Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
HastAttack

Captain Groleo (T105)

Recommended Posts

Hi

 

This is CG (Captain Groleo) where "after an opponent plays or reveals an attachment..."

 

I'm not 100% sure what that covers ... is that only play as per marshals and reveal when some effect specifically says reveal

 

e.g. what if someone plays (during challenges) Rhymes with Meek which gets attached as an attachment ... so it meets CG's criteria at the time of the response?

 

What if someone ambushed in an attachment - that would not be "play" but would it be revealed?

 

thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Play" means "play from your hand when you are active player during Marshalling."

 

"Reveal" means "some effect has told you to make hidden information available to your opponents."

 

Playing an event that then becomes an attachment is not considered to be "playing" an attachment. "Ambush" is a "put into play" effect. Neither satisfy Groleo.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi ktom

 

"Playing an event that then becomes an attachment is not considered to be "playing" an attachment"

 

I thought that the game state at the time you play a response is the determining factor ... so even though a card may enter the game as an event card, by the time the response is played it could be attachment

 

Maybe someone puts a re-enforcement event into play as an army ... could a "after a character enters play" type effect be triggered?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought that the game state at the time you play a response is the determining factor ... so even though a card may enter the game as an event card, by the time the response is played it could be attachment

 

It's not the "game state" that is checked at the time the Response is triggered; it's the "qualifying characteristics" of cards at the time the Response is triggered that are used when checking the play restrictions of the Response. Two slightly different things. 

 

Think of the Hatchlings that come out of Shadows and become dupes on their adult counterparts. A character came out of Shadows, not a dupe, so that's the triggering condition that created the Response opportunity. But if you need to reference the STR or cost of the card that came out of Shadows, you take the value as it is when the Response is triggered. 

 

So yeah, with the Reinforcements or something like HCiT, you can Respond to a character/attachment coming into play, but it was an event that was played, not a character/attachment. (And so, "After you play an event..." responses are still viable, even though the event became a character/attachment instead of being put in the discard pile.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×