Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
chicklewis

Using Paul Lemond's ability multiple times - - Limitations ?

Recommended Posts

Had a new player in our latest tournament use Paul Lemond's action three times in one story phase.

 

"Action: Pay 1 to choose a character. Until the end of the phase, Paul Lemond gains all of that character's printed icons. "

He paid 1, chose "A", one of his opponent's characters, then drained another domain to choose character A again, giving Paul Lemond a total of two of each of character A's printed icons. To top it off, he drained his third domain to choose his own character "B" giving Paul some terror icons.

His opponent argued that when a second or third character is chosen, the new icons replace the previously acquired icons. When I nixed that idea, the opponent argued that since Paul already had already acquired character A's icons, he couldn't acquire them again.

I read the card closely and ruled that the play was legitimate. Since Paul doesn't need to exhaust his ability can be triggered any number of times, and since it says Paul "gains" the icons, a single character can be re-chosen as often as desired, with the net result being the sum of all 'gained' icons.

How SHOULD I have ruled ??

Chick
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is exactly how we used to play him, and ruled so in Tournaments.

Some players said he's a real monster ... but that's not really true. He's strong and may change a game if not handle carefully in early play.

Despite all that, I don't find him so humongous.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, he's not unstoppable, but he IS a 1 drop with a very powerful ability that you can throw spare points into, making him very, very effective if you get him out early.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You guys have more experience at the game than I do, but it seems a little overly strong that a character could conceivably take on multiple ancient one icons for one resource apiece. We've always played that his psychich mind can read one at a time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Indeed, even with 15 icons - Paul is very squishy with no Toughness, no Invulnerability, low skill and low cost.  And he ties up your available domains if you're using him multiple times.  Not nearly as game-breaking as, say, the pre-errata Ghoul Khanum.  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...