Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
zhentil

Vader, How many attacks can he get.

Recommended Posts

Now i can see why Vader is scary. With Brutality and such. Now with Elite Imperial Officer and Vader I can have Vader use Brutality to attack 2 different opponents then/or before use Force Choke then with the Officer i can have him attack again. So he could wind up attacking 1 person twice and another once. Along with Force choke. 

I think i have that right... right.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Vader by himself will attack one figure twice and other once, but with elite imperial officer you can get another attack. I never realized that. So Vader can actually do four attacks......ouch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Add in his command card and with a couple other direct damage force cards and he can kill alot of people in a turn... and then get more killing done with officers.... he can be redonkulous on the right turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He can't use a second attack action, true, but there are other ways to kill people, such as direct damage abilities, cards/actions.

He can play his command card that gives him extra actions for every kill. He could brutalize 2 guys to death, then force choke a third to death, so now he gets 3 more actions. He could then double move and use the force lightning card and kill another, and again, get another action... which he uses to telekinetic throw another guy, etc... with the right cards he can do outrageous damage in a single activation.

Then you activate your Elite officer later that round and go crazy again lol.

No two attack actions or the same special action twice, but different direct damage special actions? Absolutely.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Im at work and dont have "lord of the ith" card to look at. Does it mention is actvation at all or just what he kills in a round? If only round is mentioned the eOfficer can give him an attack after he goes nuts on his turn. If he kills with that atyack he can get another action to move or interact with after all the crazy crap on his turn. Add in another eOfficer and do it again same round unless they faqed that you can't order the same guy twice....

...yes.... he's bonkers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

IA Command has a Database listing the text for all cards. Handy to look up stuff like command or deployment cards when at work. :)

Lord of the Sith says...

Use during your activation. For each hostile figure defeated during this activation, you may perform 1 additional action.

So he'd only be able to use it when he kills during his activation.

Edited by VanorDM

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And since you cannot duplicate special actions, and you cannot attack more than once, your options with lord of the sith are really limited. Perhaps if you started Vader's activation and he was adjacent to two hostiles. Maybe look something like this:

 

1) Start Vader's activation, play Lord of the Sith

2) Action 1: Brutality, hopefully kill 2 models +2 action.

3) Action 2: Move to get into range for

4) Action 3: Force Choke: Kill model? +1 action

5) Action 4 and 5: Move actions are all that can be performed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And since you cannot duplicate special actions, and you cannot attack more than once, your options with lord of the sith are really limited. Perhaps if you started Vader's activation and he was adjacent to two hostiles. Maybe look something like this:

 

1) Start Vader's activation, play Lord of the Sith

2) Action 1: Brutality, hopefully kill 2 models +2 action.

3) Action 2: Move to get into range for

4) Action 3: Force Choke: Kill model? +1 action

5) Action 4 and 5: Move actions are all that can be performed.

 

Don't forget about Force Lightning and Telekinetic Throw can also be used to destroy units. I would almost always choke first in case they decide to take a strain. If you use planning or terminals to mass draw cards early you can easily set up a really deadly vader turn. I've found force lightning is what really sets it off verses a swarm of troopers or officers with small amounts of damage already on them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay so NO one can attack more than twice a turn then? So if i have Vader and i use Brutality and a move. The Imperial Officer can't give me another attack?

Yes he can/may do so:

"If an ability allows a figure to perform an attack outside of its activation, this attack does not count toward the limit of one attack per activation."

The officer can "order" Vader to perform a normal attack as on of the officer's action (which would be outside Vaders activation)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay so NO one can attack more than twice a turn then? So if i have Vader and i use Brutality and a move. The Imperial Officer can't give me another attack?

Yes he can/may do so:

"If an ability allows a figure to perform an attack outside of its activation, this attack does not count toward the limit of one attack per activation."

The officer can "order" Vader to perform a normal attack as on of the officer's action (which would be outside Vaders activation)

But he must "order" Vader BEFORE Vaders own Activation since an exhausted unit/group cannot be re-activated in the same round (under normal circumstances)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay so NO one can attack more than twice a turn then? So if i have Vader and i use Brutality and a move. The Imperial Officer can't give me another attack?

Yes he can/may do so:

"If an ability allows a figure to perform an attack outside of its activation, this attack does not count toward the limit of one attack per activation."

