Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
StarBurn

Bunch'a Questions From a Starter Set and Player

Recommended Posts

okaaaay... so I'll try to rank them by stupidity...the more stupid ones go first so you can feel a progression.

1. I give my opponent 3 "baby" cthulus and I get 3 as well...now If I run out of them...can I still activate domains ?! or do I only get 3 a turn ?! (assuming I got more than one domain)

2. I understand some decks...miscatonik and syndicate I think...one has 19 and the other 21...is this a mistake? any errata ? (I don't remember seeing it in the FAQ)

3. The manual only states "for the first game rules" what about my other games :/... is it always the same 2 neutral decks, and what about the wiskey cover up story?

4. Okay so some of the story cards say stuff like Kill all creatures with a printed skill of 3 or higher...or 2 or lower. What happens if theire skill is modified by efects of the Shaggot card (-1 skill to all characters)...would skill 3 creatures still be wiped out even if the modified skill is 2 ? and what about insane characters they are treated as 0 skill...does that mean they are immune to the effect ?

5. Easy one, I'm guessing I can mix more than 2 colors if so desired in future deck building?

6. There is one character cost 1 in The Blue deck (really late here)...which can steal the symbols of another creature. Would he only steal the printed icons on the card or those of any attachments as well ?

7. Again a card specific one, there is a certain card in the Cthulu deck (a deep one), Forced Responce: when you comit him to a story he wounds every creature there other than himself. Im thinking that includes mine...and basically...if I'm the active player and comit him alone to a story...he would have nothing to wound, at least till my opponent responds and sends someone to protect. Long story short...by the text I'm thinking his power activates the moment he joins a story so he would only be really good in defense.

hope you can understand all that and help :P much appreciated. Its been a long time since I played any TCGs, CCGs, LCGs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

StarBurn said:

 

1. I give my opponent 3 "baby" cthulus and I get 3 as well...now If I run out of them...can I still activate domains ?! or do I only get 3 a turn ?! (assuming I got more than one domain)

 

 

Yes you can activate(drain) more than three domains a turn. The Cthulhu statues are just a little added bit for fun. Anything can be used to indicate a domain is drained. A bead, coins, etc...

StarBurn said:

 

2. I understand some decks...miscatonik and syndicate I think...one has 19 and the other 21...is this a mistake? any errata ? (I don't remember seeing it in the FAQ)

 

 

Steve Clarney was originally a Miskatonic character but was misprinted into Agency in the core set. Though this is a known misprint it has not been errated and the official ruling is that he is to be played a Agency.

StarBurn said:

 

3. The manual only states "for the first game rules" what about my other games :/... is it always the same 2 neutral decks, and what about the wiskey cover up story?

 

 

If using only one core set to make decks the best breakdown is to use 2 factions, 1/2 of the neutral cards, minus the Conspiracy card "The Bootleg Whiskey Cover Up". Truthfully you could mix or match however you like but this seems to be the best way to use a Core set only. As you add additional cards or coresets it makes it easier to do a larger variety of combinations. "The Whiskey Cover Up" I think was just included to show players what a Conspiracy card "looks" like and give them an idea of how they function. And was thus not included in the "first game" card selection.

StarBurn said:

 

4. Okay so some of the story cards say stuff like Kill all creatures with a printed skill of 3 or higher...or 2 or lower. What happens if theire skill is modified by efects of the Shaggot card (-1 skill to all characters)...would skill 3 creatures still be wiped out even if the modified skill is 2 ? and what about insane characters they are treated as 0 skill...does that mean they are immune to the effect ?

 

 

Characters are treated as what their modified skill is currently. So if a skill 3 character is in play and "Spell-bound Shoggoth" is in play his net skill is 2. So he would be affected by anything that targets "skill 2 or lower". Insane characters are always treated as a skill 0 character, and would be affected by the same things as "Young Deep One" as an example. For a more indepth example of how skill adjustment works I would recommend reading the section "Multiple Lasting Effects" found on in the FAQ on the support page of the CoC LCG site.

StarBurn said:

 

5. Easy one, I'm guessing I can mix more than 2 colors if so desired in future deck building?

 

 

Yes. Again as you have more cards making a larger variety of deck types becomes available. You can mix and match as many factions as you like within a single deck.

