Sign in to follow this  
tripecac

Revisting old quests, expansions, cycles

How often do you go back and revisit old quests? 

When you do revisit them, do you play through entire expansions and cycles, or do you just focus on your favorite single quests?

Also, do you play the old quests with "today's" decks, or do you limit yourself to "contemporary" decks (only those cards available at the time the quest was published)?

When the meta changes and new deck types become available I tend to go back and play almost every quest with the new deck, like with Gandalf, the Silvans and now the Dunedain after having played the new quests. I do skip about 5-10 quests which I really don't like or which are completely unsuitable to the deck type.

I started playing this game a year ago. I own Core, Mirkwood, Khazad-Dum + Dwarrowdelf, Hobbit saga, Heirs of Numenor + Against the Shadow, and Massing at Osgiliath, Battle of Lake-Town and Stone of Erech. That having been said, I have yet to play the last two quests in the second Hobbit expansion, and have not yet played HoN, AtS, or Stone of Erech.

When first playing quests, I first limit myself to cards that were available at the time of release. I like to get my money's worth for APs and expansions, so even after I win, I'll play them multiple times before moving on. I played all of Core and Mirkwood straight solo first, then played it all over again solo 2-handed with 2 decks… then played them again with different hero combinations. For KD/Dwarrowdelf/Hobbit, I have been doing it the other way around -- play everything 2-handed first, then straight solo (have not yet attempted the Hobbit quests straight solo).