Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Simonsays3

Redirect Clarification

Recommended Posts

Hi All!

 

Our group got together yesterday and were having a grand 'ol time crushing rebels and shredding ties. However, we hit a point of contention when it came time to use the redirect token. Specifically, how damage gets moved between shields. Here's the text of the card for reference:

 

"The defender chooses one of it's hull zones adjacent to the defending hull zone.When the defender suffers damage from this attack it may suffer any amount of damage on the chosen zone's shields (up to the shields remaining on that zone) before it must suffer the remaining damage on the defending zone."

 

Now my understanding was that redirect lets you split the damage any way you see fit between the different hull zones (as long as you have shields on the adjacent zone of course). My group thought that it meant you had to suffer all the damage on the adjacent zone, while leftover damage hit the targeted zone.

 

To put it in gameplay perspective, my opponent had a close range Nebulon B in the front arc of my VSD as well as two xwing squadrons at distance 1. He rolled 3 hits on my front arc so I used redirect. What I wanted to do, was take 2 of those hits on an adjacent arc (which had 3 shields) and then just suffer 1 hit on my front arc, ensuring hits/crits from the xwings would only bounce off the shields and guard my side arc against a 3rd squadron waiting to pounce.

 

Since the group had been playing it the other way, we decided that we couldn't do that and I took full damage on my side arc (fortunately his 3rd squadron missed :)). However, we all agreed it could use some clarification.

 

In my mind, the key phrase is "any amount of damage". To me, that sounds like the defender gets to choose how much damage to redirect. If it worked the other way, i would think it would read "it must suffer all damage up to the chosen zone's shield points before suffering the remaining damage on the defending zone".

 

However, I was definitely in the minority yesterday and could be reading it all wrong. Any have thoughts or clarification on this topic?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have understood it correctly.

 

The key words here are 'may' and 'any'...

 

"You may suffer any amount of damage" with the only stipulation being that the maximum damage allowed is equal to the remaining shields in that zone. So if you want to take 1, 2, or 3 hits on the redirected zone, that is your call.

 

I don't think it can be any more clear than 'may suffer any amount of damage'...

Edited by DWRR

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, that's the way I read it. I think the idea is essentially "all power to forward shields". 

 

You're redirecting power from an adjacent area of the ship to the shields getting hit. So it's draining power from a shielded section in order to absorb the damage coming in from another. But it's not an all or nothing scenario.

 

The line "may suffer any amount of damage on the chosen zone's shields" seems to reinforce this idea. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have understood it correctly.

 

The key words here are 'may' and 'any'...

 

"You may suffer any amount of damage" with the only stipulation being that the maximum damage allowed is equal to the remaining shields in that zone. So if you want to take 1, 2, or 3 hits on the redirected zone, that is your call.

 

I don't think it can be any more clear than 'may suffer any amount of damage'...

That was my understanding as well but i wanted to make sure I wasn't missing anything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to be clear, even if you do play with the rule that you can split any amount of the total damage between any number of shields, the shields you have to choose from have to be "ADJACENT" to the shield that was hit. That is, LEFT side you can choose top or botton (fore or aft) but not the left side. 

 

We are playing this way but wouldn't be surprised to see FFG release an FAQ that forces ALL damage to be put on an adjacent shield...not that you can split it up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So wait can i split it to 2 adjecent zones or not ?

Lets say hit of 4 on front, can i flip a redirect token and do 2 on left and 2 on right side ?

Or would you select one zone, so 4 to left or right ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If All We are talking about, is a Normal, Every day Redirect Token:

 

You may select ONE hull zone adjacent.  That may be the one on either side, but it is only ONE of them.

 

You may suffer damage on THAT zone UP TO the amount of Shields on that zone...  No more, but it may be Less.

 

The Remainder of the damage is suffered on the ORIGINALLY TARGETED ZONE.

 

 

 

 

IF we add Advanced Projectors to the Party, and by Party I mean Defender

 

You may suffer damage on Any zone, up to that Zone's Shields (and again, no more, but it may be less).  With any leftover damage being caught on the ORIGINALLY TARGETED ZONE.

 

 

 

IF we add XI-7 Turbolasers to the Party Pooper, and by Pooper, I mean attacker

 

Then Only ONE SINGLE POINT may be assigned to a Hull Zone other than the Originally Targeted zone...  This may be a single adjacent zone if its just a Redirect Token, or ANY zone if the Party has Advanced Projectors.

 

 

 

 

 

TO USE YOUR EXAMPLE

My Corvette takes 4 Points of Damage to its Front (Bow).  Its Front (Bow) has 2, and its Port (Left) and Starboard (Right) have 2 Shields Remaining.

I flip a Redirect Token, and decide the Starboard (Right) is the best location, and suffer EITHER ONE OR TWO points of Damage to it.  The remainder of that Damage will be to the Front.  In order to not take Hull damage, I decide to Redirect 2...

That means my Starboard takes 2 (the maximum it could), and the front takes the Remainder.

 

 

 

Then, you shoot at my Second Corvette, who has Advanced Projectors - and you hit it for 4 points on the Front...

Because of the Advanced Projectors, I spend its Redirect token, and decide to suffer One Point on the Rear...  One Point on the Left, Two Points on the Right, and One on the Front...  Only my Right shield is down (probably because I expect to keep it away from you.)

 

 

 

Unluckily for me, you Unload at my 3rd Corvette with XI-7 Turbolasers...   My corvette is stock standard, and takes 4 points on the Nose...  I spend my Redirect Token, I shift ONE DAMAGE to either the left or right shield (in this case, I chose left), and then the remaining 3 Damage is suffered to the Nose...  Two Shields are Obliterated and I take a Hit to the Hull....

 

 

Because I'm having a Really, really, Really bad day, my Fourth Corvette takes an XI-7 Turbolaser to the Nose for 4 damage, and it has Advanced Projectors...  I can pick One Hull Zone, any one Zone, and suffer one Damage to it...  I choose the Rear, it takes its one point of damage, and then the Remaining 3 smack through the Nose and I take a Hull point of Damage...

 

 

 

Any further questions?  :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So wait can i split it to 2 adjecent zones or not ?

Lets say hit of 4 on front, can i flip a redirect token and do 2 on left and 2 on right side ?

Or would you select one zone, so 4 to left or right ?

 

If you get hit for 4 damage on the front, and spend a Redirect, you get to choose either the left or the right hull zones and take 0-4 damage on the chosen zone, with the remainder being taken by the front zone.

 

So you could choose to take 2 front and 2 left, or 1 front and 3 right, but not 2 left and 2 right.

 

 

 

...unless you have Advanced Projectors upgrade, which lets you split the damage against as many zones as you want.

 

EDIT: Uberninja'd by Dras :D

Edited by DiabloAzul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...