Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Radarman5

A question about the "Prison Break" mission.

Recommended Posts

I have a couple questions about this skirmish mission.


 


1) Once the Prisoner is freed and becomes part of a player's group, does the Prisoner get an activation, so that they can move? 


 


2) "End of Each Round: the player who freed the prisoner gains 6 VPs." Does the player only get those VPs as long as the Prisoner is alive, or every round for the remainder of the match?


Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a couple questions about this skirmish mission.

 

1) Once the Prisoner is freed and becomes part of a player's group, does the Prisoner get an activation, so that they can move? 

 

2) "End of Each Round: the player who freed the prisoner gains 6 VPs." Does the player only get those VPs as long as the Prisoner is alive, or every round for the remainder of the match?

1) Yes, but make sure the prisoner has a couple of bodyguards

2) in the words of Boba Fett: "He's no good to me dead". So yes, only points as long as the prisoner is alive. And 10 points to the opponent if the prisoner dies

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the reply. That's how we played it. I'm still unclear on how the prisoner moves without having an deployment card to exhaust. Do you need a Leader to give him a move?

I'd just use the mission card as a Deployment Card proxy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

2) in the words of Boba Fett: "He's no good to me dead". So yes, only points as long as the prisoner is alive. And 10 points to the opponent if the prisoner dies

 

 

 

Actually - this is incorrect.  All the mission rules says is " End of each Round: The player who freed the prisoner gains 6 VP." There is absolutely nothing in the mission rules that states the prisoner has to be alive. This may be corrected in an upcoming FAQ if this was not its intent - but for now 6VP to the player who freed him - alive or dead.

Edited by DarkJodo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

2) in the words of Boba Fett: "He's no good to me dead". So yes, only points as long as the prisoner is alive. And 10 points to the opponent if the prisoner dies

 

 

 

Actually - this is incorrect.  All the mission rules says is " End of each Round: The player who freed the prisoner gains 6 VP." There is absolutely nothing in the mission rules that states the prisoner has to be alive. This may be corrected in an upcoming FAQ if this was not its intent - but for now 6VP to the player who freed him - alive or dead.

 

I agree, RAW do support getting the points alive or dead.  So you benefit from rushing for control of the prison a bit.

 

Like Darkjodo said, they may faq/errata the card otherwise, but right now you get the points either way.

 

As to the prisoners activation, we just handed the objective card to the player who freed him and let them use that to denote he was activated.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We interpreted it the way Forensicus did, and afterwords it did seem wrong. Basically it makes it much easier to score 10 points by killing the prisoner (due to it's 0 defense dice) than 6/round while defending it, so there's no reason to try to free it. So after playing it I started looking at it like Hids77 & Darkjodo, that it's a race to free him as early as possible.

 

Thanks for the replies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just received words back from the FAQ team:

image.jpg

Turns out that they agree with my initial interpretation: the player who frees the prisoner only receives the 6 VP per turn as long as the prisoner is on the map (ie. "is alive")

 

Can you share the text of the email? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just received words back from the FAQ team:image.jpg

Turns out that they agree with my initial interpretation: the player who frees the prisoner only receives the 6 VP per turn as long as the prisoner is on the map (ie. "is alive")

 

Can you share the text of the email?

It's right there in the screenshot

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Just received words back from the FAQ team:image.jpg

Turns out that they agree with my initial interpretation: the player who frees the prisoner only receives the 6 VP per turn as long as the prisoner is on the map (ie. "is alive")

 

Can you share the text of the email?

It's right there in the screenshot

 

 

I don't see a screenshot. You probably hosted it on a site that's blocked at work. I'll check tonight, and thanks for the clarification.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...