Jump to content
Fizz

Official FAQ and Current Tournament Maps

Recommended Posts

#faq #rules #fizzgrid
 
IMPORTANT NOTE: This thread is not meant for rules discussion. Please limit discussion to new threads in the Rules Forum.

Link to Official FAQ: (Effective 3-12-2018, Version 3.0)

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/80/b6/80b64200-dfe6-4963-8eea-51e806b31d8d/swi_faq_v30.pdf

Link to Current Tournament Rules: (Version 3.0, Effective January 1st, 2018)

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/f4/40/f4400bca-e56e-4a77-8da0-fe064db39129/swi_tournament_regulations_v30_text_version.pdf



Current Tournament Map Rotation (Oldest map listed first)

  • Jabba's Palace (Jabba The Hutt Villain Pack)   **(Requires Jabba's Palace Expansion)**
  • Nal Hutta Swamps (Alliance Rangers  Pack) **(Requires Jabba's Palace Expansion)**
  • Mos Eisley Back Alleys (Jawa Scavenger Pack) **(Requires Core only)**


 
Link to explanation of changes to Royal Guard, Imperial Officer and Rebel Saboteur:
 
https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/news/2015/12/21/great-change-in-the-galaxy/
 
------
 
If you get rules answered directly from FFG and would like them added here, please send me a PM with the full text and I will add it.
 
Rules questions not yet on the FAQ:
 
**) Jyn's Trick Shot can be used to establish LOS when interrupting to perform an attack, and can be used in conjunction with Jyn's Quick Draw ability.
 
 
**) Abilities cannot be used by or affect incapacitated heroes.
 
 
**) Jyn's Gunslinger ability: You can use both the surges from the pistol you attacked with, and any other pistol you brought to the mission. Remember that each hero can only bring 2 weapons to a mission, however.
 
 
**) Strain caused by Bleeding is not voluntary.
 
    q) "Does choosing to suffer strain not being allow if it would go over endurance apply to indirect sources? Such as bleed and choosing do another action that would cause you to suffer strain over your limit. IE I'm full on strain, bleeding, and choose to attack. This will cause me strain over my limit. Is that allowed?"
     a) Yes. In this case, you would take damage instead.
 
 
**) There are some missions which place objectives in a space that are impossible to be adjacent to. How is this resolved?
 
     a) This is a case where specific scenario rules take priority over core rules (see “Golden Rules” on page 2 of the Rules Reference guide). The mission rules could not function at all if the terminals could not be interacted with.
 
 
**) "If Gideon has both Masterstroke and Mobile Tactician, what are the restrictions on when he may/must spend the bonus movement points?

    a) "Gideon cannot interrupt the Masterstroke to spend the 2 movement points from his first command. Gaining the movement points is an interrupt, essentially the same way gaining access to the second command is, but spending movement points cannot be done as an interrupt, so they have to sit in his pool until after the entire masterstroke is resolved."

 
 
**) The deployment cost of a group is not altered when an upgrade is attached to it.
 
The deployment cost of a group is not altered when an upgrade is attached to it. They each have their own separate deployment costs that are both scored when that group is defeated. So, an attachment on a Stormtrooper group would not affect their eligibility for Squad Swarm or Strength in Numbers.
 
 
**) Urgency:  Any movement points gained during Urgency must be spent as part of that action since they were gained from a special action. The movement points are not added to a pool that can be spent and divided throughout the activation.
 
 
**) Does damage from Relentless count as damage sustained during the attack? This has implications for abilities such as Han's Return Fire.
 
   a) No, it doesn’t. Whenever an ability checks for X damage after an attack resolves, that ability only checks the damage suffered during Step 7 of that attack. Relentless is an ability that resolves outside of the attack, even though its trigger is the attack itself.
 
 
**) "Start of Round" and "End of Round" are considered single instances so you could not play multiple copies of Jundland Terror or Reinforcements at once, even if you used different eligible targets for those cards’ abilities.
 
 
**) Awkward prohibits an attack on any adjacent figure, regardless of where the targeted space lies. This is an important distinction to make when the target is a large figure and occupies a space that is not adjacent to the Awkward attacking unit. For example: an AT-ST could not attack an adjacent Bantha Rider, even if the targeted space was not adjacent to the AT-ST.

