Jump to content
Ghost Dancer

[UNOFFICIAL] Rules Clarifications and FAQs

Recommended Posts

I thought it would be useful to have a master post answering common rules-related questions and topics. Please post if you want something adding to the list or you spot any mistakes. 

 

There are 3 categories:

PLEASE DO NOT POST UNANSWERED QUESTIONS HERE, ONLY ANSWERS OR LINKS TO COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS ON THESE FORUMS. THANKS.

 

Main Rules

This section covers the generic rules, see the next section for abilities found on upgrades and squadron cards. 

 

Full Attack Summary

See this thread for summary of attacking, including defense tokens & crits: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/181567-do-you-have-questions-about-attacking-defense-tokens-and-critical-hits-read-this-first/

 

Accuracy

See also Attack Timing.

 

Accuracy icons work against ships and squadrons. However, only unique squadrons have defense tokens, so accuracy is only useful against those named squadrons (and essential in taking down those with the Scatter token, such as Howlrunner).

 
Note that accuracy just stops the defender using the specified defense token(s), it does NOT exhaust them.
 

Spend Accuracy is part if the Resolve Attack Effects step of an attack. So, for example, if a re-roll from Evade defense token comes up accuracy, that accuracy icon CANNOT be used as the Spend Defense Tokens step occurs AFTER Spend Accuracy.

 

Anti-squadron Attacks

When you perform an anti-squadron attack from a ship, you make a separate roll against each enemy squadron in the attacking ship's firing arc. You use your anti-squadron armament dice - for ships this also determines what range(s) you can fire at using the range side of the ruler, but squadrons can only attack at distance 1. 

 

Rules Reference: Attack (page 2) and related topics.

 

Concentrate Fire: This gives you ONE extra die to ONE attack roll, regardless of how many rolls you make in a single attack (Rules Reference: page 4).

 
Attack Dice
During Step 2 of the attack procedure you roll the dice of the armament you are using. This includes additional dice from upgraded weapons (e.g. Enhanced Armament, Expanded Launchers) and any from objectives (e.g. Most Wanted). You do NOT have to roll the extra die from Concentrate Fire at this point, but you can if you wish.
 
Once you have rolled the dice, you move to Step 3: modify dice. This includes assigning Accuracy results and using re-roll abilities (e.g. ConFire token). The extra die from the ConFire dial may be rolled at this time too. 
 
Turning Dice: When an effect allows you to turn a die to a face "with" a certain icon, you can turn it to a face that has specified icon AND any other icon. For example, Screed's ability to turn a die to a face with crit means you can change the die to the face with the crit+hit icons.
 
ConFire: Although you may combine the ConFire dial and token during a single attack, remember that you cannot use the token on one attack roll and the dial on another (see Command Tokens below). Also note that the extra dice can only be used on ONE anti-squadron roll, regardless of how many are within your firing arc.
 
Rules Reference: Attack (page 2).
 

Attack Timing

1. Declare & check target (see Targeting). 

 

2. Attacker rolls all applicable dice for the current range to target (see Attack Dice).

 

3. Attacker modifies dice by turning and/or re-rolling as applicable to their abilities  (see Attack Dice). For each accuracy icon rolled the attacker chooses one of the defender's defense tokens; those tokens cannot be used during this attack. Note this applies when attacking squadrons as well as ships.

 

4. The defender may assign any number of their defense tokens (except those targeted by accuracy icons as described in step 3), but only 1 of each type can be used per attack.

 

Note that Evade is resolved immediately, but Brace and Redirect are resolved during the damage dealing step (step 5 below). Also note that Brace halves the damage total, it does not modify any of the dice.

 

5a. If the attacker and defender are both ships (or a squadron with Bomber is attacking a ship) and there are one or more crit icons remaining in attack dice results, the attacker may resolve ONE critical effect (see Critical Hits).

 

5b. The defender suffers damage equal to the total number hit icons. If the attacker and defender are both ships (or a squadron with Bomber is attacking a ship), the damage total also includes ALL crit icons. 

 

6. If the attacker is a ship and the defender is a squadron, the attacker may choose another enemy squadron to shoot that is in the same firing arc and that has not already been targeted during this attack.

 

Rules Reference: Attack (page 2).

 
Command Tokens

Timing: You can use command tokens at any time you could normally use the corresponding command dial:

  • Squadron & Engineering: Resolve when dial revealed.
  • Concentrate Fire: Resolve during ONE attack. Note that when firing at multiple squadrons, you only add the extra die to ONE attack roll.
  • Navigate: Resolve during the "Determine Course" step of movement.

