Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Alpha Xg1

Examining the Scatter Defense Token

Recommended Posts

Hi guys,

 

After playing a few rounds of this most awesomest of awesome games - far out can't wait for Wave 1 to hit!! Starfighter engagement will truly become a sub-game of its own! Hehe, I need to seek clarification on when the Scatter Defense Token (so far on Howlrunner) comes into play.

 

At the moment, I've been playing it as:

 

1 X-Wing Squadron is engaged with Howlrunner

 

X-Wings attack Howlrunner with 4 x Blue Dice

 

X-Wings throw 3 hit and 1 accuracy result.

 

At this point, (if they choose to) do the X-Wings use the accuracy result to immediately 'block' Howlrunner's Scatter Defense Token?

 

To date, I haven't been able to use Howlrunner's 'Scatter' in any of my games, because of Accuracy rolls. Hehe.

 

Please clarify? Thanks guys! :wub:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi guys,

 

After playing a few rounds of this most awesomest of awesome games - far out can't wait for Wave 1 to hit!! Starfighter engagement will truly become a sub-game of its own! Hehe, I need to seek clarification on when the Scatter Defense Token (so far on Howlrunner) comes into play.

 

At the moment, I've been playing it as:

 

1 X-Wing Squadron is engaged with Howlrunner

 

X-Wings attack Howlrunner with 4 x Blue Dice

 

X-Wings throw 3 hit and 1 accuracy result.

 

At this point, (if they choose to) do the X-Wings use the accuracy result to immediately 'block' Howlrunner's Scatter Defense Token?

 

To date, I haven't been able to use Howlrunner's 'Scatter' in any of my games, because of Accuracy rolls. Hehe.

 

Please clarify? Thanks guys! :wub:

Looking at the rule reference under "Attacks," Spend Accuracy Icons comes at step 3, which is before Spend Defense Tokens, which is step 4. So, my conclusion is the accuracy result can eliminate (temporarily) the use of the Scatter token.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Looking at the rule reference under "Attacks," Spend Accuracy Icons comes at step 3, which is before Spend Defense Tokens, which is step 4. So, my conclusion is the accuracy result can eliminate (temporarily) the use of the Scatter token.

 

 

Correct.  In fact, on the last page of the rules is the Quick Reference.  It clearly says to spend the accuracy results before defense tokens.

Edited by wjgo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can't you still spend the exhausted defense token at the expense of losing it for the rest of the game?

 

Yes, standard rules for spending exhausted Defense Tokens apply. :)

 

But when Accuracy Results are thrown by the opponent, they may elect to immediately block the Scatter Defense Token (or any other Defense Token) one for one.

 

Edit: For consistency. :D

Edited by Alpha Xg1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Can't you still spend the exhausted defense token at the expense of losing it for the rest of the game?

 

Yes, standard rules for spending exhausted Defense Tokens apply. :)

 

But when Accuracy Results are thrown by the opponent, they may elect to immediately block the Scatter Defense Token (or any other Defense Token) one for one.

 

Edit: For consistency. :D

 

So if I have an exhausted scatter token (red) and an enemy rolls an accuracy can they stop me from burning it permanently?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

Can't you still spend the exhausted defense token at the expense of losing it for the rest of the game?

 

Yes, standard rules for spending exhausted Defense Tokens apply. :)

 

But when Accuracy Results are thrown by the opponent, they may elect to immediately block the Scatter Defense Token (or any other Defense Token) one for one.

 

Edit: For consistency. :D

 

So if I have an exhausted scatter token (red) and an enemy rolls an accuracy can they stop me from burning it permanently?

 

Yes that is correct. An accuracy can stop you from using an exhausted token

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

Can't you still spend the exhausted defense token at the expense of losing it for the rest of the game?

 

Yes, standard rules for spending exhausted Defense Tokens apply. :)

 

But when Accuracy Results are thrown by the opponent, they may elect to immediately block the Scatter Defense Token (or any other Defense Token) one for one.

 

Edit: For consistency. :D

 

So if I have an exhausted scatter token (red) and an enemy rolls an accuracy can they stop me from burning it permanently?

 

Yes that is correct. An accuracy can stop you from using an exhausted token

 

Thank-you for the quick response! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can't you still spend the exhausted defense token at the expense of losing it for the rest of the game?

 

Just to be clear, Accuracy does not exhaust a token, it completely stops the player from using it during that attack (and only that attack), regardless of whether the token is exhausted or not. The only way to prevent Accuracy (at least for now) is Electronic Counter Measures.

Edited by Ghost Dancer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Crits can be used by squadrons that are Bombers or Darth Vader's unique ability.

 

Accuracy can also be used by squadrons when shooting against named squadrons.  That's the best way to negate their Scatter defense token  :D

Accuracy is obviously useless at no-named squadrons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ooooo!!

 

Squadrons can also use Accuracy results on ships.  It's normally useless as squadrons normally only have one attack dice, but don't forget that the B-Wing has a blue and black anti-ship attack!  So it can roll a blue accuracy and a black crit/hit result resulting in much, much pain!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the rulebook

"For each accuracy icon rolled, he can choose one of the defender’s defense tokens; the chosen token cannot be spent during this attack."

 

From what I understand, you chose a token, not a type of token. Howlrunner have 2 Scatter tokens, so you need 2 accuracy to block both tokens. With one accuracy you may block only one token, so she can still use the scatter action. Now, if one token is exhausted, you may use the accuracy to force the player to discard that token by blocking the unexhausted one, or receive a hit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the rulebook

"For each accuracy icon rolled, he can choose one of the defender’s defense tokens; the chosen token cannot be spent during this attack."

 

From what I understand, you chose a token, not a type of token. Howlrunner have 2 Scatter tokens, so you need 2 accuracy to block both tokens. With one accuracy you may block only one token, so she can still use the scatter action. Now, if one token is exhausted, you may use the accuracy to force the player to discard that token by blocking the unexhausted one, or receive a hit.

howlrunner only has 1 scatter. Otherwise you are correct. I.e. it takes 2 ACC's to block Luke's brace.

But howlrunner has 1 scatter and 1 brace so you only need 1 ACC's to block the scatter

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...