 

**) Mortar would not affect figures behind the door, even if it is destroyed. The Blast ruling deals with if the door is the target of an attack that then triggers Blast, since the damage from an attack is dealt before blast resolves. Mortar resolves all at once.
 
**Source: Paul Winchester, Creative Content Developer
 
 
>>)  Does Provoke prevent passing (re: passing activation due to your opponent having more active deployment cards)?
 
   a) Provoke would override the ability to pass because the targeted figure would still be able to activate. So, the player who had been “Provoked” would not be allowed to pass.
 
>>Source: Megan Duehn
 

---------------------------------------
Shameless link to Fizzgrid™:
 
https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/135087-fizzgrid™-technologyfor-your-rules-question-needs/

Edited by Fizz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fizz, could you add a clarification about what effects are meant in the third bullet?

 

I keep reading it and Ican't figure it out. :unsure:

 

It helps if you've read the thread, but even I had to read it a few times.  Someone had asked if you could deploy the "Skirmish Upgrades" and exhaust them to delay activations.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I remembered having seen it posted, but i couldn't remember in which thread, and i figured if someone came to this thread, they wouldn't want to have to search back-threads to find what it meant.

 

Thanks Fizz!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For Mak's disengage, when does it trigger?  the text reads:

"Exhaust this card when a hostile figure enters a space within 3 spaces of you to gain 3 movement points"
Does the entering of the space trigger it?  Does it trigger after the hostile figure completes their turn?  Do the movement points occur on Mak's turn?  We assume it happens when the character enters the space, before any attacks.  

Edited by Macabre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For Mak's disengage, when does it trigger?  the text reads:

"Exhaust this card when a hostile figure enters a space within 3 spaces of you to gain 3 movement points"

Does the entering of the space trigger it?  Does it trigger after the hostile figure completes their turn?  Do the movement points occur on Mak's turn?  We assume it happens when the character enters the space, before any attacks.  

It triggers as an interrupt upon "entering" a space. Mak immediate receives, and must spend, the movement points or they are lost at the end of the interrupt action.

 

See "Enter", RRG, Page 12:

 

Some effects are triggered when a figure enters a space. Entering a space includes when a figure moves into, is pushed into, or is placed in the space by an effect.

 

See "Movement Points", RRG, Page 20:

 

If a figure gains movement points when it is not its activation, those movement points must be spent immediately as an interrupt or be lost.

 

 

For Mak's Shadow suit, can he use ambush once his card has flipped, since his shadow suit is not flipped?

 

Mak can use Ambush while he is wounded, because the Ambush special ability is on the wounded side of his campaign hero sheet. The Shadow Suit in this case is irrelevant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But,for Mak, what about "within 3 spaces"? Seems it's working if:

- hostile figure start his activation within this area (3 spaces or less)

- hostile figure appears within 3 spaces?

- can Mak wait or it's trigger only when hostile figure enters within 3 spaces?

Thanks a lot

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Again, the keyword here is "enter", not just "within".

 

If a hostile figure begins his activation within 3 spaces, Mak cannot use disengage until that figure ENTERS a space within 3 spaces. Example:

 

[_][_][_][M][_][_][_]
[_][_][_][_][_][_][_][_]

Powered by Fizzgrid™ Technology!
 

Stormtrooper begins his activation within 3 spaces, Mak cannot disengage as the "enter" condition has not been met.  Stormtrooper would be able to take an attack action, at the current accuracy, since Mak is not able to disengage.

If the Stormtrooper moved one space to the left, he would be entering a space that is not within 3 spaces, Mak again would not be able to disengage. However, if the Stormtrooper moved one space closer
to Mak, he would be "entering a space within 3 spaces" and Mak would then be able to Disengage.

 

If a hostile figure "appears" within 3 space, for example, a Nexu using "pounce" is placed within 3 spaces, or the Imperial player deploys/reinforces a figure, this is considered "entering" the space, and Mak would be able use disengage. As the "enter" condition has been met in both of these examples.

 

Mak cannot "wait", the trigger is "enter" and if he does not interrupt upon the entering, then he has missed his chance to disengage. Mak would have to wait until the next time the "enter" condition is triggered (ie: the figure moves again, and enters a space within 3 spaces), before attempting to Disengage.

