Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Joseph_Lavode

Mystery wording question

Recommended Posts

Hello all, I'm playing against Cthulhu and "Queen of the Deep Ones" is the active mystery. This mystery states "When an investigator would gain an Artifact, he may gain the Sword of Y'ha-Talla Artifact instead."

 

One of my investigators passed a test in an encounter allowing them to "gain 1 Tome Artifact." In this case can the investigator gain the Sword, or does the fact that the encounter specifes a Tome override that?

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would say yes, it counts. And this is because  a LITERAL reading of the mystery says "when an investigator would gain an Artifact..."  Tome artifacts are still artifacts.

 

When in doubt, the correct rule is likely to be a logical conclusion based on the exact literal reading of the card in question.

 

Good question though.

Edited by Soakman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...