Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Dadajef

[card APY F110] The Thing Behind You

Recommended Posts


 A question with the wording of The Thing Behind You. As we read the card we can understand you can return in your hand one of your own Hastur character or an opponent's hastur character.
I think you can return in your hand only card you own. So how can we understand the text of The Thing Behind You ?

1) Pay 2 and return a [Hastur] character to the card's owner hand ... (in this case you can return an opponent's character in his hand or one of your character in your hand)
2) Pay 2 and return one of your own [Hastur] character to your hand ... (in this case you can return only one of your own character, even if you don't control it ?)

What do you think ? what is the idea of the card ? Targeting only your characters or all Hastur characters in game (and so a nice combo with Stange Delusions for exemple) ?


•The Thing Behind You, Turn around!
-----------------------------------
Type : Character
Cost : 5
Skill : 1
Icons : TTTTT
Subtype : Sorcerer.
Game Text : Fast. Action: Pay 2 and return a [Hastur] character to your hand to put The Thing Behind You into play from your hand.
Flavor text : Of course, he had been tricked again...
Illustrator : Cris Griffin
Collector's Info : APY F110

 

Strange Delusions
-----------------
Type : Support
Cost : 1
Subtype : Attachment.
Game Text : Attach to a character or support card. Action: Exhaust Strange Delusions to give attached card a faction affiliation of your choice until the end of the phase.
Flavor text :
Illustrator : Katherine Dinger
Collector's Info : APY F118

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

and so actually, just to know, you are all playing the Thing by targeting only your own Hastur characters even if you don't control them? The wording of the card is clear enough for you ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am not an English speaker, but imho the sentence is clear.

You can only return cards to your hand if you owned it previously.

The most far you can go is to pay 2 and return a Hastur character you lost control and now is in opponent's play table, which seems you can do it without problems... I think it would read "a Hastur character you control" to avoid this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


TheProfessor said:

... it might have switched control to your opponent, but it had to start in your hand.

Not only, start  in your hand. If you put into play an Hastur character from your deck or discard pile, this card has never been in your hand and you could return it in your hand.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dadajef said:


TheProfessor said:

 

... it might have switched control to your opponent, but it had to start in your hand.

 

 

Not only, start  in your hand. If you put into play an Hastur character from your deck or discard pile, this card has never been in your hand and you could return it in your hand.

 

 

UPS! You are right... it must have to say that the card must begin in your the game in you deck!

Thanks Prof gui%C3%B1o.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

PearlJamaholic said:

this came up last game and wasnt sure if this works but can thing behind you return cards from you discard pile to your hand? it seems most cards mention return from discard pile but im just double checking here.

No, the character to return has to be in play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...