Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
westlakem

Gustaf Johansen + the Plague Stone

Recommended Posts

There's been a discussion, but no clear ruling, on cardgamedb about whether or not Gustaf's force response works when he himself leaves play. Since I have a store championship coming up and this is a relevant part of my deck I thought I would ask:

 

If I have Gustaf Johansen and two other Cultists in play and active the Plague Stone, would I still get the card draw(s) from Gustaf's effect?  

Edited by westlakem

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think so. I cannot find it in the FAQ, but I seem to remember a ruling regarding Enraged Gug:

gallery_51_86354.jpg

Basically, it said that you cannot trigger the Gug's Response after he receives the wound that destroys him because at that point he's already in the discard pile and thus out of play. The only exception are effects that specifically state they are triggered when entering the discard pile (or can be triggered from the discard pile).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the Plague Stone is used, the controling player decides the order how the characters leave play.

FAQ 1.7

 

Whenever character or support cards
enter or leave play at the same time, the
controlling player chooses the order in
which they enter or leave play

if Gustav isn't chosen as the first character, he can trigger his Forced Response (triggered by another character leaving play).

Gustav has a Forced Response. (Even if it is limited)

So he can trigger his effect.

Or am I missing something? Was he erratad to just a Response?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Whenever character or support cards
enter or leave play at the same time, the
controlling player chooses the order in
which they enter or leave play
Or am I missing something? Was he erratad to just a Response?

The order of the characters leaving play doesn't matter because at the time the (Forced) Response window opens, all of them are already in the discard pile, hence you can no longer trigger Gustaf's ability.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...