Jump to content
Ghost Dancer

[UNOFFICIAL] Rules Clarifications and FAQs

Recommended Posts

There's a big discussion over the 'Opening Salvo' objective right now; and whether it literally means 'add 2 dice of any colour' at any range;  or just of the appropriate range dice. Can anyone from FFG clarify this please?

Pretty sure the answer is on the range ruler...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

There's a big discussion over the 'Opening Salvo' objective right now; and whether it literally means 'add 2 dice of any colour' at any range;  or just of the appropriate range dice. Can anyone from FFG clarify this please?

Pretty sure the answer is on the range ruler...

 

Oh, good that you mentioned that. I am sure noone in the 84 replies of the thread discussing it thought of it.

 

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/173817-question-about-opening-salvo-objective/

 

Edit: Also this thread is not for discussions.

Edited by chrisdk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's a big discussion over the 'Opening Salvo' objective right now; and whether it literally means 'add 2 dice of any colour' at any range;  or just of the appropriate range dice. Can anyone from FFG clarify this please?

Pretty sure the answer is on the range ruler...

Oh, good that you mentioned that. I am sure noone in the 84 replies of the thread discussing it thought of it.

 

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/173817-question-about-opening-salvo-objective/

 

Edit: Also this thread is not for discussions.

If you cut discussion from your thread it vanishes. You want it visible, you allow discussion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As mentioned in the original post:

"PLEASE DO NOT POST UNANSWERED QUESTIONS HERE, ONLY ANSWERS OR LINKS TO COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS ON THESE FORUMS. THANKS."

If you want to join the debate about Opening Salvo, that other thread is a great place to go. If you find some official ruling from FFG on Opening Salvo, this thread is the place to bring it up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I sent an email asking for it to be pinned. Thanks to the webmaster/mod for doing that :)

 

@Aminar: Discussion about what should go in the main post (or not is fine), but chat about specific questions are best kept to those threads - with the amount of questions and debates going on, it just helps keeps things a little tidy.

 

So back on topic, please suggest any questions that have cropped up recently that you think should be added here.

Edited by Ghost Dancer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I sent an email asking for it to be pinned. Thanks to the webmaster/mod for doing that :)

 

@Aminar: Discussion about what should go in the main post (or not is fine), but chat about specific questions are best kept to those threads - with the amount of questions and debates going on, it just helps keeps things a little tidy.

 

So back on topic, please suggest any questions that have cropped up recently that you think should be added here.

It was sarcasm implying I was supplying a bump with a snippy retort.

I don't think we'll get much until wave 1 hits. Most questions appear to be answered or unanswerable with current info.(Hence the bump.) Threads like this should not get lost.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Ghost Dancer,

 

As this was brought up in another thread, it perhaps bares inclusion in your FAQ in the attack steps section:

 

Step 2) Attacker gathers base attack dice that apply from the ship or squadron and rolls them.

Step 3) Attacker then modifies dice *including any dice additions to the attack pool* and rolls or rerolls accordingly.

 

There was some confusion about this. This basically means that the extra dice from the Concentrate Fire dial is added *after* you do you the initial attack roll. Same thing for cards like the Dominator ship title.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also worth noting that cards that add dice to your battery armament (Enhanced Armament, Expanded Launchers etc) would be added before rolling as they directly change your profile rather than adding dice as an effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also worth noting that cards that add dice to your battery armament (Enhanced Armament, Expanded Launchers etc) would be added before rolling as they directly change your profile rather than adding dice as an effect.

 

Correct! Mind you, not that it matters as there's never any reason to not use those added dice as they have no drawbacks and can always be used. Unlike Dominator which drains your shields, and Concentrate Fire which can only be used on one of your two attacks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As well as adding a couple of new clarifications, I've reorganised things a bit so there are now 3 sections (each in a separate post):

 

Main Rules (the generic rules)

Specific cards and abilities (abilities from upgrade and squadron cards)

Useful Links

 

Hopefully this will make it easier for people to find what they're looking for.

 

Edit: Added a touch of colour so the topics stand out more.

Edited by Ghost Dancer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As well as adding a couple of new clarifications, I've reorganised things a bit so there are now 3 sections (each in a separate post):

 

Main Rules (the generic rules)

Specific cards and abilities (abilities from upgrade and squadron cards)

Useful Links

 

Hopefully this will make it easier for people to find what they're looking for.

 

Edit: Added a touch of colour so the topics stand out more.

 

Thanks for all this, for the record.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do squadrons gain defense tokens?  The cards have defense icons at the bottom, but I can't find anything in the rules to indicate if they do or don't.

Edited by jskinny

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do squadrons gain defense tokens?  The cards have defense icons at the bottom, but I can't find anything in the rules to indicate if they do or don't.

Named squadrons have defense tokens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One query about picture 1.  It states that all four SD sections are in the Corvettes right arc.  But to get to the SD's right section it would need to pass through another zone.  Therefore, as I understand the rules, it is not in arc. (page 19 of the LTP).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One query about picture 1.  It states that all four SD sections are in the Corvettes right arc.  But to get to the SD's right section it would need to pass through another zone.  Therefore, as I understand the rules, it is not in arc. (page 19 of the LTP).

 

It is in arc, but not in Line of Sight. They are two separate measurements (although LoS must be within the firing arc).

 

Also, throw away LtP and just use the Rules Ref as LtP has simplified version of some rules.

Edited by Ghost Dancer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got an email today back from FFG regarding Garm Bel Iblis and Mon Mothma.

 

When a ship gains command tokens from Garm's effect, it still cannot end up with more than one copy of each token. If it choses to gain multple tokens of the same type, it must discard down to one of that type.

 

Mon Mothma's ability is a replacement rather than an additional effect. In other words, at medium range, you can reroll OR cancel a die, but not both.

 

Both questions will be added to the next FAQ.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello, Bjørn,

 
In response to your question:
 

Rules Question:

SW: Armada Question regarding cards that allow you to turn a dice face into a face that contains a specific symbol. Examples: Admiral Screed Warlord Can we get a FAQ entry SPECIFICALLY stating that Screed can change a dice into HIT-CRIT (black dice) and Warlord HIT-HIT (red dice)? It seems IMPLIED by the rules - there are only 3 types of icons: HIT, CRIT, ACC, so it follows that the HIT-HIT face (for example) is merely composed of two instances of the HIT icon, and should therefore be a valid pick for Warlord. There are several discussions re. this issue - both in tournaments and on the forum, without any CLEAR and DEFINITIVE answers. Thank you. Bjørn

 
We’ll add these clarifications to the next version of the FAQ. Screed can change a black die to a face that contains both the HIT and CRIT icon, and Warlord can change a red die to the face with 2 HIT icons.
 
Thanks for playing!

James Kniffen
Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...