting edge cases.
1) Tycho with Damaged engine and stress cannot perform Daredevil. Since he cannot perform a red manoeuvre while stressed.
 
2) Anyone else with a damaged Engine who uses Daredevil gets 2 stress.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is an entry on p.11 of the current FAQ which states that daredevil should follow all the normal rules for manoeuvres and that it can be executed even if the ship would execute another ship or obstacle.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Previously the Daredevil card wording was "Execute a red hard 1 turn maneuver.  Then, if you do not have the Boost action icon, roll 2 attack dice. Suffer any damage and critical damage rolled.” 
- This implied that you were performing a red maneuver and stress resulted from the maneuver.
 

The current Daredevil from FAQ reads as follows:

“Action: Execute a white[ 1] or [ 1] hard turn maneuver. Then, receive 1 stress token. Then, if you do not have the Boost action icon, roll 2 attack dice. Suffer any damage and critical damage rolled.” 
- This implies that you perform a maneuver as your action and stress is a result of the ACTION - not the maneuver.
 
R2 Astromech treats all 1 and 2 speed maneuvers as green.  So on the original card - I would have interpreted it as a no-stress move, but with the new FAQ wording - you should receive a stress.
 
One question I would have is whether you can perform the Daredevil Action if it results in you overlapping another ship or obstacle?
On Barrel Rolls and Boosts - it was specified that you can't perform the action if it results in the overlap.
It would make sense to me that Daredevil should be treated the same - BUT-  there is nothing stating this, so it can be interpreted as an acceptable move.
Curious if FFG will clarify this scenario.

 

 

Daredevil was changed to prevent shenanigans with R2 units meaning it was not causing stress.

 

Yes as per current FAQ Daredevil is a manoeuvre and you bump ships and may overlap obstacles as normal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Previously the Daredevil card wording was "Execute a red hard 1 turn maneuver.  Then, if you do not have the Boost action icon, roll 2 attack dice. Suffer any damage and critical damage rolled.” 
- This implied that you were performing a red maneuver and stress resulted from the maneuver.

That implication may be what the designers intended. RAW it did not work that way. It was a red maneuver but there was no stress.

 

The manoeuvre on the card is white and you stress after the check step ...

During Daredevil, there is no check pilot stress step.

 

 

There is an entry on p.11 of the current FAQ which states that daredevil should follow all the normal rules for manoeuvres and that it can be executed even if the ship would execute another ship or obstacle.

That's not exactly what it says.

 

A ship that performs the Daredevil action follows all normal rules for executing a maneuver. Daredevil may be performed even if the ship would overlap another ship or obstacle; resolve the overlapping as normal.

 

"Executing a maneuver" refers to step three execute maneuver of the activation phase. Daredevil follows all normal rules of that step.

Edited by dvor

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The manoeuvre on the card is white and you stress after the check step ...

During Daredevil, there is no check pilot stress step.

 

This deserved to be repeated.

 

 

The lack of a "check pilot stress" step means that the color of the maneuver has no impact.

 

Example A: if somehow Tycho equipped an R2 Astromech and performed a Daredevil action, the resulting green turn maneuver would not cause him to remove a stress.

 

Example B: if a ship with a Damaged Engine crit performs a Daredevil action, the resulting red turn maneuver would not cause it to receive a 2 stress tokens (1 from red maneuver, and 1 from Daredevil)

Edited by Klutz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One weird edge case I can see:

 

If Tycho has Daredevil, a pile of stress tokens, and a Damaged Engine crit...

 

Can Tycho use Daredevil?

 

Or does Damaged Engine make the 1 turn maneuver red, and is therefore illegal when stressed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Daredevil was changed to prevent shenanigans with R2 units meaning it was not causing stress.

 

Daredevil was changed because they decided that "execute a maneuver" abilities were only Step 3, meaning there was nothing else (like a stress check).  So the color of Daredevil's maneuver was wholly irrelevant.  Of course, with it being only Step 3 you never actually put your maneuver templates down, which makes it hard to execute your maneuver!

 

Personally, I think they would have been better off just rewriting the entire Activation Phase rules.  The steps are pretty horrible.  IMHO would have fixed most of these issues if they just made the stress check trigger by executing a maneuver.  Instead their odd reluctance to actually change the rule book in a useful way gives us the eternal "Execute a white <something> maneuver.  Then, receive one stress" on every single card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One weird edge case I can see:

 

If Tycho has Daredevil, a pile of stress tokens, and a Damaged Engine crit...

 

Can Tycho use Daredevil?

 

Or does Damaged Engine make the 1 turn maneuver red, and is therefore illegal when stressed?

Looks correct on all counts to me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One weird edge case I can see:

 

If Tycho has Daredevil, a pile of stress tokens, and a Damaged Engine crit...

 

Can Tycho use Daredevil?

 

Or does Damaged Engine make the 1 turn maneuver red, and is therefore illegal when stressed?

RAW (rules as written) it is a red maneuver. Stress prohibits that.

 

I asked FFG:

Damaged Engine does not make the Daredevil maneuver red, so stressed Tycho can still make use of it.

Cheers,

Alex Davy

That may be RAI (rules as intended). They'd better put that rule change into the next FAQ.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One weird edge case I can see:

 

If Tycho has Daredevil, a pile of stress tokens, and a Damaged Engine crit...

 

Can Tycho use Daredevil?

 

Or does Damaged Engine make the 1 turn maneuver red, and is therefore illegal when stressed?

RAW (rules as written) it is a red maneuver. Stress prohibits that.

Actually, wouldn't the RAW be that the opponent then gets to set your dial, but since your not executing the maneuver on your dial anymore that doesn't actually do anything? (Unless you are DDing with advanced sensors)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...