Edited by Fizz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to add to what Fizz said, If the stormtrooper moves "up" or "down" (on the Fizzgridtm), he would also be entering a space "within 3" of Mak, even though he's not reducing or increasing the accuracy required for a  shot.

 

[S][S][S][_][_][_][_][_]
[S][S][_][M][_][_][_]

[S][S][S][_][_][_][_][_]

In the example above, the green movement would not trigger Mak's ability, but the red movements would.

Edited by Alarmed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to add to the example, Mak does not have to exhaust his card and use the ability the first time the stormtrooper enters a space within 3 of Mak.  The stormtrooper can move one space closer to Mak and enter a space within 2 spaces and Mak can choose not to use Disengage.  The stormtrooper can then move again to enter another space that is within 1,2, or 3 spaces of Mak and Mak can then choose to exhaust the Disengage card to use the ability.  He then would have to use up to the 3 movement points granted from Disengage immediately.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to add to the example, Mak does not have to exhaust his card and use the ability the first time the stormtrooper enters a space within 3 of Mak.  The stormtrooper can move one space closer to Mak and enter a space within 2 spaces and Mak can choose not to use Disengage.  The stormtrooper can then move again to enter another space that is within 1,2, or 3 spaces of Mak and Mak can then choose to exhaust the Disengage card to use the ability.  He then would have to use up to the 3 movement points granted from Disengage immediately.

Right, but Mak cannot wait until after Stormtrooper enters a space, and then declares an attack, and then Mak tries to disengage to increase the accuracy needed. Timing would be:

1) Stormtrooper enters space.

2) Mak chooses whether or not to disengage.

  2a) Mak chooses to Disengage, Mak interrupts, resolves Disengage

  2b) Mak does not Disengage, proceed to 3.

3) Stormtrooper either continues to move (go back to 1) or chooses some other action (go to 4)

4) Stormtrooper performs some other action.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Just to add to the example, Mak does not have to exhaust his card and use the ability the first time the stormtrooper enters a space within 3 of Mak.  The stormtrooper can move one space closer to Mak and enter a space within 2 spaces and Mak can choose not to use Disengage.  The stormtrooper can then move again to enter another space that is within 1,2, or 3 spaces of Mak and Mak can then choose to exhaust the Disengage card to use the ability.  He then would have to use up to the 3 movement points granted from Disengage immediately.

Right, but Mak cannot wait until after Stormtrooper enters a space, and then declares an attack, and then Mak tries to disengage to increase the accuracy needed. Timing would be:

1) Stormtrooper enters space.

2) Mak chooses whether or not to disengage.

  2a) Mak chooses to Disengage, Mak interrupts, resolves Disengage

  2b) Mak does not Disengage, proceed to 3.

3) Stormtrooper either continues to move (go back to 1) or chooses some other action (go to 4)

4) Stormtrooper performs some other action.

 

 

Agreed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2) No ruling yet on whether or not Reach affects terminals, objects and doors.

 

"Unfortunately, I still won’t give a direct answer to this, as it is going to be addressed in the forthcoming FAQ. Once that has been published, I’ll email you with the answers that will be found within that document."

Source: Justin Kemppainen, Assistant Board Game Manager, Fantasy Flight Games

 

I didn't know there was even a question on this. We just played Aftermath in my Group and Diala was poking terminals from all over the place.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say you are 100% correct.

Reach is for attacking figures, not objects.

Reach is not for interacting.

Helps if I read the rules when I'm not tired after getting home at 1am ;)

Edited by Pacoman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "attack" part isn't the issue, the issue is the target. Doors and objects are not figures, and that's the problem. (I'm not going to restate the older conversations we have had on this, go look them up).

 

RAW Reach doesn't work against doors and objects, and we have raised this question to FFG who are still pondering an answer to this, and have stated they will get back to us when they have a final ruling.

 

Popular preference, however, seems to favor a house rule allowing reach to work on objects, just like blast and cleave.

Edited by Fizz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We will continue to allow reach being used on objects and doors because that is the simplest solution, regardlass of what the RAW say. Interacting will always require the player to be on/adjecent to the object 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×