Joseph_Lavode 9 Posted January 18, 2015 Hello all, I'm playing against Cthulhu and "Queen of the Deep Ones" is the active mystery. This mystery states "When an investigator would gain an Artifact, he may gain the Sword of Y'ha-Talla Artifact instead." One of my investigators passed a test in an encounter allowing them to "gain 1 Tome Artifact." In this case can the investigator gain the Sword, or does the fact that the encounter specifes a Tome override that? Thanks! Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Soakman 998 Posted January 18, 2015 (edited) I would say yes, it counts. And this is because a LITERAL reading of the mystery says "when an investigator would gain an Artifact..." Tome artifacts are still artifacts. When in doubt, the correct rule is likely to be a logical conclusion based on the exact literal reading of the card in question. Good question though. Edited January 18, 2015 by Soakman 2 Julia and Devon Greatwolf reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Julia 2,810 Posted January 18, 2015 Yes, it counts (I read this somewhere - don't remember the place, sorry guys - and the answer was that the "artifact" keyword is the trigger to indicate the action as legit) 1 Devon Greatwolf reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Joseph_Lavode 9 Posted January 18, 2015 How fortunate I found a sword in that library then. Thanks! 1 Soakman reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Julia 2,810 Posted January 18, 2015 You know, sometimes a visitor forgets his umbrella, some others his sword... 3 Husker949, Devon Greatwolf and Soakman reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites