Sign in to follow this  
JaggedLittleFel

The Oota Goota Project ( Scratchbuilt YT1300)

The Oota Goota is a ship that is dear to my heart.

I have fond memories of GMing for my friends as they spread mayhem around the galaxy in this ship (which they promptly stole off its owner as soon as they saw it.

Ootagoota_zpsk8thkela.jpg

I felt I needed to make it because the sight of 2 Falcons on one side of the table is just wrong to me.

IMG_0935_zpspay73q5r.jpg

IMG_0939_zpshuyjvbhm.jpg

I have made molds of the 8 pieces. Here are some I've painted.

(disclaimer: I'm still very new to the painting side of things. And the photography)

This one was the first and belongs to my son. He's a B-wing guy so...

IMG_0932_zpsaomrxfop.jpg

IMG_0933_zps5jpslkii.jpg

IMG_0955_zpsg94ppdox.jpg

IMG_0940_zpsdws1v30b.jpg

IMG_0934_zpscrbqnbm2.jpg

IMG_0941_zpsickfb9cy.jpg

Edited by JaggedLittleFel

That's really awesome!  I love the design.  Very Star Wars, nice twist on the old one.  I especially like the engines.  Seems very cobbled together.

One of the many stock versions of the YT1300 does actually look quite close to this one...

IMG_0017_zpsaiqowqz9.jpg

...the one in the middle is nearly there, but the OG is still heavily modified.

You can see where it used to have a cockpit in the same position as the falcon.

The flat areas on top next to the engines are unique.

And the strange dome on the starboard side. I like to think it's for one of these...

IMG_0023_zpsap4hk5wq.jpg

You can see how close the little ship is to the normal edge of the YT1300. I think it would make sense if it had a dome like that to accomodate it.

(Not based on anything, I just like the idea. The OG is soooo much older than the Owners Manual.)

IMG_0017_zpsaiqowqz9.jpg