Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jlmott

Rules Question concerning Quests

41 posts in this topic

These were raised at Gen Con but I would like to have some clarification concerning the way quests work and I cannot find the answers in the rule book.

 

 

Can you have more than one active quest?

 

If you use an abiltity on a quest do you lose the resources?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jlmott said:

These were raised at Gen Con but I would like to have some clarification concerning the way quests work and I cannot find the answers in the rule book.

 

Can you have more than one active quest?

If you use an abiltity on a quest do you lose the resources?

 

I think the questions have straight forward answers...

1) There are no upper limit on the number of active quests mentioned in the rulebook, so I would say other than the resources and time that you are committing to them, no. Remember it takes some resource commitment and more than a few rounds to set up a quest in order to milk it, meaning it's a risky investment that may not pay off in the short (definately) and/or the long run (possibly). Since it's not a simple "point, click, and fire" mechanic, there are opportunity risks and costs involved that cannot be ignored. Haven't played yet, but I'm not sure taking significant opportunity and resources costs to get multiple quests going at any one time would be a staple strategy of mine.

2) From page 11 of rulebook: If the questing unit leaves play for any reason, the quest card remains in play but all resource tokens accumulated on that quest card are discarded, and returned to the pool in the centre of the table. So getting that one questing unit (remember you can only have 1 unit ever on a quest) killed due to card effects (its own as well as others) or during defense is a sure way to lose resources. Journey to the Gate (Chaos Quest) for example asks that you discard the questing unit to use its ability once you have 3 resources on it, meaning you have to build up the resource meter again by committing a new unit to it if you want to refresh it after activating the quest ability. Other than that it's up to the text on each individual quest card since there are no general rule that discards resources for using a quest ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any interesting in-game situation that you've encountered during GenCon that you'd like to share with us vermillian?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The losing of resource tokens when you use the ability depends on the quest.

warhammer-invasion-lcg-journey-to-the-ga

Journey to the Gate forces you to sacrifice the questing unit.

Only one unit can be questing on any given quest card at any time. If the questing unit leaves play for any reason, the quest card remains in play but all resource tokens accumulated on that quest card are discarded, and returned to the pool in the centre of the table.

So, sacrificing a Unit will cause all resources to be removed from the quest.

There may be other costs associated with activating a quest, which are written on the card itself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, none. To quest you must

Play a quest

Play a unit specifically designated as QUESTING there (from your hand).

Only one unit on ONE quest at a time, it gets resources on the quest corrupted or not, if it leaves that zone or play you are no longer questing there and lose progress.

When you are done with that quest it completes itself, but retains resources (except in the case of the Orc, Chaos and Dwarf (maybe one of the nuetral ones too...) one which require you to sacrifice the quester.

Any further things that need clarified about quests?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

nope, everything said matches with what i thought, and how i played. however, there were some at gen con who believed you could only have one quest at a time and lost resources every time you activated an ability, even when it did not implicitly say to do so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok I have a quickie :)

 

warhammer-invasion-lcg-defend-the-border

So even when we have a unit, with 3 resource tokens stacked on the card.....we are still forced to place an extra resource token on the card each turn. For no apparent extra effect?

 

Bit of a double edged sword?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How I understand it is that putting a resource token on it doesn't take away from your resources for the turn...so there is no negative to putting more than 3 resources on the card.  The only reason they put resource tokens on is that they don't want to make quest tokens :)  And maybe open up a gameplay mechanic (a future card that moves tokens from a quest to your resource pool someday?)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please read 'sending units on a quest'.

These resource tokens come from the pool in the centre
of the playing area, and are not subtracted from
the resources a player collects during the kingdom
phase. Resource tokens on a quest card cannot be
used for anything other than the effects of that card.

So yeah. No. They don't cost you anything, as in resources resources... they are extra special fancy resources for the quest only.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think for now, until cards that changes things are released, we can ignore adding more resource tokens after the threshold of 3 is reached.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Moin,

 

I'm new here and a foreigner, so please be gentle.

 

I've got a question concerning "Forced March" (Don't know how to put the image in here):

Can you move a unit from an opponent, which is already on a Quest, to  -for example- the battlefield, so that he's losing all of his counters on this quest?