Combining with dial: If you want to use a token that matches the dial you revealed this activation you must use them at the same time. This combines the the effects of the dial and token (e.g. A VSD would get 6 engineering points if it used an Engineering token and dial at the same time). When doing this with Concentrate Fire the extra die and reroll must be applied to the same attack roll.

 

Multiple tokens: You can use any number of command tokens in a single activation, but you cannot use the same command more than once per activation. Combining a token with a matching dial counts as one use of that command.

 

Rules Reference: Command Tokens and Commands (page 3).

 

Critical Hits

See also Attack Timing, Defense Tokens

 

  • You can only resolve ONE critical effect per attack! (regardless of how many crits you roll, unless you have an upgrade or ability that specifically allows you to resolve additional critical effects such as Fire Control Teams)
  • Only ships can suffer critical hits, and only ships and Bomber squadrons can deal critical effects.
  • The critical icons on the attack dice count as damage and will additionally deal ONE critical effect (and only one). The critical effect is in ADDITION to the damage (i.e. the crit die remains in the attack pool unless otherwise specified) and the effect occurs at the start of the resolve damage step (i.e. after accuracy and defense tokens have been resolved). e.g. if you roll 2 hits and 2 crits, you deal 4 damage and can resolve 1 crit effect.
  • All ships and Bombers have a default critical effect that allows them to deal the first damage card face-up (if all damage is soaked by shields then no damage cards are dealt). Some upgrades provide additional critical effects, one of these can be used INSTEAD of the default effect if you roll at least 1 crit icon. 
  • Damage that is suffered from critical effects does not count towards the "First 'x' damage cards face-up".
  • Squadrons: Ignore the crit icon when attacking with squadrons unless they are attacking ships and have the Bomber ability. Squadrons with Bomber have the standard critical effect available to them (first damage card is dealt face-up).

 

Rules Reference: Critical Effects (page 4).

 

Defense Tokens

See also Attack Timing (step 4).

 

If your ship's speed dial is Speed 0 (not including temporary speed changes due to overlapping), you CANNOT use defense tokens.

 

Brace: This halves the total damage dealt (round up) but it does NOT remove or change the dice (i.e. it can't 'remove' crits).

 

Evade: If using evade to force a re-roll and an accuracy is rolled, the player CANNOT use that accuracy result because that step of the attack process occurs before the use of defense tokens (see Attack Timing).

 

Rules Reference: Defense Tokens (page 4).

 

Deployment

Ships cannot overlap when deploying them.

 

Dice

See Attack Dice

 

Distance and Range

See also Targeting

 

It is important not to confuse these two. The ruler has two sides: Range and Distance.

 

The Range side has three sections, close range, medium range and long range - each range shows what attack dice can be used at that range. It is primarily used to measure the range of ship armaments, but some effects also use it too.

 

The Distance side has five sections number 1-5 which are primarily used to measure squadron attacks and movement. All squadrons have an attack range of Distance 1, and they are also 'engaged' at this distance.

 

Rules Reference: Range and Distance (page 9).

 
Firing Arc
See Targeting
 
Line of Sight
See Targeting
 
Measuring
See also Targeting
 
You can pre-measure with the range and distance ruler at any time.
 
You can pre-measure with the maneuver tool only during the Determine Course step of executing a ship's maneuver. The ship is not committed to a course until you notch the tool onto the ship's base.
 
Rules Reference: Premeasuring (page 9).
 
Tournament Rules (official answers)
Q: Can a play use a range ruler and the maneuver tool at the same time? 
A: A player cannot use more than one tool at the same time, so he can’t use the ruler and maneuver tool together.
 
Q: Can you measure from enemy squadrons mark that spot on the play surface (finger or token), using one range ruler?
A: Yes, as long as they don’t use more tools than the ruler followed by a fingertip, token, or an equivalent, they can premeasure in that way.
 
Q: Can you move a squadron to engage an enemy squadron, measure to make sure it is/isn't engaged and adjust the final position of the squadron as required?
A: If you clearly communicate your intent to your opponent and can quickly get your squadron in its intended position, this is reasonable. Your opponent is free to call the judge/TO over if the process seems to be taking too long (slow play) or if it seems like your intended position wasn’t clear. 
 
Range
See Targeting
 

Setup

See Deployment

 

Ship Speed

When you deploy a ship you set its initial speed to any speed on that ship's speed chart (note that speed 0 is not on the charts so you cannot deploy at 0).

 

You can change your ship's speed with the Navigate command and/or command token. 

