Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
A Paperback Hero

Avatar of Death question!?

7 posts in this topic

Hi all!

I just picked up Anima: SoO and BGaE, we are trying SoO for the first time and I had a question about the encounter card Avatar of Death. Does this card make you lose every card you have advantage cards and characters? Or does it make you lose just advantage cards?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well until we can get some clarification my friends and I are playing under the rule that all cards possessed by the player, advantage and character, are discarded except for the missions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A Paperback Hero said:

Well until we can get some clarification my friends and I are playing under the rule that all cards possessed by the player, advantage and character, are discarded except for the missions.

My memory is a bit hazy on the wording of the card, but I think we always played it as cards in your hand i.e. advantage cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ya that seems probably a better and fairer ruling. Tried a few games and getting the Avatar of Death late game and playing it as losing both characters and advantage cards basically shuts you down from winning completely. I think my friends and I will probably start playing it the way you said above.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A Paperback Hero said:

Ya that seems probably a better and fairer ruling. Tried a few games and getting the Avatar of Death late game and playing it as losing both characters and advantage cards basically shuts you down from winning completely. I think my friends and I will probably start playing it the way you said above.

Reading the old card, it says discard all cards in your hand. That suggest to me to exclude PCs as they are in play and not in your hand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 Hello there!

When the Avatar of Death encounter card is drawn, the player who drew it must discard all of the cards in his hand. This means that the 2 Basic Mission cards as well as any Characters in the player's Party (meaning that the Characters are in the play area in front of the player) are NOT discarded. However, if the player happens to have Character cards in his hand which have not been placed in play area and included in his Party, those are also discarded.  Hope this clears it up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0