StarBurn said:

 

6. There is one character cost 1 in The Blue deck (really late here)...which can steal the symbols of another creature. Would he only steal the printed icons on the card or those of any attachments as well ?

 

 

The card "Paul Lemond" states that he gains all of that characters printed icons. When a card refers to somethings printed icons it means ONLY the ones physically printed on the cards. It does not affect any given by attachments, abilities, etc..

StarBurn said:

 

7. Again a card specific one, there is a certain card in the Cthulu deck (a deep one), Forced Responce: when you comit him to a story he wounds every creature there other than himself. Im thinking that includes mine...and basically...if I'm the active player and comit him alone to a story...he would have nothing to wound, at least till my opponent responds and sends someone to protect. Long story short...by the text I'm thinking his power activates the moment he joins a story so he would only be really good in defense.

 

 

The card "Ravager from the Deep" is indeed best used defensively. He would indeed wound any of your own characters assigned to a story with him, as all characters from a single player are assigned together at once. He generally sits back and scares the pants off of any opponents thinking about committing their own characters to a story.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mostly cleared up, but just to make sure (and thank you of course btw).

1a. When building a deck in the core set its okay to say I'm limited too the 2 neutral packs of cards in the rule book? Or can I just shuffle them all and split them 7 each?

2a. Okay so Paul Leamond only steals printed Icons, so I return to my previous question the Spell-Bound Shaggot reduces the skill of everyone by 1, but the story cards say "With a printed skill of 2/3 or lower/higher". That is Why I'm asking would a skill 3 character still get removed by the story because he has a printed value of 3 or will he be immune because of spell bound shaggot. ?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dark Young said:

 

The card "Paul Lemond" states that he gains all of that characters printed icons. When a card refers to somethings printed icons it means ONLY the ones physically printed on the cards. It does not affect any given by attachments, abilities, etc..

 

 

Are you sure of this interpretation? I thaught it was mentioned that "Printed Icon" means all that chracters icons, including the ones he gains from items/spells/whatever.

Is my interpretation completely wrong? Did i miss anything in the FAQ/Manual?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FAQ, p. 8:

"(v1.0) Printed Icons
Printed icons refer only to the icons
printed on the left-hand side of
character cards. Thus, icons granted to
a character by card abilities would not
be removed by the event Binding (Core
Set F36) which reads, “Action: Choose
a character. Until the end of the phase,
that character loses all of its printed
icons.”"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

StarBurn said:

1a. When building a deck in the core set its okay to say I'm limited too the 2 neutral packs of cards in the rule book? Or can I just shuffle them all and split them 7 each?

I think it's probably fine to just shuffle the neutral cards and deal out 7 each. However, I will say that in the past when CoC was a CCG these cards would have been listed as common, uncommon, or rare. Based (usually) on their strength/ability to affect the game. I haven't gone through to see which of these cards  are common/uncommon/rare versus their CCG counterparts but I bet there's a good chance they're split up to have a "balanced" split as recommended in the core rule book.

StarBurn said:

2a. Okay so Paul Leamond only steals printed Icons, so I return to my previous question the Spell-Bound Shaggot reduces the skill of everyone by 1, but the story cards say "With a printed skill of 2/3 or lower/higher". That is Why I'm asking would a skill 3 character still get removed by the story because he has a printed value of 3 or will he be immune because of spell bound shaggot. ?

 

Ah, sorry I missed that little bit before. I'm assuming you're asking about the two story cards "Rotting Away" and "Through the Gates". While I can't say I've seen a defninitive ruling on "printed skill" I think it's reasonable to assume it's just like "printed icons", in that it only refers to the actual skill printed on the card. Similar to how "printed cost" also only refers the the actual cost printed on the card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

IvanVladislav said:

At the same time, I believe the stories say printed skill 3 or higher/2 or lower, and thus the shoggoth would NOT effect the outcome

Yes, correct, I'm sorry if my answer didn't clarify that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@lfx

As my memory serves, quite soon after the Arkham Edition was released I recall an official ruling which stated that, un-intuitively, printed icons referred to all current icons including those granted by events, attachments, etc.  'Binding' was severely nerfed by this. sad.gif

 

That ruling was later repealed, and the current errata (which seems much more logical) was put in place.  As quoted by Dam.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...