 

Speed 0: Note that when a ship's speed dial is at speed 0, your ship cannot use defense tokens and is considered to have performed a maneuver (i.e. for the purpose of overlapping obstacles and similar mechanics). When temporarily reducing your speed due to collision/overlapping, you do not change the speed dial, therefore you can still use your defense tokens.

 

Rules Reference: Command Tokens and Commands (page 3), Setup (page 10).

 

Targeting

When attacking you declare which hull zone you are firing from and which hull zone on the enemy ship you are attacking. 

 

The target must be within the firing arc AND in line of sight AND in range. These are three separate conditions but the range measurement must be within the firing arc.

 

Please see this thread for easy to follow diagrams  (now updated as per errata).

 

Also, bear in mind the plastic part of the ship bases as follows:

 

 

 

Quote
The plastic base (excluding the shield dial frames) does block line-of-sight and is used when measuring for a non-attack measurement (such as for a card effect that requires another ship be at distance 1–3). Attack measurement is the special case because the specific hull zones matter; during attack measurement, you must measure to and from the ship tokens.

 

Squadrons

  • Squadrons do not have hull zones, so it does not need to be specified when attacking / being attacked. 
  • Squadrons have a 360 degree firing arc.
  • Squadrons can only attack at distance 1 (measure from the closest part of the squadron base to the closest part of the target hull zone / squadron base).

Rules Reference: Attack (page 2) and related topics, official FAQ.

 
Edited by Ghost Dancer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ability, Campaign, & Card Specific Rules

This section includes rules for abilities found on upgrade and squadron cards, as well as rules for the Corellian Conflict campaign.

 

Basic Rules for Upgrades

Some important but often overlooked rules regarding upgrades:

  • The use of abilities on upgrade cards is optional (e.g. you can elect not to use your Gunnery Team when playing the Advanced Gunnery objective). RR: Effect Use & Timing page 5.
  • A 'While' event CANNOT be used more than once in the same instance of an event (e.g. You can't keep re-rolling crits with Point Defense Reroute). 

Rule Reference: Effect Use and Timing (page 5).


Bomber (squadron ability)

Unlike other squadrons, those with Bomber count crit icons when attacking ships (but not other squadrons). Squadrons with Bomber have the standard critical effect available to them (first damage card is dealt face-up).

Rules Reference: Critical Effects (page 4).
 

Corellian Conflict

  • Armed Space Station: The card is printed incorrectly, the dice for anti-ship and anti-squadron are the wrong way round. So it should have 2 red and 2 blue against ships, and 1 blue against squadrons.
  • Squadron points: After the first round, squadron points cannot exceed 1/3 of your fleet's current point value. If the loss of ships would mean your squadrons exceed this, you still keep them but can't add any more until sufficient other ships/upgrades have been purchased.
  • Upgrades: All cards (including titles) are upgrades. During the first round you cannot have more than 1 upgrade per ship (not including commanders). After the first round this limit is ignored.  A team cannot have more than one copy of a card with a unique name (unique cards have a dot in front of the card name) - this includes the new squadron types that come with the Corellian Campaign.

See also: This post for official dev answers.

 

Garm Bel Iblis

When a ship gains command tokens from Garm's effect, it still cannot end up with more than one copy of each token. If it choses to gain multple tokens of the same type, it must discard down to one of that type.
 
Mon Mothma
Mon Mothma's ability is a replacement rather than an additional effect. In other words, at medium range, you can reroll OR cancel a die, but not both.
 
Heavy (squadron ability)
The Heavy ability is fairly simple; a squadron with Heavy does not prevent squadrons it is engaged with from moving or attacking. This means Heavy squadrons do not make very good fighter screens (but will typically be good in another role).
 
Note that unlike other abilities, Heavy does not grant any benefit. However, squadrons with this ability cost fewer points than it otherwise would have done (which is why Y-Wings are so cheap).
 

Minefields Objective

Demolisher interaction - official response: In this situation, the mine damage occurs first, then Demolisher’s turn continues and it can perform an attack if it is still alive. If Demolisher survived but was dealt a faceup Damage card, the effect of that card could affect the attack.

 

Engine Techs interaction: No official ruling yet, but we can assume it works the same way as Demolisher (the wording supports this), so you would take damage before making the additional move with the Engine Techs.

 

Paragon
  • The ship with this title must make its second attack against the same ship to get the extra die ("you" refers to the ship the upgrade is equipped to). Rules Reference: Upgrade Cards (page 13).
  • Because the die is added to the attack pool (and not the armament), it can be used at any range. Official FAQ: Attacks (page 1).
  • Once you have the black die in your attack pool, you can use the ConFire command to add a second black die (again at any range).
     

