Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jeremy8

Infiltrate! Quest Card

9 posts in this topic

The Infiltrate! quest card has two Forced actions, both are for the "beginning of your turn".

There don't appear to be rules governing the order that multiple actions must occur in when they happen at the same time and it's important in this case. So is it the owner's choice? 

Is there an official FAQ yet? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jeremy said:

The Infiltrate! quest card has two Forced actions, both are for the "beginning of your turn".

There don't appear to be rules governing the order that multiple actions must occur in when they happen at the same time and it's important in this case. So is it the owner's choice? 

Is there an official FAQ yet? 

 

Good point.

 

Ok my interpretation would be:

*Both forced effects trigger

*Active player decides which order they will enter the FILO stack (First in Last out)

*Player will stack the 'Discard X card effect first'

*Player will stack the 'Add an extra token effect first'

*Stack will resolve with the player adding a token first and then forcing the opponent to discard the extra card.

 

Obviously there are windows between the effects for other players to play other effects that may cancel or affect the stack.

 

Admittedly this is all conjecture, but as much as I hate to say this...if this were Mtg, this is how it would play out (minus a few steps)

 

:)

 

Osiris

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We actually ruled it the other way in play, mainly because I felt like it was going to be a damaging card and wanted to make sure I wasn't getting a benefit I shouldn't have.

Assuming your way is correct I cheated myself of one turn of a forced discard. Even so it was a devastating card, I wound up sinking half of my opponents deck and getting the win without  burning a single zone. There really wasn't anything he could do about it particularly when it got out so early.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jeremy said:

The Infiltrate! quest card has two Forced actions, both are for the "beginning of your turn".

There don't appear to be rules governing the order that multiple actions must occur in when they happen at the same time and it's important in this case. So is it the owner's choice? 

Is there an official FAQ yet? 

You trigger 'm at the same time, so it's owner's choice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jeremy said:

We actually ruled it the other way in play, mainly because I felt like it was going to be a damaging card and wanted to make sure I wasn't getting a benefit I shouldn't have.

Assuming your way is correct I cheated myself of one turn of a forced discard. Even so it was a devastating card, I wound up sinking half of my opponents deck and getting the win without  burning a single zone. There really wasn't anything he could do about it particularly when it got out so early.

 

I do believe it would be the active player (in this case the player who owned the card, i.e you!) who gets to choose the order the effects enter the stack.

Although as I previously mentioned there is no official ruling on this as yet.

 

And I totally agree that this card has the potential to be devastating if left unchecked!!!

 

Osiris

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i would like to use rules for same situations from aGoT and CoC faq's. As they pretty similar in lots of ways of resolvingplaying stuff.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Penek said:

i would like to use rules for same situations from aGoT and CoC faq's. As they pretty similar in lots of ways of resolvingplaying stuff.

Hmm, at least CoC is played FIFO, and so completly different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

as far as i remember aGoT and CoC use same resolution for triggered actions and ones that resolve in a bunch in a particular time (ie like start of the turn)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Penek said:

as far as i remember aGoT and CoC use same resolution for triggered actions and ones that resolve in a bunch in a particular time (ie like start of the turn)

 

Game of Thrones has no stack, nor does it have forced triggered effects, although it does have mandatory passive effects.  I would not use A Game of Thrones rules as a template for Warhammer.

 

Osiris description seems to make the most sense using existing understanding of Warhammers rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0