Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Taratata

Sustaining Psychic Power

Recommended Posts

Hi !

I would like to know how do you understand the sustaining power rule about PR réduction ?

As I understand it, the first power sustain is "free" from PR reduction.

But if you sustain 2 or more power, your PR is diminished by the number of power you are sustaining, so if you sustain 2 power, it seems that your PR is diminished by (2 or 1 ?) and (do it count for your base PR in general or your effective PR for the sustained power specificaly ?)

As I understand if you are PR 1 or 2, you are not able to sustain more than 1 power...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Effective PR is used to calculate one specific power's effect, so I would say sustaining powers is based on the character's base PR. From my understanding as well, only PR 3 characters and above can sustain more than one power simultaneously (barring items and things that affect sustained powers). And for good reason; the Warp is not something for weaker psykers to sustain.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But, in the case of a PR 3 Psyker, if he is sustaining 2 power. Do you consider that :

- The two powers are sustained at level 1.

- That the Psyker PR, if he wants to use other powers, is now PR 1.

- The two of them ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Using your situations, I find the first closest to my ruling. If a PR 3 psyker is, say, sustaining both a [Fire Shield] and a [Telekine Shield], both powers would be at a PR -2 penalty. However, the results of any Pushes stand; the Telekine Shield may have been invoked at PR 5 before being reduced to a PR 3 power. Other powers, the non-sustained powers used alongside sustained powers, are unaffected by the penalty.

 

Does that make sense? Of course, this is merely an opinion and others may disagree.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But, in the case of a PR 3 Psyker, if he is sustaining 2 power. Do you consider that :

- The two powers are sustained at level 1.

- That the Psyker PR, if he wants to use other powers, is now PR 1.

- The two of them ?

 

This is how I understand the book too. It is unclear if the sustained power has to be modified to its new power level, and it also seems like there is a particular large gap going from one sustained to two sustained, I think that in some of the old books you got the power level hit per power sustained beyond the first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...