 

The best, Sly

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

rings said:

 The only reason they put resource tokens on is that they don't want to make quest tokens :)  And maybe open up a gameplay mechanic (a future card that moves tokens from a quest to your resource pool someday?)
Hehe... just thought the same thing. :oD But maybe not the ressource pool but another quest or a card that uses Ressource tokens in your round, no matter from which source...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"These resource tokens come from the pool in the centre
of the playing area, and are not subtracted from
the resources a player collects during the kingdom
phase."

 

Ah thanks guys, have just found the ruling regarding that, many thanks!

 

Osiris

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes with Forced March you may move anyone's unit. You may move one questing off of the quest (which would then reset the tokens on the quest). You may move a Unit from one place to a Quest zone with a quest.

You CANNOT move a unit NOT on a quest and now have it be QUESTING. To play a unit on to a quest, one must PLAY (from one's hand) the unit on to a quest.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to the rulebook only removing the unit from play will remove the resource tokens:

"If the questing unit leaves play for
any reason, the quest card remains in play but all
resource tokens accumulated on that quest card are
discarded, and returned to the pool in the centre of
the table."

 

Unless I have missed the reference moving a unit off of the quest shouldn't reset the resource tokens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No problems. It was only when reading the extract you refered me to that I noticed the wording!?

 

Vermillian is there an 'authority' who answers any unresolved questions? I presume you would know?

 

Osiris

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jlmott said:

These were raised at Gen Con but I would like to have some clarification concerning the way quests work and I cannot find the answers in the rule book.

 

 

Can you have more than one active quest?

 

If you use an abiltity on a quest do you lose the resources?

 

 

These two questions were both answered by the forum on the previous page :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Typically the authorities will be apointed from amongst us.

Interested in a job? (by job I mean unpayed unrewarded taskmastering)

Contact Nate. Like I might. lol (on;y cause I lovez this game so far)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

vermillian said:

Typically the authorities will be apointed from amongst us.

Interested in a job? (by job I mean unpayed unrewarded taskmastering)

Contact Nate. Like I might. lol (on;y cause I lovez this game so far)

 

Awesome! I reckon you should Vermillian, you seem to have a great knowledge of the rules already :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

vermillian said:

Typically the authorities will be apointed from amongst us.

Interested in a job? (by job I mean unpayed unrewarded taskmastering)

Contact Nate. Like I might. lol (on;y cause I lovez this game so far)

Why create authorities? FFG could create an open forum, where questions, the official rules are not clearing, are discussed by the community and the game developers to find a suitable solution.

That would solve the problems, where community found different solvings and after offical speak one group is displeased.

Anyway, I prefer playing in a style, that makes sense in logic and balance and not arguing about every (maybe misplaced) comma in the thinest rule lines.

In this case, I would say, from the logical side, that the quest progress is reseted because the attached unit is not concerned/interested  anymore (either by death or by being moved away). From the balanced side I have no idea, because I dont have played the game yet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just like Osiris pointed out to us, the abridged passage from page 11 of the rulebook quoted below is important when considering on a possible ruling on this removal (but not leaving play) of the questing unit matter:

<snip> Once a quest card is in play, the
controller of that card has the option of sending his
units on that quest.

To send a unit on a quest, a player plays the unit on
top of the quest card when he plays that unit from his
hand. The questing unit is still considered to be a part
of its controller’s quest zone (it contributes power and
can be used to defend the zone when it’s attacked),
but it is also considered to be “questing” on the quest
upon which it was played. A questing unit allows
resource tokens to be accumulated on the quest, and
once the specified number of resources have been
accumulated on a quest, its effect can be utilised by
its controller.

<snip>

Only one unit can be questing on any given quest
card at any time. If the questing unit leaves play for
any reason, the quest card remains in play but all
resource tokens accumulated on that quest card are
discarded, and returned to the pool in the centre of
the table.

Now...let's focus on the part where it says "if the questing unit leaves play for any reason." I think the definition of what a questing unit is, is just as important as the fact that it has to leave play for the quest card to reset. If a unit is no longer questing, that is the unit is no longer on top of the quest card due to a movement effect played on him, does it matter that this no longer questing unit is removed from play or not? The removal from play refers to a possible death/sacrifice situation of the questing unit while he is committed on that quest and its consequences; however, if there is no longer a unit that fits the description of questing, I think it's fair to rule that it is effectively just as if the questing unit has been removed from play since there is now no longer a questing unit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also think that there is some concern when it comes to the text of the card itself...

You definitely will NOT be generating resources on a quest if your Unit is not in the quest zone, questing there... (though I suppose the losely worded word 'questing here' is slightly ambiguous. lol)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0