Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Vaapad

Can Irri/Jhiqui attach to moribund:dead characters to avoid their own deaths?

Recommended Posts

Say I have irri on the table along with 1 other targ character (Dany, for example) and no saves. My opponent Valars. Valar resolves, and both characters go moribund:dead. Now Irri's passive kicks in, allowing her to attach to a targ character as a handmaiden attachment instead of being killed. Can she attach to the moribund Dany so that, at the end of the action window, she is discarded as an attachment rather than killed as a character? I see no reason why not, but figured I'd ask to make sure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, if it worked as you describe it above (characters become "moribund:dead" and then Irri's replacement effect kicks in), it would not work. 

 

Luckily, though, Irri's replacement effect kicks in before she becomes "moribund:dead" from the kill, so instead of Valar making her a "moribund:dead" character, it makes her a (non-moribund) attachment. Then, when passive effects kick in, the attachment is discarded because it is attached to a moribund character.

 

Long story short, it works to put her into the discard pile instead of the dead pile, but your timing is just a little off.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Ktom.

To clarify the timing structure then. Valar initiates in Step 1. There are no saves or cancels in Step 2. Valar resolves in Step 3. Isn't that where characters go moribund:dead? I thought so, and that Irri's passive text, which triggers in Step 4, effectively changes her from a moribund:dead character to an attachment, so long as she has a valid target to which to attach. I thought thr same was true of character agendas. What, then, is the correct timing for these characters with passive text relating to when they would be killed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Irri (and the character agendas) are replacement effects, not passives. If Irri became "moribund:dead" in Step 3, before her effect took place, she'd become a moribund:dead attachment. Remember that once something is moribund, it STAYS moribund.

Irri's effect changes the way Valar resolves for her. In Step 3, when Valar kills her, she becomes a (non-moribund) attachment INSTEAD of making her "moribund:dead." Same thing for the character agendas. They never become "moribund:dead" for Valar. INSTEAD, they become "moribund:agenda." It's that "instead" wording that lets you know you're looking at a replacement effect that changes what happens in Step 3, not a passive effect that initiates in Step 4.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Great, thanks - I mistakenly thought the "instead" was passive text that changed the moribund destination (and, via the golden rule, broke the general rule that moribund states can't change).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...