Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
CrowOfPyke

A couple of questions

Recommended Posts

I bought the game way back when at GenCon when it was released.  Played it a lot then, haven't played a lot in a LONG LONG time for various reasons.  Busted it out again the other night... came across a couple of questions that I could not remember the answer to, so any help here is appreciated.

1- Page 18 rulebook: "If at any point a player has no bases or units on the board, he is immediately eliminated from the game."  This could mean three different things.  A player has a base left, but no units - eliminated.  A player has units left, but no bases - eliminated.  And the third one is that for a player to be eliminated they must have no bases AND no units left.  Just wondering how this is being played by the masses....

2- I have seen reference on the forums to how the Brood War expansion "fixes" the flyers. Is there a problem with them in the base game?  Someone played the game enough to find the broken loophole, or is it that flyers are unusable-broken?

3- I have noticed in my play of Starcraft that the Assist units hardly seem worth it at times since they count against the number of units you can in a area/region.  I noticed that Brood War fixes this with a base expansion.  Has anyone tried playing the base Starcraft game with a house rule stating that Assist units don't count against area stack limits?  Just wondering if that would go too far and take Assist units from marginal to insanely overpowered....

 

That's about it... for now.  Still really love this game.  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 - No units AND no bases = eliminated.

2 - In SC some flying units were broken, in my SC I had 1 such element. In BW FFG fixed that problem.

3 - No house rules about assist units in my crew. Assists units are very very powerfull and I think that someone with another opinion was playing SC very badly. Science Vessel can be very deadly for everyone and for example Archon Psionic Storm is one of the main adventage on the battle field for the protos player and so on and so on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aba said:

1 - No units AND no bases = eliminated.

2 - In SC some flying units were broken, in my SC I had 1 such element. In BW FFG fixed that problem.

3 - No house rules about assist units in my crew. Assists units are very very powerfull and I think that someone with another opinion was playing SC very badly. Science Vessel can be very deadly for everyone and for example Archon Psionic Storm is one of the main adventage on the battle field for the protos player and so on and so on.

 

On #2 - Ah, I think I understand now.  You mean the actual miniature piece was broken, ie- the flying miniatures plastic stands would break.  Yes, that was a problem with the SC game.  This is not about flying units being a broken game mechanic.  Got it.  :)

 

Thanks for the reply, much appreciated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

I have one question. Obstructed orders are normally executed when other players execute orders from the stack, even when several times I had to draw event card, am I right? Or basicly there is four turns to exetute orders, and then game will proceed to the Regrouping Phase and obstucted orders are lost? Mayby it is a stupid question, but I was playing SC only once.

Thanks in advance...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You always get to execute your orders. When they are obstructed it only delays it's execution (that maybe the objective), so the event card you draw are extra, and the orders are NOT lost. That way, one player may ended up playing severals orders after all other have finish their.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...