Sign in to follow this  
Brian_66

Can You Consistently Play Thematically?

I am relatively new to the game and really have enjoyed playing (mostly solo) through the core set and the Mirkwood adventure packs. But what I have noticed is that I am tending to use key cards that don't really fit in well with the particular story or theme.

So my question is: Can you enjoy this game (i.e. win 50% of the time) consistently playing thematic decks? I don't want to keep buying expanisions and adventrue packs if the only way to win scenarios is by always falling back on the same key cards that don't really fit in with the theme of the quest.

I play thematic decks in solo all the time, and I have a higher then average win rate. I sometimes have to conceed a card or two from the theme (ie: Steward of Gondor or Warden of Healing) however the rest of the deck stays thematic.

I will note that it is much harder to play a theme deck in Nightmare Mode and I generally have to build decks specifically for the senerio to win.

You have a couple options:

1) Play Easy Mode
Some players call this by an alternative title "Thematic Mode". Playing like this allows you to build second (or even third) tier decks and still do well against the quests

2) Make a few thematic compromises

Or rather, justify the thematic implications in alternative ways. It's not that Sam Gamgee IS the Steward of Gondor, but rather he has the support of the steward. Gimli is not wearing Citadel Plate from Gondor, we is wearing dwarf sized plate mail from Erebor, etc

3) Focus your next few purchases on specific themes

If you purchase the first five packs on the Ring Maker cycle, you will have unlocked all the cards you need for a very powerful Silvan deck archetype. Purchase The Black Riders to have a powerful Hobbit deck.

If you listen to the CotR podcast where they interview Caleb Grace, he talks about the intent of this game being about creating your own custom fellowship.