Sign in to follow this  
Tancradus

Creating a lightsaber.

I need a little clarification...

When making a lightsaber, lets use a Barab Ingot as I received it on my jedi trial, almost died twice...

It stated that the ingot itself has 5 points to use.  Does that mean...

1) I grab a hilt for one, take the burn 1 quality for 2, and then buy either vicious or burn 1 a second time spending all of my points?

2) I get an attempt at each of the upgrades and my hilt is second entity? So I can get a superior curved hilt and essentially end up (if the rolls are successful) with burn 3, Vicious 2, Breach 1, Sunder...

I could use a little help regarding the hard points as I am new to upgrading my things....  I guess it makes sense that you could try to put everything on it given the price of the crystal.

Type slow.  I'm old. :)

When you place your focusing crystal (in this case the Barab Ingot) into a lighsaber hilt (we'll go with the basic hilt for simplicity), that crystal will take up 2 of the 5 hard points that the hilt offers.  At that point, your lightsaber has all the traits that are listed under Base Modifiers; with the Barab Ingot that means your lightsaber has Damage 8,Crit 3, Breach 1, Burn 1, and Sunder, but still has 3 additional hard points that can be used for other attachments, such as superior hilt customization (1 hard point) and extended hilt (1 hard point) for a total of 4 out of the hilt's 5 hard points spent.

The modification options listed for the crystal (under Modification Options) do not require any additional hard points from the lightsaber hilt.  So with time, sufficient credits, and successful Mechanics checks, you could eventually add a +2 to Burn quality and 2 ranks of Vicious, with the crystal only requiring the same 2 hard points that did before you started modifying it.