Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
rg56538

A question on dice.

Recommended Posts

1- Since the max stat is 5 and low rolls for positive dice is the desired roll, are "6's" seen as a "critical failure" like "1's" in D&D/Pathfinder?

 

2- Also unclear if a positive die and a negative die have to be identical to cancel each other out or is it a low positive and a low negative cancel each other.

 

Not sure if clear in my questions, if not please ask and I will try to explain better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I roll an attack Dex is 4. all factors considered I roll 3 positive dice and 2 negative dice. I roll 4,3,6 (+) and 6,2 (-) this would end up being 2 hits (4,3) and 1 stress (2) for the out come? 

 

So it would not be that the 2 and the 3 null each other and only the 4 hits.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I roll an attack Dex is 4. all factors considered I roll 3 positive dice and 2 negative dice. I roll 4,3,6 (+) and 6,2 (-) this would end up being 2 hits (4,3) and 1 stress (2) for the out come? 

 

 

Correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A six is not a critical failure. And actually, though you may not succeed at the task, rolling a positive six still has the benefit of cancelling a negative six, thereby reducing the amount of stress you must endure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All negative dice do is apply stress if any remain. Thus if you roll some 6s on the negative dice, you kinda do want to roll some postive 6s as well.

 

In this game I would rather fail a roll with no stress I think than succeed all the time with stress.

Edited by caul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So it will be extremely easy (if the PCs roll badly consistently) for the PC's to fill up the first track in this game as the chance without resistance to gain stress is very high. Early game when the "horrifying" feature is in full effect is probably going to be the most dangerous part of the game. 

 

For some reason when I read and reread the rules I came away with the impression that the negative dice follow the same rules as the positive when it comes to target number(s). 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...