Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
sky_cuson

Heads on pikes

Recommended Posts

It says, "Any Phase: Each opponent discards the top 2 cards from his or her deck for each character in his or her dead pile. (Limit 1 per round.)"

Can i play it if my opponent have no card in his dead pile?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nope. You can't trigger an ability/play an event if its effect would not be expected to change the gamestate - for instance, you can't stand the newest Janos Slynt if you're draw-capped. This is encompassed in the FAQ, in section 3.6 and is infamously known as the Janos Slynt ruling.

 

So even though the keyword (prized) would change the board state, since the effect of the ability (any phase) wouuldn't, you can't play the event at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's say there was an event card that states "Discard one card from hand and return two characters from your dead pile to hand" And you only have one card in your dead pile.

 

By Istaril's example you *could* play the event because the game state has changed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes.

 

In order to play an event (or use a triggered ability), at least one, independent part of the effect must do something when it resolves -- even if it doesn't do everything it possibly could do. So an effect that says "discard 2 cards," for example, could still be used if someone had only 1 card to discard -- because the effect would result in something happening.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...