Sign in to follow this  
DaBigPapaMonkey

Where To start?

Okay, so I am new to RPG's both as a player and as a GM. I own most of the rule books for Rogue Trader, Only War, Black Crusade, Dark Heresey(1st e) and Deathwatch. My family has finally agreed to entertain the idea of playing one of these games with me. I like to think that I have a decent amount of knowledge with the 4ok universe, but my family has none. I will have both male and females players. up to three players total. I was wondering if there is any suggestions as to which universe to introduce them into the 40k universe while also keeping it easy for all of us having no RPG experience. (I mostly collected the books for a personal collection point in hopes eventually I'd find someone to play with). Any suggestions or feedback is greatly appreciated.

If you want to introduce D&D-style dungeon crawls in the far, far future, then play Dark Heresy.  If you want a grander scale without having to worry about the minutae of personal combat then Rogue Trader is your baby.  I would absolutely NOT go with Deatwatch, Only War, or Dark Crusade for a new group.

I'd say Dark Crusade is right out.  That takes both the most lore knowledge and the most experienced gamers, IMHO.

I actually find Deathwatch to be the most Dungeon Crawl in Space, but if you're talking about mixed family startup, that's probably not really going to be what you're looking for. Deathwatch is all about playing super-warriors, so that's got to be what everyone wants to play.  On a similar note, Only War is really only good if the everyone likes pretending they're in Band of Brothers.