Snipe (squadron ability)

Snipe can only be used at distance 2. Although there is some debate about this currently, according to the RR, "at" means if any part of the base is at distance 2. So if you straddle distance 1 and 2 you can use it, but you can't use it if you are wholly within distance 1 of the target.
Rules Reference: Range and Distance (page 9).
 

XI7 Turbolasers vs. Advanced Projectors

This is now in the official FAQs. 

 

Edited by Ghost Dancer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Useful Links

This section lists various Armada related links.

 

Official FAQ

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/7d/99/7d997d2d-ba95-4164-aaec-5f085521e615/armada_faq_v10.pdf

 

Glossary of Armada Slang & Abbreviations

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/188636-glossary-of-armada-slang-abbreviations

 

Full Attack Summary

See this thread for summary of attacking, including defense tokens & crits: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/181567-do-you-have-questions-about-attacking-defense-tokens-and-critical-hits-read-this-first/

 

Cheap storage solution for Armada stuff

Check out the amazing MicroHangars and tuckboxes created by SirWillibald. They are free to download PDFs - just print on suitable cardstock and glue.

 

Forum thread: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/175355-sirwillis-workshop-armada-stuff

Website: http://www.sirwillibald.com/?page_id=171〈=en

 

Fleet builder apps/websites?

You currently have several options:

 

SWAFT (web-based)

Website: http://nanotanks.pythonanywhere.com

 

FAB's Fleet Generator (web-based)

Forum thread: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/170241-fabs-fleet-generator-news-updates 

Website: http://armada.fabpsb.net

 

BattleScribe (app)

Forum thread: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/139260-armada-battlescribe-files-v10

App Website: http://www.battlescribe.net

Data Website: https://github.com/BSData

 

Army Builder (app)

Forum thread: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/173958-army-builder-armada-data-files-released

Website: http://www.wolflair.com/index.php?context=army_builder

 

Firing Arcs, Line of Sight and Range Diagram

Quarrel has created the following diagrams to help explain this (now updated as per errata).

 

Forum thread: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/151598-rules-answers-arc-line-of-sight-diagrams

 

Where can I find my local Armada group?

CobaltWraith maintains a list of groups, showing location and website links.

 

Forum thread: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/132910-local-armada-groups

Edited by Ghost Dancer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would recommend changing some vocab regarding the range ruler, specifically that it is DISTANCE 1-5 and close medium and long RANGE, the rules are vary specific about this and it is easy to get confused (especially for newer players) with the difference so it is important to make this distinction clear in our rules q&a topics

Just a thought to better the thread :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I totally agree. I spotted one as I was moving the thread here - I think I changed it whilst you were writing your post ;)  Pretty sure that was the only one - I can't see any other discrepancies.

 

Edit: In fact, I was considering adding in a section about Range and Distance.

Edited by Ghost Dancer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Engineering dial gives full engineering points, engineering token gives half rounded up? So the VSD example would be 5 points (barring any upgrades)?

 

VSD would be 6 points, Engineering command giving the full engineering points (4) and the token giving half rounded up (2).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Engineering dial gives full engineering points, engineering token gives half rounded up? So the VSD example would be 5 points (barring any upgrades)?

 

VSD would be 6 points, Engineering command giving the full engineering points (4) and the token giving half rounded up (2).

Ah, for some reason i was thinking engineering was 3...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i have a question to maybe add to this

 

ok so i've chosen squadron on my command dial, however i'm just out of range of my fighters to use it.  Can i use it after i move the ship? i know that moving your ship is the last step in the rules, but i saw nothing in the Rules Reference saying that after your ship movement your ship's activation is immediately over.  There is also no clear indication on when you can use your command dial, just that it's available to you only during the activated ship's phase

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 3 of the RRG tells you when each Command type can be executed. Squadron is listed as "resolve after revealing your ships command dial".

So no you can't move first.

 

thanks.  don't know how i overlooked that

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Does using a squadron command replace the ship in question's normal attacks?

No commands (as far as I can read) replace your attacks.

 

That was how I was reading it but it seemed worth clarifying.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok so someone asked about the engineering token being spent on an odd number engineering ship, so lets take gladiator. 3 so is the token worth 1 or 2?

 

Also are we sure that crits are calculated after tokens. because otherwise (for the time being) Overload pulse seems to be not nearly as useful.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules clearly states the token give half rounded up. So if you have enginering 3, the token gives you 2.

 

The attack sequence is allso very clearly spelled out. Critical effects are resolved in step 6, defence tokens in step 5.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...