Sign in to follow this  
Gaiduku

First Game Play Report

Okay so I finally managed to this to the table on Friday and it was fantastic! I actually went in with reasonably low expectations. I'm relatively new to role playing. DM'ed a bit with the Age of Rebellion beginner box and currently playing some 5th Edition D&D with some friends.

As I was reading through the EOTW book I found it almost too loose. I felt like I needed more structure and more rules and that it would all just fall apart at the table. I did a bit of planning before my first session but found that there was little I could actually do. I had so little idea of what my players would suggest when it all hits the fan that I knew I'd basically just have to wing it. This was either going to work amazingly or fall flat on its face. Luckily it was the former.

CHARACTER CREATION.

With me and the three players we made four characters in total. I made my own sheet as the book suggests with the intention of getting myself killed off asap. Initially one of my friends just wanted to ignore the rules and make characters collectively. No voting just sitting around discussing what makes sense. I was already worried the rules were a little too thin so wanted to at least abide by them for now. We voted, a few things went up and a few things went down and then sorted out features. 

It was actually really quite cool but also weirdly personal. One of my friends said, "you've basically just invited us over to your house you can highlight the worst things about our personalities". When all was said and done then I feel we had 4 very good character sheets that really reflected our skills and failures. All in all....it worked.

CAMPAIGN