Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ikaros

Discarding multiple cards at one time

Recommended Posts

FAQ states that, "When a player draws multiple cards (e.g., by drawing 2 cards during his draw phase, or due to a card effect like that of Insidious Ways (CORE L163), he is considered to be drawing them one at a time, not all at once. This is important for effects that may trigger by a card being drawn."

 

Is it valid also while discarding cards?

 

For istance, take this example:

Followed at Night (event): "Challenges: kneel 2 influence or a Martell Learned character to choose a player. That player chooses and discard 2 cards from his or her hand".

Guardian of the Way (character): "Response: after a card is discarded from a player hand, choose a character. Until the end of the phase, that character gains or loses an icon of your choice".

Prince's Loyalist (character): "Response: kneel 1 influence to cancel a triggered character ability with influence cost X or lower. X is the number of doomed cards in your dead pile".

 

If I play Followed at Night, may I trigger Guardian of the Way response once or twice?

If triggered twice, do I have to trigger Prince's Loyalist response twice to cancel both icons gaining/losing?

 

Thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When a single trigger does multiple things, canceling the trigger cancels all the things that trigger would do. This is why you only need one Outmaneuver or Outwit to cancel Valar, no matter how many characters Valar would kill. So you only need one cancel effect for Followed at Night, even though it potentially discards two cards.

 

That said, each card that is discarded creates a separate and individual "after a card is discarded" response opportunity, just like Valar creates a separate and individual "after a character is killed" response opportunity for each character that dies. So Guardian of the Way could trigger twice when a single trigger discards 2 cards from a player's hand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you.

 

I think you misunderstood the second question tough. Prince's Loyalist is used to cancel Guardian of the Way, not Followed at Night.

So, since Guardian of the Way triggers twice, also canceling have to be done twice. There are two distinct responses to be canceled.

Right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...