Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Chetote

Rules question: engages and Archaon

Recommended Posts

Well, my question is pretty simple: when archaon flips and pins 2 enemy disks, does his ability activate for each disk, I mean, would each disk suffer 2 magic damage? Or any ability that says "when you engage" applies only once per flip, making both pinned disks suffer just 1 magic damage (plus impact)?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Both disks would suffer 2 physical damage from his impact, then his ability would trigger, dealing 1 magic damage to each enemy disk within short range.  So both enemy disks that he pinned would take a total of 3 damage.  Since the engagement is simultaneous, his ability would only trigger once.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, the ability triggers more than once.  In this instance, it would trigger twice, dealing two arcane damage.

 

Per the designer's words: (and courtesy of the Sniper Troll's rules compendium)

Q: If a disk has an ability that says “when this disk engages an enemy” (i.e. Archaon), does its ability trigger multiple times when it engages more than one enemy at once?
A: Yes, Archaon and similar abilities trigger each time they engage a disk. This is different than an ability that says “When this disk engages at least 1 enemy…” which would only trigger once.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...