The officer can "order" Vader to perform a normal attack as on of the officer's action (which would be outside Vaders activation)

But he must "order" Vader BEFORE Vaders own Activation since an exhausted unit/group cannot be re-activated in the same round (under normal circumstances)

There is no reason that you can't use an officer to grant a move or attack to an already activated figure. The text on the officer simply says choose a nearby figure and it can move or attack (if the officer is elite) there is no restriction on this regarding whether the figure activated or not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No more than one attack or special ability that grants an attack(s) per activation.

 

So you activate vader's card and gain to actions. He has brutality which costs one action to Attack twice. Then you have a left over action but have already spent your attack so you may need to choke or do something else.

 

A regular royal guard activates and gains two actions, he doesn't have a special action that grants any attacks so he just performs an attack action and on other non attack action.

 

Finally an elite officer activates and gains two actions. First he gives vader an attack action to force vader to attack. This attack is performed by vader and DOES NOT count as the officers attack action for the turn. Vader gets unit down to 1 HP and the officer can now use his section action to attack.

 

Hopefully this helped by showing three cases.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soo many people just don't understand the rules at all.....

Your constructive input is immediately put to use

Hey, I've mellowed considerably.... this was me being politically correct. In years past, I would have got into a pissing contest with some stubborn 15 year old which ended in me calling everyone retards, then rage quitting this site lol.

I thought my response was as nice as I get lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soo many people just don't understand the rules at all.....

Your constructive input is immediately put to use

Hey, I've mellowed considerably.... this was me being politically correct. In years past, I would have got into a pissing contest with some stubborn 15 year old which ended in me calling everyone retards, then rage quitting this site lol.

I thought my response was as nice as I get lol

We've all been there

image.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

Soo many people just don't understand the rules at all.....

Your constructive input is immediately put to use

Hey, I've mellowed considerably.... this was me being politically correct. In years past, I would have got into a pissing contest with some stubborn 15 year old which ended in me calling everyone retards, then rage quitting this site lol.

I thought my response was as nice as I get lol

We've all been there

image.jpg

 

 

They got my good side when they took that shot.

Edited by powda

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Okay so NO one can attack more than twice a turn then? So if i have Vader and i use Brutality and a move. The Imperial Officer can't give me another attack?

Yes he can/may do so:

"If an ability allows a figure to perform an attack outside of its activation, this attack does not count toward the limit of one attack per activation."

The officer can "order" Vader to perform a normal attack as on of the officer's action (which would be outside Vaders activation)

But he must "order" Vader BEFORE Vaders own Activation since an exhausted unit/group cannot be re-activated in the same round (under normal circumstances)

 

 

Reference?  Totally willing to believe you as you've been solid on the rules...  Just wanna know where in the RRG to find that.  It wasn't being done properly last time we played.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay so NO one can attack more than twice a turn then? So if i have Vader and i use Brutality and a move. The Imperial Officer can't give me another attack?

Yes he can/may do so:

"If an ability allows a figure to perform an attack outside of its activation, this attack does not count toward the limit of one attack per activation."

The officer can "order" Vader to perform a normal attack as on of the officer's action (which would be outside Vaders activation)

But he must "order" Vader BEFORE Vaders own Activation since an exhausted unit/group cannot be re-activated in the same round (under normal circumstances)

 

Reference?  Totally willing to believe you as you've been solid on the rules...  Just wanna know where in the RRG to find that.  It wasn't being done properly last time we played.

Hey, I shall be (amongst) the first to admit when I am or might be in the wrong. Having looked further into it I'm inclined to say I am wrong (surely others will put my mind at rest on the matter).

My only "excuse" is a habit carried over from X-Wing where a Stressed ship isn't allowed to do actions, not even free ones. However, as you've pointed out, the RRG doesn't state that a figure can't perform a move or an attack when exhausted. It only says that an exhausted figure/deployment card can't be activated.

My bad

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Look in the skirmish guide. Here is what it says on attacking:

 

Attacking: Figures can only use one of their actions to attack per activation. This includes using special actions that involve performing one or more attacks (such as the Nexu's "Pounce" or Darth Vader's "Brutality").

 

Vader, just like all the other figures gets one attack per activation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...