Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Jalokin

Concentrate fire command and anti squadron attacks

Recommended Posts

Hi

Does the concentrate fire command also apply to the ship's anti squadron attack? If this is true does the concentrate fire command then apply to all anti squadron attacks whitin the firing arc of the ship? I can't find any specifik reference in the RRG about this.

Best,

Nikolaj

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you read the rules, you repeat the steps from 2 onward when resolving the anti squadron fire; until you have fired at all squadrons in that arc. Doesn't that make it the same attack? Wouldn't you get an extra die against all squadrons in that arc?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As a change in my original answer...

 

  • The dial/token is used during the resolve attack effects phase of the attack.
  • To gain the dice/re-roll you have to spend the dial/token.
  • Therefor when you attack the next squadron and reach the next resolve attack effects phase you cannot spend the token again (only one of each command per turn).

 

I do however agree that it need clarification.

Edited by DWRR

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From what I understand each squadron in arc is a separate attack. Otherwise you would roll dice and that attack pool could be used against every squadron.

 

Makes seen from a balance standpoint as 1 concentrate fire command on say a Nebulon B would be super powerful if you could use it against all fighters in arc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you read the rules, you repeat the steps from 2 onward when resolving the anti squadron fire; until you have fired at all squadrons in that arc. Doesn't that make it the same attack? Wouldn't you get an extra die against all squadrons in that arc?

In Step 2 of the attack Step you gather the attack Pool for the new attack.

In Step 3 you can modify the results.

The Concentrate Fire Command is fully resolved in step three by adding a die to the attack pool and/or rerolling a die.

 

At the very latest in Step 4 "Spend Defense Tokens" the command has been fully resolved.

You go through these steps separately and independently per Squadron.

So, there are three arguments that each alone would suffice to force applying the CF to only one of the attack rolls:

Argument a)

Each Anti Squadron attack goes through the cycle separately and has its own "modify dice step" and a CF Command is resolved during that step. There is nothing in the rules indicating that the effect should carry over to subsequent iterations of this step.

Argument b)

Each Anti Squadron attack forms a new attack pool. The CF adds dice or rerolls to one pool only. There is nothing in the rules that indicates that subsequent pools should profit from this.

Argument c)

Future Anti Squadron defenses feature differently colored dice (Black and Blue are spoiled for Wave 2). If attacks are made at different ranges, the attack pool will be formed differently each time even allowing to add different colours of dice per pool. Another indicator for each attack being a separate instance of forming and modifying an attack pool.

So far I have seen nothing from proponents of "applies to all attacks" that effectively refutes even one of these three arguments.

Edited by chrisdk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it's only one extra die for spending the dial as well. On page 12 it clearly says "spend" which typically means that's it. And you can only resolve the same command once per round unless you're using both a dial and token in combo. So I'm thinking that Concentrate Fire is only good against one squadron no matter how many different squadrons are able to be attacked by the ship in question.

Edited by Frimmel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it's only one extra die for spending the dial as well. On page 12 it clearly says "spend" which typically means that's it. And you can only resolve the same command once per round unless you're using both a dial and token in combo. So I'm thinking that Concentrate Fire is only good against one squadron no matter how many different squadrons are able to be attacked by the ship in question.

If you combine the Dial and the Token it is still only one resolution of the command. This is relevant for abilities like Redemption and Engineering Team.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

I think it's only one extra die for spending the dial as well. On page 12 it clearly says "spend" which typically means that's it. And you can only resolve the same command once per round unless you're using both a dial and token in combo. So I'm thinking that Concentrate Fire is only good against one squadron no matter how many different squadrons are able to be attacked by the ship in question.

If you combine the Dial and the Token it is still only one resolution of the command. This is relevant for abilities like Redemption and Engineering Team.

 

That's what I meant. It might not be quite what I said but that was what I meant. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

JO JO; You're right mate i sent all six of my fighters against a Neb-B and they got obliterated in one round. 

DWRR: I  agree, it does need clarification.

 

The thing is your ship gets two attacks; from two arcs. When your shooting 1 squadron or 10, as long as they are in the same arc and range its the same attack. I see peoples point about spending things once per attack, but its confusing as this is the same attack.

 

This needs an FAQ, i'm surprised it didn't happen in play testing.

 

Thanks for your thoughts people,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The point that is swaying my mind is that the RRG specifically says if your attack from that hull zone targets a squadron you may attack all squadrons in arc and that you "attack each squadron separately".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The point that is swaying my mind is that the RRG specifically says if your attack from that hull zone targets a squadron you may attack all squadrons in arc and that you "attack each squadron separately".

 

You go through each of the steps outlined under Attack in the RRG separately. No matter the number of times through the steps when shooting at the squadrons in the arc of the hull zone in question it only counts as one of the attacks for the ship's turn/round/activation. We're all on the same page with that it seems.

 

There is a specific step where resolving the concentrate fire command can occur. You can only resolve one command dial, token, or dial and token of each type per ship per round/turn/activation. Just because you're doing the step where resolving the command can occur more than once does not allow more than one use for the round/turn/activation.

 

Each trip through "resolve attack effects" sub-step is a seperate resolution even though all the trips through the sub-steps for multiple squadrons only count as one attack step.

 

Theoretically, how would you "concentrate fire" on more than one squadron?

Edited by Frimmel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...